We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Village Asian Diner

East Village Asian Diner
628 South Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 753-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 224 restaurants in Encinitas
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were visiting a friend who lives in the area, he knows we are foodies and wanted to take us someplace different. So happy with choice he made, the food was absolutely delicious!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    5
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Can't Fault the Value, Service and Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Can't go wrong here. Good quality food with generous servings. Varied menu. Cheap beer and good selection. Laid back atmosphere but top notch service. Between our party of four, we had the noodle and seaweed salad (huge portion), beef and broccoli with low mein noodles, and the Monk's pot which is available in several permutations.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
668 reviews 668 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
1,337 helpful votes 1,337 helpful votes
“Great selection and HUGE portions.... Friendly service too...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I came here for lunch with my friend and really enjoyed the meal. We came on a friday afternoon and surprisingly it was fairly dead. The place is decent sized. The menu is really big with a lot to select from.

I had the Omma's beef hot plate and it was really a good sized portion and everything was fresh and tasty. My friend had the mongolian monk's stone pot. He said it was also good.

The service was quick as there were only 2 other people in the restaurant. Usually when we eat in this area the places are full so not sure why it was so dead.

Parking on 101 is usually tough but I found a spot parking one street over and my friend parked in Whole Food's parking lot which is free 2 hours with a purchase.

I'd definitely come back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very relaxing diner with great service and a simple and delicious menu. We had the Monk's pot with kimchi and the sliced marinated beef and the super awesome burrito, which was super awesome!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Variety Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What an eclectic menu! Lots of creative uses of spices, and you can request anything on the menu with extras or without something that you might not want. So they're really flexible with made to order dishes. But there's really no need. Something for everyone here, including a top notch location, plenty of seating, friendly staff and reasonable prices.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Village Asian Diner also viewed

 
Encinitas, CA
 

Been to East Village Asian Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Village Asian Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.