We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlight Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Encinitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonlight Beach Motel
Save
You added Moonlight Beach Motel to your Saves list
233 2nd Street, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Nelson
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Away from the noise of Hwy 101, and far from the horrendous noise of I-5. Short walk to the beach, which goes on for miles. Friendly service. Large clean well-maintained rooms. We had a 2-bed, but saw a 1-bed room with a separate bedroom and nice sitting area. Ours had no room for comfortable couch or chairs, but did have a small table for eating. Good view (but only from some rooms), and we slept with the balcony door open to the sound of waves breaking, and frogs peeping in the nearby pond. Nice!

Three or four people in the two beds would have been crowded when eating, but not a problem if weather allows balcony use.

Room Tip: Ask about view, and if you only need 1 bed maybe you get more comfortable seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
CarPilot,

Thanks for your review of The Moonlight Beach Motel.
It sounds like you had one of the two bed suites on the third floor. Yes because everyone seemed to hate the old pull out couches the motel used to have, we put a queen size bed in that area for better sleeping, but it does cramp that area. There are 6 one bed suites on different floors that, like you saw, do have that same area with nice couches.

This is why we only book reservations directly on the phone and use no online booking sites. We are a small, older beach motel with only 24 rooms, so we try our best to give each guest the best room for their needs.

The crashing waves and frogs are much better than counting sheep :^)

cheers, geo & deb ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    46
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
59
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Located on a hillside with fab views of the majestic Pacific Ocean! Ask for a room on the south end of the motel, ideally 2nd or 3rd floor. George was very accommodating in helping us select a room when I called for a reservation. Beautiful sunset view was equally beautiful at sunrise. If you surf, this is the place to go - one of the best surf breaks on the west coast, I am told. Would be a fun place to stay for a week, or just a few nights for a quick getaway. Lots of good dining options in walking or short drive range. Trivia: Who remembers the Eagles' "Hotel California"? THE original Hotel California, where the Eagles hung out, is a private residence, just a few blocks north of the Moonlight Beach Motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on South end, 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Skiwhenucan,
Thanks for taking the time and your nice review ...
You get what The Moonlight Beach Motel and the town of Encinitas is all about.

But, I have never heard the "Trivia" about "The Hotel California ever being in Encinitas, and I thought I had heard all the local folklore's about Encinitas ?
I would love to know what you know that I don't know ...

We look forward to your return visit ...

cheers geo & deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My sister and I were in Encinitas to visit her daughter and needed a place to stay for a few days. Her daughter suggested the Moonlight Beach Motel as it was very close to her apartment. I am so happy she suggested this place. The room was exceptionally clean. The bed was the most comfortable mattress I have slept on in a Hotel/Motel in many years!! My sister and I both commented on that fact many times. We had a beautiful view of the beach. Both sunrise and sunsets were picture perfect and getting to enjoy them on the balcony was such a pleasant part of the day.
You have to meet George...he runs the whole facility AND VERY WELL!!
He is pleasant, kind, caring and makes sure your stay is an enjoyable one. I never had the pleasure of meeting his wife Deb although I am sure she would make sure all customer needs were met as well.
I will going back to see George & Deb everytime my sister and I have the opportunity to visit Encinitas again.
Thank you Moonlight Beach Motel for making our sister weekend so spectacular!!
Sharon Cooper
Huntington Beach, CA
Sandee Boyd
Henderson, NV

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
SSCooper

WOW, thanks for the kind words ! I didn't realize you were sisters, I thought they were shooting another movie sequel of "Thelma and Louise". It's guests like you that make The Moonlight Beach Motel what it is today and fun for Deb and I.

I have to take this opportunity to say "Thank You" ! As you realized this is a non smoking property in the rooms, balconies - front and back, and walk ways in consideration of other guests. So often some guests don't understand this policy. You guys, even though it was a bit cold during your stay were so polite and smoked on the open air patio area and never questioned our policy. We want all our guests to be happy ! The smoking and quiet hours policy (9:00 pm to 9:00 am) are what our guests expect when they stay at the Moonlight Beach Motel.

