We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“niceplace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Portofino Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portofino Beach Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   186 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites North Coast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Encinitas
San Tan Valley, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“niceplace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great location. Close to beach and downtown Encinitas. It was nice to be able to walk places (many local coffee shops, restaurants, local shops, beach, whole foods). Customer service and room service was GREAT. Room was fine. The pillows were a little small. A little run down, but for the money and location it worked great for my family. We also needed to bring our dog and for an additional $15 a night we were able to bring her. There wasn't much area for her to use the bathroom close to the hotel but there was a lot of residential area behind the hotel that had places for her to use the restroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
4
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from the worst accommodation experience we've EVER had, and we've traveled the world and stayed in all types of humble accommodations. Our check in experience was seamless. They kindly accommodated our 5 pound pet and a "not too many stairs" request. But they put us in a room that NO ONE should have to stay in, let alone pay for. Aside from the fact that the carpet had not been vacuumed, there were webs on the ceiling, there was water damage on the ceiling (with the plaster coming down), the carpet was ripped and frayed, the tub was dirty, there was a window that overlooked a little area of brown, dead grass, and the worst is that the room has a horrible smell of mold that was so sickening we walked for hours to avoid going there in the evening. {We both got headaches and sinus issues as soon as we arrived in that room, and we're still dealing with them. We also found it very difficult to sleep because of the nastiness of the room and the horrible odor.

Furthermore, when my husband was reaching for something on the floor, he found a dirty plate (under one bed), and an old, burned candle under another. This room should be retired. It should be gutted and completely rehabbed. There is no doubt that the mold is harmful (I don't know what type of mold it is, but they need to do a mold test immediately.)

It's too bad because it is in a great location. But it was so horrible, it completely ruined our trip. We couldn't get up early enough to get out of there early enough, just to get away from the putrid, wretched, unclean room and smell.

Again, avoid this room. It's a vacation-ruiner.

Room Tip: Insist on a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We found this beach bum friendly inn back in 2009. Since then it is the only place we stay whenever we visit SoCal which is at least once a year. The staff has always been attentive and friendly. Our rooms have met our expectations. When not completely booked, they have upgraded us to the best available room without us even asking for no additional fee. I don't know many hotels that do that! Our last stay was from July 5-8 this year. We stayed in room 306. Andrew went out of his way to make our stay one of our best yet. From finding the best local place to rent boogie boards to ensuring there were fresh pastries at breakfast and even bringing up an extra quilt as soon as I requested, all was done with a smile. We love this place because it is not a hotel chain where you are simply the next occupant of a hotel room. It is literally within walking distance of Moonlight Beach and all of Encinita's shops and cafes. If you are looking for luxury, then keep looking. But if you ae looking for a great place to relax, sleep and shower between beach days and SoCal's famous and not so famous attractions and sights then stop and book here thru their website. Most times a discount is offered and the continental breakfast is always included. If you book thru other sites, then yes you have to pay extra. We aren't rich by any means, so we like that a simple breakfast is included and that the rooms have a microwave, mini fridge and coffemaker. We usually bring fruits, veggies, water, sodas, snacks and I pre-grill some chicken and steak and put what needs to stay cold in a cooler for our drive from AZ. This way all the breakfasts are covered & if we want a quick snack or easy meal I can make it in minutes-quick tip; bring a knife for cutting fruits and veggies and a travel sized cutting board (can buy a roll up plastic one for easy transport and washing at any dollar store) and paper plates. then we usually plan a couple of dinners at some of the awesome surrounding places and/or attractions we visit. Please note; this is an smaller older three story (stairs only I think) property next to the beach designed for beach bums and couples or families who aren't looking to spend their vacation in their room watching a flat screen ordering room service. the rooms are clean, with older t.v.'s and carpeting, but again...it is in a small, low key, family friendly beach city. We love it and hope you do too.

