We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Moonlight Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Encinitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Moonlight Beach
Save
You added Inn at Moonlight Beach to your Saves list
105 N. Vulcan Ave, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Encinitas B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The location of the Inn is just perfect, within walking distance to a very nice beach, stores and restaurants. The rooms are adorable, and feel very cozy, much like staying with your favorite Auntie.
The train is not loud enough to bother us, we slept very well. The owners were away the weekend we stayed, which may be why the breakfast was such a disappointment. The fresh fruit plate was lovely, however, the muffins, quiche and pastries were not fresh, or even warm. The person working at the Inn in the owner's absence actually told us she made the breakfast that morning! I hope the owners will be more careful on who they hire to socialize with the guests, and do the baking. We may return in the future, as this seems to be a staffing issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
64
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in the seabreeze room. The bed was terrible; not only was it super soft, it had a gigantic lump in the middle. I could have slept through the train and the heat (fans only), but the bed was ridiculous. PLEASE do your customers a favor and replace that old used up mattress. No one wants to pay money for that. Also, management has changed--Ann and Terry are no longer there. PLEASE change your website, as this is hugely deceptive. At least write that management has changed. Fresh fruit at breakfast was fine; there were no fresh baked goods, only things that seemed to come from Costco. The room was clean and the double shower head was nice. Could not use the hammock as there was water pooled on it. Location was good for walking to downtown Encinitas, where there are lots of good places to eat for breakfast if you want to skip the inn's breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't pick the seabreeze room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Under new ownership, the Inn at Moonlight Beach was a perfect place to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We started in the Beach room and ended our vacation in the Penthouse. I was surprised to find beach chairs, beach towels, body boards available for our use. New owners are very kind and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful including a big plate of fresh fruit each morning. Hope to return!

Room Tip: The penthouse has its own hot tub on an upper deck from which you can see the Pacific. Also a very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The main thing you should know about this place is that it is very, very close to a railway track, and some of the trains are REALLY loud... Think freight train moving at full speed, blowing its horn, maybe 100 yards from where you are sleeping. Not quaint or charming. I wore earplugs and still woke up a few times.

The facility itself is nice. Clean rooms, nice breakfast, reasonable price. As of our stay, the new owners have not yet changed over any of the emails or anything with their names and info, so we were expecting different people to be taking care of us. No big deal, but in such an intimate setting it is nice to arrive to meet the person who was supposedly emailing you, at least. I wonder why after two months the new owners have not put their names on anything.

Overall, although the house and owners are charming, the train noise in itself was a deal breaker for my husband and me... we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

For those reading previous reviews, be aware that the ownership of the inn has recently changed. This doesn't make much difference, though. The new owners seem to be following all the same procedures for breakfast, reservations, etc. And they seem very nice, as were the old owners. We choose this inn for its location near Downtown Encinitas. There are very few options that are walking distance, and for us, this inn is the best one. It's nice that there is a patio and green area so that you can sit outside & relax. There's also a nice park just a few steps away, and the beach is a couple blocks walk. And you can walk to the wonderful farmers market on Sunday mornings. Rooms are adequate, but nothing special. Breakfast is good, with a nice fresh fruit plate each morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had stayed in the San Diego area during several weekends already but never ran into the Inn. What a loss!

From the moment I booked I received several updates and handy information. When I arrived all was set and I directly felt at home.

The morning breakfast is delicious and the Inn is conveniently located close to the Encinitas town center. Also the beach is very close.

I want to recommend this to everyone who wants to have a nice relaxing weekend with a really good service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caumont-sur-Durance
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A large room, the penthouse suite, with a Jacuzzi on the terrace, is luxury. A very nice breakfast, with a variety of fresh fruit, excellent croissants and muffins is all that you need to start a good day.
Our host gave us a real welcome. The only negative point is that their location is quite close to a railway track, and we are not used to being woken up during the night by a train horn. I hope other rooms are more phonically isolated than ours. If we come in this area again, we won't hesitate to come back to Moonlight beach, one of the best B&B we have experienced in the States.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Moonlight Beach

Address: 105 N. Vulcan Ave, Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, I'm Mitra Sohrabi. Welcome to my boutique Inn at Moonlight Beach Bed & Breakfast in Encinitas overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We're located on a hillside overlooking Moonlight Beach in the quaint little beach town of Encinitas. The beach is just 2 blocks away; my rooms and suites recall a lovely French Country Inn with private baths, wi-fi & refrigerator. Each morning I'll bake you mouthwatering home-made, warm-from-the-oven pastries with your breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Moonlight Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.