We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Line” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Moonlight Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Encinitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Moonlight Beach
Save Saved
You added Inn at Moonlight Beach to your Saves list
105 N. Vulcan Ave, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 Encinitas B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Top of the Line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We are very experienced B&B travelers, and can safely say there is none better than this cozy little inn in Encinitas. Our room (Seabreeze) is small but beautifully furnished with a bed and and two Drexel chairs which were all most comfortable. The breakfast, beginning with the prettiest fruit plate we've ever seen, followed by home-baked fresh coffee-cakes or quiche or breads and accompanying yogurt, cereal and great coffee is a perfect way to start the day. The owners, Ann and Terry, are delightful hosts and can help with any question or problem you might have regarding Encinitas and the surrounding areas.
There are many lounges and chairs in the garden, which is artfully planted and furnished with and interesting variety of pots, urns, and tables. Hummingbirds flock around their feeders.
There are "peek-a-boo" views of the ocean, which is an easy ten minute walk.
Wouldn't change a thing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
64
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The place is pretty and the hostess is nice. Breakfast was healthy and yummy. I enjoyed the comfort of my room which had an recliner where I could read before bedtime. Definitely worth a repeat visit.

Room Tip: The Beach room is on the end with an extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August so I could attend a grant writing seminar for my work. Staying at the Inn at Moonlight Beach made a boring, business trip much nicer. I am not a good traveler and I normally feel very uncomfortable in a hotel or inn, however, I felt right at home here. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very clean. I loved the breakfast each morning and Ann was very friendly, but not hovering. The only problem we had was that we happened to be there during a heat wave and there was no air conditioning in the room. Other than that, everything was perfect. Would love to stay here again when I am in the area for pleasure and not business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our several days at the Inn at Moonlight Beach in the Penthouse Suite. Even though it was a few months ago now I have really vivid memories of the trip and the lodge. The food was terrific! Just be sure to bring sunscreen. The cooler weather and overcast skies fooled us on this trip. The beach is right there and you will want to spend time lounging for a few hours and you could get burned like we did :) Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Whether you stay in the Encinitas area or plan a day trip or two to San Diego, the Inn at Moonlight Beach is THE place to stay.

The inn’s best feature is its easy access to Moonlight Beach—one of the most lovely beaches on the California coast—and the charming beach town of Encinitas. After a day of driving from Phoenix to Encinitas in Friday night California rush-hour traffic, we were relieved to find that we could just park our car at the inn for the entire 3 days if we wanted and walk to restaurants and shops. However, since we were celebrating an anniversary, we chose one evening to drive to a more distant restaurant, Pacifica Del Mar (recommended by our hosts).

Our hosts were preparing to leave the next morning for a weekend away, so we only got to meet Ann (and doggie Max). She was very gracious and welcomed us to our suite with fresh roses and chocolate covered strawberries for the occasion. We were sorry that we didn’t get to meet husband Terry, who I believe is the author of all the very helpful communiqués we received prior to our arrival regarding their policies, favorite restaurants, and local attractions. However, we enjoyed chatting with Greg, who very ably assists in the inn’s operation.

We found our room to be pleasantly furnished and impeccably clean, providing all that we needed for our 3-night stay. That included a very comfortable bed and a spa-like bath. If there were trains after 9:00 pm (which I don’t believe there were), we slept too soundly to hear them. During the day, the train whistles were a pleasant reminder that San Diego is just a short hop away! The grounds are quite Zen and well-kept—with lots of flowers, interesting water features, and hummingbirds galore! Although the inn doesn’t offer a view of the beach, we could see the ocean from our Penthouse suite—through the treetops when the marine layer lifted. It felt safe and was so refreshing to be able to leave doors and windows open to catch the ocean breeze.

We don’t require heavy breakfasts and found the Continental breakfast offerings much to our liking before a stroll on the beach—especially the artistically prepared fresh fruit plates and delicious muffins (my favorite tasted more like coffee cake). Oh, and good coffee (Starbucks) is always appreciated!

We were having such a relaxing time in Encinitas, we decided to go to San Diego another time!

Room Tip: The Penthouse has a balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very comfortable, clean, relaxing, cozy beds and quiet. The owners Ann and Terry were away and we were extremely well taken care of by Greg and Jane. Each morning there was a fresh fruit plate and homemade goodies waiting for us. There is a "warning" about the train noise but it was not an issue at all. Walk to the beach and a great pizza/pasta restaurant. I came for family business but will chose to stay here next time for vacation. Very happy!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I had the best time possible in the San Diego. The moonlight room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Ann and Terry made us feel right at home. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Moonlight Beach

Address: 105 N. Vulcan Ave, Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, I'm Mitra Sohrabi. Welcome to my boutique Inn at Moonlight Beach Bed & Breakfast in Encinitas overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We're located on a hillside overlooking Moonlight Beach in the quaint little beach town of Encinitas. The beach is just 2 blocks away; my rooms and suites recall a lovely French Country Inn with private baths, wi-fi & refrigerator. Each morning I'll bake you mouthwatering home-made, warm-from-the-oven pastries with your breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Moonlight Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.