We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful, relaxing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Moonlight Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Encinitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Moonlight Beach
105 N. Vulcan Ave, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Encinitas B&B and Inns
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful, relaxing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

The Inn at Moonlight Beach is a lovely B&B with friendly, accomodating owners. The property is very clean, and in a great loaction. There are trains nearby, but we adapted quickly. The breakfast is fresh, healthy and delicious. Not gourmet, but simple and delightful. Fresh baked goods, fresh fruit and coffee.

The town is very cute. Nice beaches, numerous restaurants, lovely meditation garden, and a quaint movie theatre built in the 1920's is still showing films.

The owners give a lot of suggestions on where to dine, and visit.

The penthouse has a private deck and jaccuzzi, with a distant ocean view that is charming. We will definately go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    19
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
62
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We loved our one night stay at the Inn on Moonlight Beach. We were there celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary on a Tuesday. We loved being so close to the ocean...fresh air all night. The occasional sound of the train reminded me of home (Nebraska). We had such detailed email information from Terry since the beginning of our reservations (including details about the room, hot tub, breakfast, trains, beaches, places to eat, sites to see and very big welcome) that we had no questions when we arrived. The accomodations were first rate with the details in service outstanding. We plan to schedule another stay next month because it was so relaxing. Bed was wonderful to sleep on as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I stayed at the inn for my 31st birthday and it was a wonderful experience. I received email correspondence with detailed information, and got quick responses to my questions beforehand. Upon arrival I was welcomed by the owners, shown to my room and felt comfortable to ask for help with anything if I needed it. It was a worthwhile investment to stay in the penthouse and I came and went as I pleased. Most mornings I enjoyed a run on the beach and returned to have breakfast waiting for me on the patio! The trains nearby are loud, but they also provide a great way to see the coast and go to downtown San Diego. My stay was short, but such a healing, rejuvenating, and worthwhile experience. The town of Encinitas is great, it's a very "walk friendly" area, I felt very safe. Worth EVERY penny!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We loved our visit to Inn at Moonlight Beach. For the week before our arrival we had updates of places to eat and places to visit arrive in our e-mail which lent a welcoming feel to our destination. It cut the hustle and bustle of San Diego, giving us something close enough without stressing! Breakfasts were tasty with homemade breads and muffins included. Beach gear was ours for the asking. Parking was adequate for everyone there for a stay. The only possible drawback was the Coaster commuter train that ran by the Inn, but it was mentioned as we made our reservations and was not a surprise. Actually, I loved its welcoming sound. The beaches here are just great with fine-granular sand. The little town of Encinitas is the picture perfect Beach Boys trendy town with good restaurants and a lot of energy. Also a traveler's delight was the offering of advice on where to travel and roads to best get you there. Delightful place to stay and highly recommended for the cozy feel and true relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I needed to get out of the city and found this wonderful Inn in Encinitas. Though I was ideally looking for an Inn on the beach, this one certainly didn't disapoint me, not in cleanliness, friendliness, accessibility not to forget the very healthy and well prepared breakfast of fruits and delicious croissant (of which I have had many, seeing I live in Paris!).
Many thanks for giving me exactly what I had come for: a relaxing Saturday evening, away from traffic, close to the beach, with nice people and a good bed!
Kirsten

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

It was a bad experience!!! The Hot Tub which supposed to be the only one that makes this INN a great choice was not working right at the time we stayed in their Penthouse room. The train comes by more often on weekdays and it is so close to a busy street. The only time we heard the Ocean is only on a Saturday AM when the streets nearby are not busy. With the price I paid to this INN we were expecting more.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunefeld, owner at Inn at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Ann and Terry strive to provide a world-class experience for our guests as indicated by other reviews on TripAdvisor. Accurate information about the nearby trains and distance to the ocean (3 blocks) are clearly described in text and maps on multiple locations of our website. Hot tub instructions are posted on the website and in the room. Signs at the hot tub clearly state “please do not touch the controls except to turn the jets on and off.” This guest called us at 9:30 p.m. and again at midnight reporting that the hot tub was not heating. Both times Terry responded immediately, both times he found the controls had been tampered with, and reset the controls. No other guest has ever reported a problem with our state-of-the-art hot tub. We take great pride in providing a detailed website that clearly describes the experience that our guests can expect. We regret this review as we do our very best to make our guests feel at home in our romantic inn near the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite - and it was really nice. There's a patio with a view of the ocean (about a mile away), and I just loved the hot tub. Breakfast is waiting at your door when you wake up and was delicious (sort of a continental breakfast - but nicer). Room was clean an comfortable, and I felt like my money was well spent. I'd recommend this place to my friends and family...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Moonlight Beach

Address: 105 N. Vulcan Ave, Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, I'm Mitra Sohrabi. Welcome to my boutique Inn at Moonlight Beach Bed & Breakfast in Encinitas overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We're located on a hillside overlooking Moonlight Beach in the quaint little beach town of Encinitas. The beach is just 2 blocks away; my rooms and suites recall a lovely French Country Inn with private baths, wi-fi & refrigerator. Each morning I'll bake you mouthwatering home-made, warm-from-the-oven pastries with your breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Moonlight Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Moonlight Beach to your Saves list