We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have brought this market home with me!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leucadia Farmers Market

Leucadia Farmers Market
185 Union Street, Paul Ecke Elementary School, Corner of Vulcan and Union, Encinitas, CA 92024
858-272-7054
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 things to do in Encinitas
Attraction details
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Wish I could have brought this market home with me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our visit to this market truly made our trip so special! We wanted to experience a farmer's market in California and we were not disappointed! A beautiful variety of fresh organic vegetables and friendly vendors passionate to tell us the backstory of their goods. Just a great experience! We bought some items to make a great meal we never would have otherwise not been able to make at home. We found great gluten-free cinnamon raisin bread and a grain-free pasta that paired wonderfully with an artisanal pesto we found there.

The kindness we experienced along with the great food we bought made this trip to the farmer's market unlike any other! Just sad that we did not have enough time to linger and sample some of the hot foods they were selling as well!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winthrop, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mmmmm so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We love farmer's markets and put this one on our list since we were nearby and it fit our schedule. We were not disappointed! There was a great variety of venues from crafts and handmade items to local harvests. We enjoyed talking with vendors and learning about walnuts, olive oils, mushrooms and even ready made Popsicles wrapped up in dry ice to go! They made it to the beach an hour later!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The food is really expensive, but most of it is natural or organic. The items looked great, but I didn't buy anything.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Funktastic Wholesome Lovelieness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sweet Jesus, I found my favorite farmer's market in Southern California. The Leucadia market is a haven of all that is wholesome and delicious and weird and delightful. I was especially fond of the guy selling chantarelles and shiitakes; the girl selling kombucha and kraut; the lady selling wildly delicious spice mixes with dark chocolate and coffee and cumin; the guy selling homemade barbecue sauces and rubs; and finally, the guy selling his own herbal tea concoctions. You can literally ask him anything about any of the herbs and he can tell you a whole story (dreamboat). There is fresh veggies and hot food and random, excellent artisans. A true bohemian in southern California!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“lively, local, real food and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

because this is off the street in a school yard all families and folks young and old are free from traffic and walk, play , relax , go to the play ground while also checking the seasonal farmers and their food offerings. lots of samples of fruit and vegetables etc, crafts and plants too. I usually pick up some small or larger flower bunches too.
Live music and picnic benches for eating .
laid back and friendly!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leucadia Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leucadia Farmers Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.