Room Tip: Parking is designed for smaller cars (husband is not a fan of the parking) but there are quite a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have stayed here many times. like the location to capt Kenos. Booked on line and then was told when i got to hotel that breakfast was not included because I booked with another website and not theres. I had no idea that it was not included. Was told Icould pay 3 dollars a person per day for a grand total of 63 dollars for some hard boiled eggs ceral and a some pastries. Because I got a cheaper room rate through booking .com. I dont think so. If you advertise a free breakfast then it should be free no matter who the hotel is booked with. Rooms were comfortable and staff was friendly. Jacuzzi was dirty and the jets hardly worked. minor flaws that should be fixed. Overall enjoyed my stay did not go have any food here. Captian Kinos offers better deals for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

For the surrounding area it's hard to find a king room for less than $175/night that you can walk to the beach in the summer and has a hot tub. Not sure what room was used for hotel pics, but our room was NOT spacious! We had a king room on 3rd floor (302). It was pretty small for everything that was crammed in it. The sofa was not inviting to sit on--it was hard and it was in weird space where it did not offer a good view of the TV. The bed was comfortable, sheets and towels clean and soft. Bathroom sufficient. Coffee maker and fridge both worked great. Easy walk to beach. We were there when the hotel was not full, so cannot speak to noise element, however I believe we were in one of the more quiet rooms, as it was 3rd floor, and the only shared wall was on the side between bathroom and vanity. Our main complaint was that the Hot Tub was only open from 3-11PM. We found that odd. And to top it off, the day we wanted to use it, it was closed for repairs until about 5pm. But once we did get to use it, it was really HOT, which is great as many hot tubs are just luke warm. Walking distance to a few great little restaurants too. Would stay there again at that price ($109).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

its a great location every thing you need is within walking distance the beach places to eat,its not the hyatt but the rooms are completely acceptable .moonlight beach is very,very nice and on the 101 either way is almost an endless selection of good restaurants coffee houses.you dont have to even have to leave encinetas.

Room Tip: rooms are better on the west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The name now is PORTOFINO BEACH INN it used to be quality inn..and i have to say from the reviews iv read from the past the new name change CLEARLY brought a whole new vibe to the hotel. The location is GREAT..a 5 min downhill walk thru a residential area to moonlight beach. Being one of the ONLY hotels a few blocks from the beach i thought the price would have been alot more (since all the hotels iv seen even remotely close to the beach were way out of my budget)...but $100 a night for a saturday night was awesome!! for $20 more we could have upgraded to an in room jacuzzi spa but we were only staying one night (and it was late) so we didnt see the point this time around but my suggestion to all is pay the extra $20 and u get an experience not many hotels offer-AN IN ROOM JACUZZI SPA TUB!! We got a king suite and it was pretty spacious. had a couch & table and a hugeeeee king bed and desk. Me & my boyfriend came down to the SD area to visit the wild animal park and it was only a 25 min lovely drive from the park itself and seeing the beach so close made us happy campers. The staff was veryy nice and even gave us a late checkout for free since we had such a long drive ahead of us. No this isnt some frilly 5 star trump tower type hotel but it is FARRRR from a roach motel, so if you are on a budget and want to be close to the beach this is your place to be.

Only warning is...i hope you are a great driver/parker because the parking spaces are a little on the tight side. Theres uncovered parking at the end of the building that are bigger but the covered parking is a little tight but not IMPOSSIBLE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Portofino Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear MiaaBellla:
Thank you for taking the time to review us online. I am glad to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us and that you like our new name Portofino Beach Inn. Providing CLEAN COMFORTABLE rooms with COURTEOUS services at AFFORDABLE prices is our motto and we look forward to your next stay with us when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portofino Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Inn

Address: 186 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites North Coast)
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portofino Beach Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino Beach Inn Hotel in Encinitas California is located 18 miles from San Diego Airport and 25 miles from downtown San Diego. Along the historic stretch of Hwy 101 and just 2 blocks from the Legendary Moonlight Beach, the Portofino Beach Inn Hotel stands as a hidden treasure for those travelers seeking a charming atmosphere and comfortable beach-life accommodations at an affordable price.The boutique hotel charm and elegant, Mediterranean-inspired rooms are unique among all others in the area. The Hotel offers these newly renovated rooms with upgraded amenities to meet the needs of the business traveler or leisure guest. Wake up each morning to a deluxe continental breakfast with fresh bakery items. The Portofino Beach Inn Hotel is convenient to many area dining, shopping and entertainment venues. Long known for its coastal views and nostalgic feel, this oceanfront community of Encinitas provides the ideal backdrop for the newly remodeled Portofino Beach Inn North Coast Encinitas Hotel. Our motto is to provide Clean Comfortable rooms with COURTEOUS services at AFFORDABLE prices. Helping our guests to have an enjoyable experience while they are away from home is the goal for everyone working here at Portofino Beach Inn hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Portofino Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites North Coast Hotel Encinitas
Quality Inn And Suites North Coast
Quality Inn North Coast
Quality Inn Encinitas
Encinitas Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.