We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Encinitas

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Encinitas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Encinitas
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   410 N Coast Hwy US 101, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Encinitas
Elephant Butte, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not a bad place to stay for the price. Nothing fancy, pretty standard mid price hotel. It was clean.The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were too firm for my liking. The continental breakfast had few choices. Overall a good choice if you are just looking for a decent affordable hotel in Encinitas.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside away from road and train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize about our pillow being too firm. And I thank you for appreciating the breakfast that we have prepared for our guest. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    48
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
38
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed one night. The family running the hotel were very nice and very helpful. The beach access was not real convenient. Lots of steps to go down to get on the beach...over 100. Best to drive down to the beach access, free parking, and then you can go down the ramp. The rooms here were fine. A little small but They were clean. Air conditioner wasn't that great. This hotel was in walking distance to some places to eat and had some shops. No place to sit to eat breakfast, had to eat in your room. Out room had a small table with chairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Your reviews are important to us and we definitely give utmost attention to our guests’ concerns. I sincerely apologize about the air-conditioner and about no place to sit for breakfast. We assure you that instances such as this are promptly evaluated and addressed accordingly. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had enjoyed a brilliant Route 66 road trip and had 6 days to spend before returning home to Ireland. My lovely partner had been in Southern California many years ago and as I had not and she recommended it we decided to have 3 days in Encinitas and 3 in San Diego. We were not looking for luxury in Encinitas but a comfortable base to look around and the Econo Lodge fulfilled that reguirement excellently. It is on the highway just a short distance from the centre and only a short walk to the fabulous beach. It has its own swimming pool. The rooms are comfortably furnished. The owners are a delightful, shy, slightly formal, but friendly family and it is clear that they do their best to maintain high standards in the hotel. For what you get it is very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the heart-warming review on our effort to implement further improvement in the services we provide for all our guests. Your input showed we have sufficed quality accommodation well deserved by all our guests for giving us your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This nice little motel is within five minutes walk to beautiful Encinitas beaches. Our king size room was equipped with microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, ironing board in addition to a nice wide screen TV and a lot of shelfing space for storage. Our second floor room facing the ocean allowed us to open the window and enjoy the ocean breeze.

The front desk personnel were efficient and very friendly and the continental breakfast was definitely above average.

I am also very pleased with their additional charges for pets as I do not wish the hotel to be trashed up by too many pets. I applaud the hotel's policy of charging additional fees for pets. I witnessed more than one dog poops near the hotel (but not on hotel's ground) and it was not pretty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
It is with utmost sincerity that we extend our heartfelt gratitude for openly sharing to us your wonderful experience while staying with us. It is our ultimate goal to attend to the needs of our valued guests in the best possible way, so that we may ensure their comfort at all times. Thank you for commending us on the great service we have given you, and for appreciating our rooms and for particularly enjoying the location in total. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed one night here. I had booked on a website and when I arrived with my paperwork, they said I owed more..needless to say, after about 10 minutes they relented as I had it in writing what I was quoted...other than that, was great..surprised how quiet it was..heard someone coming up the stairs after 10 p.m. but slept well. Had room 210 which was large, had a refrigerator, microwave too. Rooms have been updated and my room was clean and tidy. Walk to lots of places!

Room Tip: I had room 210 which was upstairs and in front, but the traffic didn't bother me at all. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Ensuring your comfort and convenience is what drives us to work hard in giving you a pleasantly memorable experience to remember. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and giving us your candid feedback. The appreciation you gave with regards to liking our spacious and tidy accommodation is indeed heart-warming. We wish to let you know that your feedback motivates and inspires us to constantly work on improving our services to serve you better. We hope that we may be able to be of service to you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Encinitas Econo Lodge is just off the quite busy Coast Highway, and is a little bit out of town - it took us about 20 minutes to walk to the centre of Encintas. The room price is very reasonable, however, and the rooms are clean, tidy and well presented. Breakfast is included in the room rate; it's a very simple buffet affair served on a counter in reception, but the coffee is good and the fruit is fresh - good enough to set you up for the morning. There's an ample free car park with a small swimming pool at the front of the hotel too - bonus!

Encinitas itself is a lovely town with some great shops, restaurants and beaches. You can walk from the hotel to the famous "Stone Steps", leading to a quiet beach - it only takes five minutes tops. Also the world renowned San Diego Botanic Gardens (formerly known as Quail Gardens) are just a few minutes away by car, and are definitely worth a visit. La Jolla is about 20 minutes away on a good day, 30 mins in traffic.

Service at the Encinitas Econo Lodge is friendly and professional - we'd definitely stay here again. Oh yes, there are irons and ironing boards in every room. Big plus for this, as I like to press my clothes and look smart after the long journey from Europe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
The appreciation you have for your great stay in total is precisely what we are striving towards. We want you to come stay with us and leave feeling rested, relaxed and comfortable, in terms of both how you feel about your room and how you feel about the money you spent. We wish to always give you the best service there is to offer. Thank you for commending our very reliable staff and appreciating the served breakfast. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good value - good location.

We were able to walk to the beach and the farmers market. We weren't close enough to restaurants to walk somewhere to eat for dinner.

Breakfast is only served until 9am. We thought it was later, were a little slow getting up one morning and missed it; although we didn't miss much - breakfast is small muffins, bagels, and some fruit.

Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. We were on the first floor on the parking lot side. The room didn't have privacy curtains, so when we were in the room, we either had the curtains open and anyone walking by could see right in, or we would shut out all of the natural light.

The bathroom was also small, but clean. My one complaint is that the showerhead was REALLY low - at most 5' high (about at my lower neck, and I'm short - this was even trickier for my tall husband!)...the bathrooms/rooms had been remodeled within the past few years, so I'm surprised this isn't something that was fixed during the remodel.

The front desk staff was very helpful and polite.

We did accidentally leave a camera charger in our room. My husband emailed asking if they found it, and he never received a reply. I called and spoke someone and they said they found it, and I could mail a self addressed, stamped envelope to them and they'd mail it back. It was only a week ago, but we are still waiting to receive the charger back.

Room Tip: I'd recommend 2nd floor on the side away from the parking lot (we were first floor on the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
The comfort and satisfaction of our valued guests means so much to us, and to be able to ensure it without fail is our primary goal. We truly appreciate the time and the effort you gave to share to us your positive experience. To hear that we have served you well is rewarding enough for us already. Thank you for also pointing out the improvements we can make regarding the room in total. Your feedback did not only make us aware of it, but also gave us an opportunity to correct it. We will definitely make proper amendments for us to better serve our valued guests. Should you wish to contact us, you can reach us at this email address, support@myhotelreputation.com. We hope to give you a far better experience the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Encinitas

Address: 410 N Coast Hwy US 101, Encinitas, CA 92024
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Encinitas 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encinitas Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Encinitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.