We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and inexpensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Beach Inn to your Saves list
Portofino Beach Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   186 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites North Coast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Oslo
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Convenient and inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Portofino Beach Inn has no relation to Portofino, Italy which I could discover, nor is it on the beach, but it was a convenient and inexpensive place to stay while actually visiting San Diego. Encinitas is quite charming little place with several reasonably good places to eat.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room shielded against the noise from the Coastal highway; it is actually on the Coa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    5
    5
    10
See reviews for
4
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We needed a room with a Jacuzzi tub and this was one of two that had it. Of the two, this room was cheapest, but wasn't worth the $4 savings. The room was not very clean and the toilet paper was extremely thin. We won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Ths place is awful.I reserved a room on Expedia.When I got there and saw the room I refused it and asked to see another.There were none available.Parking is a joke.My first impression of the lobby was that this is a dump.Don't waste your time.The beach is close,but so are other places to stay.This is a no star inn!

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 1st,2nd,or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here before and it was not bad. This time however it was awful!! Our room was a dungeon. Stains All over. Bath door knob broken, bed hard as a rock, second morning office closed till 9 am= no coffee as there was none in room. Believe all bad reviews! They are not personal, they are fact!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Let's just say if you have any class at all..you wont be comfortable! ! The lobby was a good indicator that I should have ran! I came to Carlsbad to visit legoland with my husband and twin girls for their birthday. After a great but long day..all of us exhausted. .we went to the room (that I pre-paid for) to relax. The room is supposed to be a king suite ..however..it was so small that in order to pull out the sofa bed..I had to move a table and a desk. We had to walk over the sofa bed just to get to the door. So completely uncomfortable! A mini fridge for a night stand. .the towels were so rough they scratched your skin. The pillows and blankets were from the 60's..just a horrible experience! Next time I will NOT try to save a buck (although I paid $167.00.. and btw..non-refundable because I pre-paid) and go to a more upscale establishment. To sum it up..this place wasn't even clean enough for my dogs.!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If this is the last room available in Encinitas you needbto change your dates or stay elsewhere and drive.
I wish I could post the photos I took of our broken door, rain gutter used as an ashtray and filthy, disgusting grounds. There was VOMIT dried on the walls and walkways around the stairs.
PARKING IS A JOKE!
$175 FOR ONE NIGHT AND IT WAS DISGUSTING HERE!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Without a doubt, the ONLY good thing about this hotel is the 5 minute walk to the beach. Otherwise, horrible. Dirty rooms, hair on the floors, stained carpets, dirt and God knows what all around the edges of the room, stained popcorn ceilings.. even our door would not open or close properly and once required my husband literally having to kick it open. We asked for help and a non-English speaking housekeeper came and told me the door was fine. We showed her that it wasn't so she returned with a can of WD-40 and sprayed the lock. That didn't work so they gave up. The microwave was so small it could not handle a normal size bag of popcorn. The free breakfast? DON'T chance it. Disgusting. The hardboiled egg was brown on the inside. Pastries and muffins that came from the day old shelf in the grocery store.

The building is ugly, brown stucco and a weird two-story structure with parking underneath, EXCEPT that the parking spaces are so narrow with support posts at each space so that we were afraid to park our small rental in there for fear of dents. Not enough room to maneuver. Most people chose to park in the open air lots in the back and front, including the employees, who took up TWO spaces with their cars each.

I checked reviews on this place and whoever is JDub14 writing positive reviews has to work there. The employees are uncaring and all about 16 years old. Polite, but clueless. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: no idea. I don't think there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portofino Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Inn

Address: 186 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites North Coast)
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portofino Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino Beach Inn Hotel in Encinitas California is located 18 miles from San Diego Airport and 25 miles from downtown San Diego. Along the historic stretch of Hwy 101 and just 2 blocks from the Legendary Moonlight Beach, the Portofino Beach Inn Hotel stands as a hidden treasure for those travelers seeking a charming atmosphere and comfortable beach-life accommodations at an affordable price.The boutique hotel charm and elegant, Mediterranean-inspired rooms are unique among all others in the area. The Hotel offers these newly renovated rooms with upgraded amenities to meet the needs of the business traveler or leisure guest. Wake up each morning to a deluxe continental breakfast with fresh bakery items. The Portofino Beach Inn Hotel is convenient to many area dining, shopping and entertainment venues. Long known for its coastal views and nostalgic feel, this oceanfront community of Encinitas provides the ideal backdrop for the newly remodeled Portofino Beach Inn North Coast Encinitas Hotel. Our motto is to provide Clean Comfortable rooms with COURTEOUS services at AFFORDABLE prices. Helping our guests to have an enjoyable experience while they are away from home is the goal for everyone working here at Portofino Beach Inn hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Portofino Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites North Coast
Quality Inn & Suites North Coast Hotel Encinitas
Quality Inn North Coast
Quality Inn Encinitas
Encinitas Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.