We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"sleepable" but not recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Surf Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Encinitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pacific Surf Inn
Save Saved
You added Pacific Surf Inn to your Saves list
1076 N Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Encinitas B&B and Inns
World
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“"sleepable" but not recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Late night couldn't get into the bathroom because the door wouldn't open.
The place is noisy - smelly - and the manager lied to me saying this is our last room -- only to see another person get another "last room" after me!

I've seen worse motels -- this one is "sleepable" once you fall sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idyllwild
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed numerous times over a number of years at Pacific Surf Inn. The facility caters to working class carnival operators and racetrack employees who are generally pretty quiet clients. The rooms are reasonably clean if not up to antiseptic spic and span. Over the years they have replaced and upgraded the amenities, redoing floors, new beds, TV's, etc. The beauty is that we are surfers and they don't mind the sand and dripping wet suits or that we rinse equipment at the garden tap. The kitchen facilities including full size refrigerator and stove mean we can cook our own meals (think camping: bring utensils and pots). Know that English is not the first language of any of the staff and it will be challenging to communicate: think trip to foreign country for a few minutes! It is easy walking to several beaches, restaurants, "Just Peachy" fruit stand, and several donut shops and bakeries. So, if you're not into camping outside, but want to stay at the beach without spending huge amounts on the room, this works.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This motel is by far the worst I have ever been to. It is filthy beyond belief (see pictures) and the owners, who live on the property, are shameless and have NO CLASS... I'll spare you the story of what happened during our 3 hour stay. I don't want to relive it. Some examples though, just so you have an idea, broken refrigerator, small black curly (hmmm...) hairs on the pillow, thick dust, cockroaches, - now for the good stuff - hypodermic needles (2), one behind the mirror and another in a drawer, what looked like blood droplets around the bathroom sink and torn up adult (porn) magazines under the bathroom sink - many, many pages torn from magazines and all the little goodies that go with such a act... I'll save you some of the more foul details. The point I'd really like to make is that no matter how filthy the room it couldn't compare with the owners attitudes. These people have a ugly personality. They are inconsiderate and rude. When we showed them the room they started verbally attacking us (we have every second of it on video) - They wouldn't even consider returning our measly $60 and we were threatened until we left the property.... By the way look at the One good review... That person knows way too much about the owners and their lives. And the pictures are too perfect. It's BS.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The woman at the front desk had a very hard time comprehending English and would get frustrated raising her voise at ME even though she was the one who had broken English and could not understand what I was asking...her name was Lisa. Upon requesting to speak to a manager or owner was told trhat they are on vacation for a month and you can only complain to this guy Bobby. When starting to talk to him...he did the same. When I asked for who the managers name was (or owner) was told it did not matter, you can talk to me. No matter how politely I simply asked, I would like to complain to them, he refused to give me ANY information. I'm a 49 year old Southern California Native and managed restaurants for years at places like Chilis' and Crocodile Cafe in Pasadena, I've seen some cruel and unusually rude people but these two are unreal.

When you are able to hide phone numbers and owners names to prevent from getting complaints, I'd say you are pretty experienved at not caring about the level of service you provide. I would avoid this place and even go to another town (which I did) as I'd rather pay double than be treated the way these people treaetd us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

My wife wanted EconoLodge but I wanted a non chain place. MISTAKE! The bed was comfy. And the nice Chinese lady at the desk was cheerful and her little dog, Tutu was very cute. And that's it for the good points. Our room, we were told, had just been cleaned by the maid. I want her job since she gets paid to do nothing. Moldy bathroom, a matchbook (from a bail bondsman) on the floor of our no smoking room, layers of dirt, broken appliances, light fixture held up with masking tape and a zip tie, cigarette burns all around, exposed wires from the walls, half of the closet door was missing (I found it on top of the kitchen cabinet along with a 1977 Savoy Brown album and the detached and dead smoke detector), a comically decrepit stove, missing window glass, gaping termite holes in the tiny lanai that overlooked the neighbor's empty toilet bowl collection 5 feet away, an interior door that had obviously been blasted by a punch...I'll stop now but you get the picture. I took a video tour of the ghetto dump for future laughs. On the other hand a chain hotel will be a forgettable experience. We will never forget this trash heap.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Surf Inn

Address: 1076 N Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Encinitas
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Surf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.