We look forward to your return often !

cheers geo & deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honor,MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Moonlight Beach Motel is a little gem with views of the beach two blocks away. Debra & George treated us like family. When I broke my knee they transferred us to a handicap-equipped room. They made sure we had everything we needed. This was our second stay there, and other family members have stayed there in the past. The place is very clean, tastefully furnished, and quiet. Rates are very reasonable, too. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the South end have the best views (2nd & 3rd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Susan G,

So glad you made it home safe and sound, we know it was not an easy journey. We miss you, "D" and the bacon :^)

Stay warm, get well and come back soon ...

Thanks for the kind words and taking the time to review the Moonlight Beach Motel on TripAdvisor ...

cheers, geo & deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Arrived late after a delay in our flight over from London..but George was waiting up for us even on a Sunday evening..!!

Rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable and the rates very reasonable..small kitchen area should you need it..and plenty of fresh towels in the bathroom always welcome.

Plenty of great recommendations from George and Debbie as to where to shop and eat..hopefully see you again next year.

Room Tip: get a sea view or glimpse of it from a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
markandgina,

Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Although the office is only open from 9:00 am to 9:00 pm we always make arrangements for late arrivals especially for international guests knowing delays are always possible.

We look forward to your return ... cheers geo & deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A bit hard to find as it on a hill and a steep little incline.
We drove right by it the first time.
I stayed in early December and found the $95.00 rate reasonable.
The view from the room was great and the layout was good
The continental breakfast (packaged muffins and pastry) did not start til 9AM
If I needed I could have booked a week or so stay as the room was an efficiency unit.

Room Tip: Book a room with a ocean view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
hotimeray,

“Out of the way place”, yes, we are a bit off the beaten path being west of the "Coast 101 hwy" and the streets change names that near to the beach so it can be confusing. I hope you are able to return for a week on your next trip and enjoy the benefits of the "efficiency" type rooms.

Deb & I have long 12 hr + days, and as much as we would like to offer earlier access to the coffee and packaged treats, we just can't change that. We do provide coffee pots upon request, but for short one night stays most guests seem to like walking down to "A" street to the "Lofty Bean" coffee shop if they rise before 9:00 AM. We will set you up the night before next time so you don't have to wait ...

cheers, geo & deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second stay here. The first was about 10 years ago on a trip down the coast and it was our favorite place then so we decided to book again this August when we were going to be in L.A for a wedding. It did not disappoint. It was exactly the same...comfortable, friendly and relaxing. George and Deborah were welcoming and helpful. We really enjoyed chatting with them.
The town is great, still kind of laid-back, not pretentious, full of good restaurants and funky shops.
Fabulous beach and the motel is so close to it. It was great having the kitchenette to prepare breakfast in. Will certainly return next time we're down that way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Kate G

I hope it's not another 10 years before we see you again
" It was exactly the same...comfortable, friendly and relaxing."
Yes, as deb and I have always said,
"Some things were just not meant to be changed"
And I can't describe Encinitas any better than you ...
"kind of laid-back, not pretentious, full of good restaurants and funky shops"

cheers, geo & deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonlight Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Beach Motel

Address: 233 2nd Street, Encinitas, CA 92024
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Encinitas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Beach Motel, located two blocks from Moonlight Beach in scenic Encinitas, California, is one of the few true "beach motels" left in Southern California … Referred to as the "American Rivera”, Encinitas has the charm of the past but all the amenities today’s travelers are looking for. There are so many wonderful restaurants, Whole Foods Market and boutiques within walking distance of the motel that you may want to leave your car behind … Locals refer more family and friends to this motel than any other hotel or motel in Encinitas. Its quaint 1970’s charm brings guests back year after year. Some things were just not meant to be changed … All of the rooms have kitchenettes. Whether a romantic getaway, a quiet retreat, or family vacation, make reservations early, we book rooms three months in advance, so you get a room that is best suited for your needs. We try and honor all requests for certain rooms and floors when making reservations, but we cannot guarantee ANY room or number. We will do the best to accommodate your requests … This is a “NO PETS” and "NON SMOKING PROPERTY" In all of the Rooms - Front & Back balconies, walk ways and the patio barbeque area … The office and patio barbeque area closes at 9:00 pm … Quiet hours are from 9:00 pm to 9:00 am in consideration of all the guests … We have the “Good Neighbor Hotel Policy” and do not allow gatherings or parties in the Motel after 9:00 pm. If we receive noise complaints you could be asked to leave and responsible for the room charges of neighboring guest. We look forward to you experiencing The Moonlight Beach Motel, in Encinitas California. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Moonlight Beach Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlight Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.