We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice descovery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leucadia Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Leucadia Beach Inn to your Saves list
Leucadia Beach Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1322 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Encinitas B&B and Inns
Roseburg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice descovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a nice, small, friendly, clean and groovy motel. Our room was in the one story courtyard part of the motel and we did not go look at the 2 story building next door, so cannot comnent on that.
We thoroughly enjoyed this LBI. It is old and basic but has been lovingly restored. Our room was large with a small kitchenette, small bathroom and nice comfortable big bed. The sheets and quilt were very nice as were the towels, and the bed was very comfortable. There is a nice courtyard with parking right outside our door and each room in the courtyard had someplace to sit and relax - benches or lounge chairs or a picnic table.
The staff were friendly and accomodating. There is a bbq in the courtyard that is for the use of guests and had we been there longer would probably have made use of it.
If you are into fancy, overpriced luxury this is not the place for you. But if you want someplace comfortable and friendly then I would recommend this motel. We will definitely be staying there the next time we are in the area and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Because this place is right on PCH the rooms at the back of the courtyard are probalby quieter. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
23
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is something.....From the outside it is very cute and charming. The rooms at first glance are cute and charming. But.........READ THE FINE PRINT, AND I MEAN " FINE" PRINT ON THE BACK OF THE DOOR. There is some sort of black soot type stuff that gets on the floor. Everyday we would get out of the shower walk on the floor and our feet would be black. We could not figure out what was causing it. They do not provide shower mats so you either have the floor in room soaking wet or put a towel down. This is where the FINE PRINT comes in. It states that they will charge you 10.00 per towel that you use to wipe up the floor. Yes, they don't provide a mat, or a rug in bathroom and you cannot use a towel on the floor. So what use your clothes and then have them stained. Yes, this stuff does not come off fabric whatever it is. Next......When we checked in the floor in front of fridge was soaking wet. Fridge had been turned off.........so what did we do? We grabbed a towel and wiped up the water. !!! The next issue is IT IS RIGHT NEXT TO THE AMTRACK TRAIN....Yep and hear those whistles blow several times a night. Keeping your windows closed helps some but not much. You will also have to deal with the parking situation......Tight. Then the cars coming and going all night long, and if you are lucky you won't have Harley's starting up setting off alarms . The manager / owner whoever he is , is RUDE AND NOT VERY FRIENDLY. The lamps were dirty, the dust was thick,and in 7 days they changed our bed ONE TIME. Had several people checking in actually walk up to me when I was sitting outside in the evening asking me if the office was closed they were trying to check in and couldn't find anyone. Anyway.....The shower is very small, water shot out the top of the shower head over the curtain and on to the floor......WE COULD NOT WIPE IT UP.......NOT ALLOWED . For over 1000.00 for the week, had there been another hotel available I would have been out of that place. The maids were nice, they were the only ones who had a smile on there face.

Room Tip: Room are pretty much all the same I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was extremely clean. It has tile flooring which I liked so much better than carpet. It was decorated really cute. Had a small table and a kitchen area. Room was a good size. I had room 6. The bathroom was very, very tiny. The outside of the hotel is a really cute also. Parking is tight and have to back out onto PCH. My only problem was with the A/C. Really loud and in an awkward spot to turn on and off. It was under a counter. Luckily it cooled off the room enough so I didn't have to run it at night. It would have been hard to sleep with it on.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A great place to stay. Clean, affordable and centrally located near MANY great destinations such as Sea World, San Diego Zoo & Wild Animal Safari, Lego Land, Camp Pendleton, great restaurants and only 3-5 minutes from 3 great beaches!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Five people - two beds and a roll away. Some of the concerns that I read from other reviews were parking and pillows. First, parking was not an issue. Even over a holiday weekend we did not have trouble finding parking at all different hours. Second, the pillows are a little flat, but I always bring my own anyway, so it really wasn't an issue. The room itself was great. We are from Arizona and enjoy the small mining towns and historical sites, so this fit in perfect. If you are looking for a resort - this is not the place. If you want a clean room that has a kitchen and is close to the beach - this is your place. The beach is a walk up a hill, around a corner and down the steps. May 10-15 minutes walk. Even our 6 year old could do it, so it is not a hard walk at all. LOVED the beach - very quiet and lots of surfing for the kids. Again, if you are looking for a party beach in a party town - keep driving. For families on a budget looking for a home base close to San Diego and the attractions, you will like it here. I did not have any issues with noise, either inside or out. Keep in mind that this is an older hotel - from the 1920's? - so it is not a new place with all the bells and whistles. It IS, however, very functional and clean. The bath room fan was LOUD - but we just did not leave it on. The shower was not a high tech massaging head like we have at home, but it was hot and the bathroom was clean. There were some repairs that need to be addressed (cabinet in the kitchen broken) but for the most part it was as advertised. I would totally stay here again. Next time though, I will bring a broom - that is the one thing that I would recommend to help with sand on the floor. Also - make sure you bring your own beach towels. Again - I always do anyway - but it is a good reminder.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We checked in quite late, but were warmly welcomed by a nice and friendly lady. The room was very spacious, cosy and very clean. I thought the interior of the room was quite charming and the place sort of makes you feel at home. The kitchen had everything we needed and the bathroom was also very clean with nice fluffy towels and even shower equipment etc.
The lady at the reception was very nice and gave us some helpful tips as to where we could get something to eat etc.
I would always stay here again and can really recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leucadia Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leucadia Beach Inn

Address: 1322 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leucadia Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leucadia Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leucadia Beach Hotel Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leucadia Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.