We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Encinitas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Encinitas to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Encinitas
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   410 N Coast Hwy US 101, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't beat the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great little hotel. Very clean and the staff was super friendly! The price was excellent and the free breakfast was great! Our room was also surprisingly very quiet even though it is right on the highway. Only cons - the lighting in the room was not so great and our room did not have a bathtub, only a shower (not sure if all the rooms are like this or it was just ours). A bit of a bummer to not have a bathtub as we were traveling with two kids (ages 3.5 and 1) but we managed. Also, the pool is not heated and is outdoors so it was quite chilly! Would be great in the summer though. Will stay here again next time we are in Encinitas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
It is with utmost appreciation that we extend our gratitude for taking time in giving us your feedback. This will greatly aid us in ensuring that we are giving excellent service to our valued clients. We are delighted to meet and deliver quality service to you during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    61
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
40
47
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was not expecting this little hotel to be so on point! The staff is on par, very friendly and accommodating.
Pride of ownership shows in the cleanliness of the hallways, carpets and bathrooms. The hotel has been updated tastefully from the ceilings, furniture and color schemes. Everything seems new.
It's a small, quaint little hotel so there's not any undesirables roaming around at all and the feeling you get here is comfortable, cheery and safe.
I stayed in a $200 4-star hotel in La Jolla last year and was absolutely miserable. This little hotel may not be a 4-star or may not have a gourmet breakfast but it hands down has more class! Impressed...very impressed.

A note to the guy that had an issue for pet deposits. Most all hotels, Best Western for example ask for a pet fee AND a deposit. Why wouldn't they? Even us humans hand over our credit card for incidentals.

Room Tip: Just a short walk to Pannikin Cafe, Encinitas. The water is one block away. El Callejon Mexican Rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were privileged to serve you during your stay. And the good thing is that you were able to have a wonderful experience during your stay with us. This reflects on how much we value our customers and make them feel like home. We can’t wait to serve you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Our hosts were kind and caring and treated us like family. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need. The baths are exquisite. I loved it that they open the windows when cleaning for some of that fresh ocean air. Very few places do that. Safe and quiet. I would feel very comfortable staying here if I were traveling alone. The hosts have set the bar high for other value hotels! Small lodge with 30 units. Good value. Walking distance to all the good stuff on Hwy 101. I will definitely stay there next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor if you can climb the stairs - rooms on west side a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is such a pleasure that we have been great in providing you quality services during your stay with us. Our goal is to cater services to our valued customers like no other hotels can offer. We also make sure that you feel like at home where comfort and great accommodation are always our priority. We are looking forward to serve better on your next stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I was shocked that this motel listed it was "pet friendly". They did not list their fees, and when we arrived, they wanted to charge $25 for 1 night for 1 small dog.

This was and additional - and surprise 33% fee

We travel a lot and with our dog. When I reviewed the website the$25 fee is not posted. Had I known, At that high rate I would have chosen another motel.

I do think the $25 fee is excessive. But what I felt ripped off about was the rate was not published. I find this deceptive and lacks integrity.

In a service industry like tourism, integrity is key. I hope the owners take my comments to heart.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize that you felt inconvenienced and it is not our intention to mislead you regarding the fee. Our goal is to provide quality services like no other hotels can offer and we always make sure that our valued customers like you get the services more than what they pay for. We are also thankful for bringing this up on our attention and rest assured that this will be discussed on our regular meeting for us improve our services. We hoping that you’ll still leave your doors open for Econo Lodge on your future trips. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time! The rooms were nice and clean. Great to have microwave and fridge. Plenty of room for the 4 of us 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Very close to the beach and lots of places to eat nearby. Staff was awesome. We had room to park our long bed truck, which was nice, this close to the beach. We will be staying here again. If you have problems going upstairs be sure to ask for the first floor, did not see an elevator, not a problem for us. Nice big screen TV, we didn't spend time watching it though to many things to do.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the first floor if you have mobility issues, didnt' see an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

This serves as a motivation for us to provide constant quality services to our valued customers like you. We are grateful that you had such a great time during your stay with us and we are happy that we have provided you services more than what you pay for. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Needed a low-price alternative close to La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad for a wedding, and this EconoLodge in Encinitas was perfect. The staff was friendly, the parking was easy, the room was simple and clean, the bed was comfy (king size room), the air worked, the window cracked open a little for fresh air but not all the way (for safety), and the refrigerator and microwave were nice to have. Note that the refrigerator is unplugged when you check-in... so if you need it, plan on waiting for it to cool down. We missed the free breakfast, but there are lots of places to eat down the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you really had a great time during your stay with us. This feedback serves as a motivation for to do more and give more. Our customer always matters to us and we always make sure that we are provide them the services that they truly deserve.We hope to see you again the soonest. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here two times, every time it was an excellent experience. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room was perfect great bed, clean. The morning breakast was fine as well. If your in Encintas and need a place to stay try this platinum award winning hotel. Great job and hats off to their high standards.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your stay and for mentioning our location. We always provide to our valued customers like you an accessible location, clean, cozy environment and excellent customer service. We’re glad that we have provide these services to you. By this, we are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Encinitas

Address: 410 N Coast Hwy US 101, Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Encinitas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encinitas Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Encinitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.