We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kate Stanton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Encinitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kate Stanton Inn
1904 Leucadia Scenic Court, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Encinitas B&B and Inns
washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The perfect place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I had never stayed at an Inn or Bed & Breakfast – what a pleasant surprise! Liz and Carol were so nice and very helpful. The Inn is located on a quiet hill with excellent access to the freeway (but without the noise). I stayed in the Nantucket Room – a beautiful room with private bath and patio. The room is very spacious and tastefully decorated including a fireplace, rocking chair, lounge chair, desk, large closet and very comfortable bed. Oh, and I can’t forget – fresh cut flowers from her yard…in January! Although I know they usually provide a large breakfast, I’m not a big breakfast eater and was on the go first thing in the morning. So it was so nice that they always had my tea ready and would send me off each morning with homemade muffins, coffee cake, fruit and yogurt to go – perfect for me! I would definitely recommend this Inn. Seriously, make this your choice the next time you visit this area – you’ll love it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in the Nantucket Room at the Kate Stanton Inn while visiting our daughter who lives in San Diego. Everything about our stay exceeded our expectations (and that's saying a lot because we come from New England where B&Bs abound)! The Nantucket Room is just perfect and decorated in crisp whites and blues; there is a fireplace to warm you, and a ceiling fan along with french doors that open to a private patio to cool you. The bed is so comfortable that we fell asleep as soon as our heads hit the pillows, and woke up refreshed. The bathroom is beautiful and spacious with a window seat and glass enclosed shower. The inn keepers go well above and beyond any previous experience we have had. Liz and Carol warmly welcome you into their home, and you truly feel a sense of relaxation and peacefulness while being nurtured throughout your stay. Breakfast is absolutely wonderful, plentiful and healthful, and created lovingly by Liz to suit your individual dietary needs. Liz even made a delicous afternoon snack, served up with wine, to which she invited our daughter to join us. Upon our departure, we felt like family being sent off with a yummy bagged lunch for the plane! We highly recommend the Kate Stanton Inn if you are visiting the San Diego area.
Denise and Steve, Massachusetts

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had at the Kate Stanton Inn. The Inn Keepers Liz and Carole were very friendly and Liz's breakfasts were outstanding. We stayed in the Nantucket Room with a private bath and Outside patio. Both of Liz's restaurant recommendations were perfect. and their dog Ky was a special bonus..and the bed just may be the best we've had in 30 years of B & B's.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay was amazing from beginning to end (and we never wanted to see it end). We were so spoiled and pampered by the best Inn Keepers ever! Such sweet loving people making sure that everything is A +++. The accommodations are wonderful, so comfortable, warm and inviting! The décor is just beautiful and everything is so clean and well cared for! The breakfasts are so delicious and the presentation looks like something you would see in a magazine, Everything is so elegantly displayed and charming! So many cozy seating areas too both indoors and out!
The views are spectacular from this B&B! (Ocean, Lagoon, etc. WOW!)
We so enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to return soon!
Thank you Liz and Carol for a getaway we will remember always!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nantucket room. Amazing accommodations! Has its own gorgeous bathroom and firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August to visit some family. The home is in a very lovely neighborhood on a quiet street. We booked the Nantucket room for 3 nights. It was their biggest room and we even had our own outdoor patio space which was really nice. The linens are amazing and the bathroom had everything we needed including toothbrushes! Everything has a personal touch and was beautiful. Breakfast was out of this world!! We were stuffed until dinner everyday! We were there midweek and there was only one guest other than us. They put together a lovely wine and cheese platter for us to all get to know each other if we wanted. The only thing that could possibly be a downside (we didn't think so) was that all the rooms are next to each other in the same wing of the house. We did feel like we needed to be a little quiet even though I am sure that was just in our heads. We would absolutely stay here again, and recommend it to all our friends and family staying in the area.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I won't claim to any expert, but I know when someone seems genuinely pleased to have you as a guest. I mean guest as in they'd like you to enjoy your stay. I mean guest in the most welcoming sense. While the accommodations were comfortable and arranged with great care and the breakfast was sensational, it was the attentive and welcoming spirit that made out stay one we will remember for a long time. Put it this way, if Liz and Carol ran a B&B in Pacoima, it would probably be worth a visit to spend a few days with them.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

As a native of San Diego, I was looking for a quaint and cozy weekend near the beach and away from the big hotels. We got that and much, much more! Liz made my husband and I feel at home with incredible breakfasts every morning and a glass of wine at sunset on the deck. Terrific accommodations and we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kate Stanton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kate Stanton Inn

Address: 1904 Leucadia Scenic Court, Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kate Stanton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kate Stanton Inn to your Saves list