We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solace & The Moonlight Lounge

Solace & The Moonlight Lounge
25 East E Street, Encinitas, CA 92024
760.753.2433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Solace & The Moonlight Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 219 Restaurants in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: American, Organic, Vegetarian, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Unique and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The food was innovative and unique. Some of it sounded better on the menu but at least it was imaginative. The speciality cocktails are expensive and it's easy to run up the bill. The servers were friendly and helpful. I would return.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“WOW, very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

A local friend took me to Solace during a business trip to San Diego. I drove to Encinitas up the 101 Highway which is a beautiful drive. Encinitas is such a cute town. Solace is back 1/2 a block from the main street and you can either sit inside or outside. The outside patio has heaters so its comfortable even with an evening breeze. The staff is hip and stylish. Food options are varied but heavy on the seafood. The salmon and the sea bass were both phenomenal. The wine list had a few nice choices and the desert menu looked so good. We only had the coconut cake but it was incredible. I'd go back to Solace again and again when back in Encinitas or the area. The management should thank their well organized and very efficient but unobtrusive staff.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Fun Place to Eat, Interesting Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I ate here with my wife and another couple. This is right by the train tracks so you can see the Coaster and Am Track go by. Staff is friendly and we all had different entrees from hamburger to oysters to seafood. All were very tasty. We ate downstairs but upstairs had a balcony which looked like you could see the beach. I would ask. I didn't. It is right in a nice area for shopping and walking around. I recommend it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fresh and fun atmosphere with creative dishes and drinks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant has fresh ingredients and creative dishes. Good ambiance. The staff is friendly service good. I think its a bit overpriced its definately a casual dining experience with white linen pricing. I ordered the salmon it was outstanding. My husband had seabass was happy with it not thrilled with the sides. Our friend ordered halibut was fishy, another friend ordered a vegan dish was totally disappointed. Cheese biscuits were a hit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Well executed seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A nice find in this sleepy little seacoast town. Staff all seemed so happy to be there and full of menu knowledge and solid recommendations.

Chef Gordon has done an outstanding job concentrating on the freshest of seafood. Nice selection of oysters, ahi tuna and yellowtail.

The restaurant is a nice contrast from their original Urban Solace in North Park (San Diego) -- more open floorplan, nice communal tables in the bar.

My only complaint is not being closer to enjoy it more and to keep trying the additional menu add ons.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solace & The Moonlight Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Solace & The Moonlight Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solace & The Moonlight Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.