We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and very good price/quality relationship” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Encinitas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Encinitas to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Encinitas
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   410 N Coast Hwy US 101, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming and very good price/quality relationship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spend two nights there and the experience was really good. The girl at the front desk was helpful and very nice all the time. The room was very clean, big, with two comfortable queen beds, a huge TV, a table with two chairs and a nice bathroom with all the amenities. The room also have a desk with microwave, coffee maker with some coffee and teas, and a small fridge. Parking and breakfast are included. There was not any noise even though we were so close to the main road. It is like 5 minutes by car to the centre of the town, and the beautiful beach is like two or three blocks behind the hotel. There are a few pubs and restaurants at 5' walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. We will ensure to maintain the quality of service that you are most comfortable and great breakfast experience to enjoy during your next visit in our Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    73
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
51
50
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elephant Butte, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not a bad place to stay for the price. Nothing fancy, pretty standard mid price hotel. It was clean.The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were too firm for my liking. The continental breakfast had few choices. Overall a good choice if you are just looking for a decent affordable hotel in Encinitas.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside away from road and train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize about our pillow being too firm. And I thank you for appreciating the breakfast that we have prepared for our guest. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed one night. The family running the hotel were very nice and very helpful. The beach access was not real convenient. Lots of steps to go down to get on the beach...over 100. Best to drive down to the beach access, free parking, and then you can go down the ramp. The rooms here were fine. A little small but They were clean. Air conditioner wasn't that great. This hotel was in walking distance to some places to eat and had some shops. No place to sit to eat breakfast, had to eat in your room. Out room had a small table with chairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Your reviews are important to us and we definitely give utmost attention to our guests’ concerns. I sincerely apologize about the air-conditioner and about no place to sit for breakfast. We assure you that instances such as this are promptly evaluated and addressed accordingly. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had enjoyed a brilliant Route 66 road trip and had 6 days to spend before returning home to Ireland. My lovely partner had been in Southern California many years ago and as I had not and she recommended it we decided to have 3 days in Encinitas and 3 in San Diego. We were not looking for luxury in Encinitas but a comfortable base to look around and the Econo Lodge fulfilled that reguirement excellently. It is on the highway just a short distance from the centre and only a short walk to the fabulous beach. It has its own swimming pool. The rooms are comfortably furnished. The owners are a delightful, shy, slightly formal, but friendly family and it is clear that they do their best to maintain high standards in the hotel. For what you get it is very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the heart-warming review on our effort to implement further improvement in the services we provide for all our guests. Your input showed we have sufficed quality accommodation well deserved by all our guests for giving us your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This nice little motel is within five minutes walk to beautiful Encinitas beaches. Our king size room was equipped with microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, ironing board in addition to a nice wide screen TV and a lot of shelfing space for storage. Our second floor room facing the ocean allowed us to open the window and enjoy the ocean breeze.

The front desk personnel were efficient and very friendly and the continental breakfast was definitely above average.

I am also very pleased with their additional charges for pets as I do not wish the hotel to be trashed up by too many pets. I applaud the hotel's policy of charging additional fees for pets. I witnessed more than one dog poops near the hotel (but not on hotel's ground) and it was not pretty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
It is with utmost sincerity that we extend our heartfelt gratitude for openly sharing to us your wonderful experience while staying with us. It is our ultimate goal to attend to the needs of our valued guests in the best possible way, so that we may ensure their comfort at all times. Thank you for commending us on the great service we have given you, and for appreciating our rooms and for particularly enjoying the location in total. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed one night here. I had booked on a website and when I arrived with my paperwork, they said I owed more..needless to say, after about 10 minutes they relented as I had it in writing what I was quoted...other than that, was great..surprised how quiet it was..heard someone coming up the stairs after 10 p.m. but slept well. Had room 210 which was large, had a refrigerator, microwave too. Rooms have been updated and my room was clean and tidy. Walk to lots of places!

Room Tip: I had room 210 which was upstairs and in front, but the traffic didn't bother me at all. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Ensuring your comfort and convenience is what drives us to work hard in giving you a pleasantly memorable experience to remember. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and giving us your candid feedback. The appreciation you gave with regards to liking our spacious and tidy accommodation is indeed heart-warming. We wish to let you know that your feedback motivates and inspires us to constantly work on improving our services to serve you better. We hope that we may be able to be of service to you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Encinitas Econo Lodge is just off the quite busy Coast Highway, and is a little bit out of town - it took us about 20 minutes to walk to the centre of Encintas. The room price is very reasonable, however, and the rooms are clean, tidy and well presented. Breakfast is included in the room rate; it's a very simple buffet affair served on a counter in reception, but the coffee is good and the fruit is fresh - good enough to set you up for the morning. There's an ample free car park with a small swimming pool at the front of the hotel too - bonus!

Encinitas itself is a lovely town with some great shops, restaurants and beaches. You can walk from the hotel to the famous "Stone Steps", leading to a quiet beach - it only takes five minutes tops. Also the world renowned San Diego Botanic Gardens (formerly known as Quail Gardens) are just a few minutes away by car, and are definitely worth a visit. La Jolla is about 20 minutes away on a good day, 30 mins in traffic.

Service at the Encinitas Econo Lodge is friendly and professional - we'd definitely stay here again. Oh yes, there are irons and ironing boards in every room. Big plus for this, as I like to press my clothes and look smart after the long journey from Europe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
The appreciation you have for your great stay in total is precisely what we are striving towards. We want you to come stay with us and leave feeling rested, relaxed and comfortable, in terms of both how you feel about your room and how you feel about the money you spent. We wish to always give you the best service there is to offer. Thank you for commending our very reliable staff and appreciating the served breakfast. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Encinitas

Address: 410 N Coast Hwy US 101, Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encinitas Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Encinitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.