We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, cute decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leucadia Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Leucadia Beach Inn to your Saves list
Leucadia Beach Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1322 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Encinitas B&B and Inns
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very clean, cute decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The room was extremely clean. It has tile flooring which I liked so much better than carpet. It was decorated really cute. Had a small table and a kitchen area. Room was a good size. I had room 6. The bathroom was very, very tiny. The outside of the hotel is a really cute also. Parking is tight and have to back out onto PCH. My only problem was with the A/C. Really loud and in an awkward spot to turn on and off. It was under a counter. Luckily it cooled off the room enough so I didn't have to run it at night. It would have been hard to sleep with it on.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
10
21
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A great place to stay. Clean, affordable and centrally located near MANY great destinations such as Sea World, San Diego Zoo & Wild Animal Safari, Lego Land, Camp Pendleton, great restaurants and only 3-5 minutes from 3 great beaches!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Five people - two beds and a roll away. Some of the concerns that I read from other reviews were parking and pillows. First, parking was not an issue. Even over a holiday weekend we did not have trouble finding parking at all different hours. Second, the pillows are a little flat, but I always bring my own anyway, so it really wasn't an issue. The room itself was great. We are from Arizona and enjoy the small mining towns and historical sites, so this fit in perfect. If you are looking for a resort - this is not the place. If you want a clean room that has a kitchen and is close to the beach - this is your place. The beach is a walk up a hill, around a corner and down the steps. May 10-15 minutes walk. Even our 6 year old could do it, so it is not a hard walk at all. LOVED the beach - very quiet and lots of surfing for the kids. Again, if you are looking for a party beach in a party town - keep driving. For families on a budget looking for a home base close to San Diego and the attractions, you will like it here. I did not have any issues with noise, either inside or out. Keep in mind that this is an older hotel - from the 1920's? - so it is not a new place with all the bells and whistles. It IS, however, very functional and clean. The bath room fan was LOUD - but we just did not leave it on. The shower was not a high tech massaging head like we have at home, but it was hot and the bathroom was clean. There were some repairs that need to be addressed (cabinet in the kitchen broken) but for the most part it was as advertised. I would totally stay here again. Next time though, I will bring a broom - that is the one thing that I would recommend to help with sand on the floor. Also - make sure you bring your own beach towels. Again - I always do anyway - but it is a good reminder.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We checked in quite late, but were warmly welcomed by a nice and friendly lady. The room was very spacious, cosy and very clean. I thought the interior of the room was quite charming and the place sort of makes you feel at home. The kitchen had everything we needed and the bathroom was also very clean with nice fluffy towels and even shower equipment etc.
The lady at the reception was very nice and gave us some helpful tips as to where we could get something to eat etc.
I would always stay here again and can really recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I really wish that I had been here on vacation--instead, I was harried by the demands of a business trip, delayed by traffic and arrived at 2 am and had to leave at 8 am. So I didn't get to meet the proprietors (who left my room key in a lockbox on my doorknob and weren't in the front office till after 9 am!), and I didn't get to enjoy the lovely surroundings of the hotel. Since I arrived so late, the parking by the rooms was all full and I had to park around the corner in a neighborhood, kind of nervewracking. The room felt old but they have done their best to make it clean and pleasant. HD TV with lots of channels, full kitchen and nice big bathroom, and comfortable bed. The towels smelled really nice. The place was quiet overnight and the price I paid was quite reasonable. Free wifi worked well. I will make sure to come back sometime when I can actually relax and enjoy the place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at this place for two nights are were generally very happy with it. Tiled floor was great, windows could be opened, sink and cock top worked well. Shower clean and functional. There was a fountain in front of out room, providing a soothing noise over the cars (and occasional train) nearby (it is relatively quiet at night, we slept quite well). There are two beaches in walking distance, just head up the hill away from the coast highway, and then either go left (slightly closer, but smaller beach) or right (larger, sandier beach, with shower for surfers and better developed stairs).
Rooms was exactly as described and we were able to park in the courtyard, with a sitting bench in front of our room. There is no breakfast included, and there are eateries nearby. Owner of the Inn recommended Fish101 and that was definitely a good choice for dinner.
Only 'minus' when we entered the room first, there was a lingering smell of chlorine bleach (managed to air it out quickly). One of us thought the bed could be a little firmer.
Really debated to give 4* and settled on 3.5* . Would come back here - this is an affordable, pleasant experience.

Room Tip: rooms in the courtyard are lovely (bring earplpugs if sensitive to street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leucadia Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leucadia Beach Inn

Address: 1322 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leucadia Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leucadia Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leucadia Beach Hotel Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leucadia Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.