We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, you cant get closer to the ocean ;-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlight Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Encinitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonlight Beach Motel
Save
You added Moonlight Beach Motel to your Saves list
233 2nd Street, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Copenhagen
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, you cant get closer to the ocean ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I had a GREAT stay at The Moonlight Beach Motel!! Its a very cosy place in a great location and the managers Debra and George are extremely nice. I was surprised to see how big the rooms were - the size of a 2 room apartment with fully equipped kitchen, a big balcony with a fantastic ocean view, nice bathrooms and a big bedroom. Everything you need is there (including wireless internet and tv), its clean and everyone in the staff are friendly. On top of that you have a cosy bbq area just outside the window and coffee and muffins in the morning are included in the rate.
Locationwise it couldnt be better! In just 2 minutes you are on the moonlight beach or on the coast highway 101 where you find lots of small and cosy shops, cafes and restaurants. The neighbourhood is so charming, with its small streets and beautyful creatively build houses. If you like surfing, this is the place. The Lofty Bean is just around the corner where you can get a 2$ cup of organic coffee, and very close is also the wholefoods market that offers very good food.
I stayed at the moonlight beach motel for 8 days - 6 of them alone, and I was as a woman not uncomfortable walking the streets alone after dark in this neighbourhood, its a friendly place.

I highly recommend this place, its a very, very good motel, the rates are better than other hotels/motels in this area and you dont want to miss having your own balcony with a pacific ocean view.

Room Tip: 2nd andf 3rd floor has the balcony with oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Laerke N,
Thanks so much for finding us in your journey and sharing your wonderful energy as you dashed off each day to another local Encinitas adventure. You did the game "room dance" of changing rooms and staying extra days like a MBM pro ... another great international traveler ...

I hope you are able to return before you return to Copenhagen.

cheers ...

geo & deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    46
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
59
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

Room have no security chains. George the manager made sexually suggestive comments to me.  When I rebuffed him he became angry and screamed at me to get out of the room.  He even offered not to charge me.  The rooms have no security chains so I blocked the door with a chair.  

I specifically asked for NO MAID SERVICE and posted the DO NOT DISTURB sign outside my door.  I was gone from the room for an hour.  When I returned it was obvious someone had been in my room.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
FOR THE Forth TIME !!! I state …
Please be advised that this review was posted on different sites, now four different times, FLAGGED and taken down but under a different names. I have been in touch with TripAdvisor and FLAGGED this review also and told them the truth about the situation and the kind of person we were dealing with. Please read all the true and honest reviews on this site and others that so many travelers have posted about the motel, and you can make your own decisions. We pride our self on our reputation.

This situation was in no way as it was described by the guest in her so called review. I know these kind of issues are going to the supreme court for such problems with postings like this.

I hope this clears up any questions as to the truth of this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed our kids and I for spring break and really had tons of FUN! listen this place is super comfy, wonderful staff, great area for bbq with OCEAN view and very nice 3 minute stroll from the room. there is a coffee shop around the corner the LOFTY BEAN that makes the best lattes and banana nut bread. Very nice, the location has good place to eat. The drive around if you need to run any where is all close and shopping is good. This is the place if you come to Encinitas you stay at the "Moonlight Beach Motel"!

We will be back here again! my children were comfortable here the beds were amazingly comfy and listen if your looking for a great price and great kind service? this is the place for you or for you and the family together!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
chrysH,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Moonlight Beach Motel on TripAdvisor. It's always nice to hear what first time guests have to say about the motel ... I must give you 5 stars for being such a wonderful mom and your children were so polite and wonderful to have as guests ...

"definition of polite - 1. showing good manners toward others, as in behavior, speech, etc. 2. refined or cultured:"

We look forward to your return visit ... cheers geo & deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Fl
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

With two friends, I stayed for six nights at the Moonlight Beach Motel. It is a great location for visiting the San Diego area. George and Deb were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure our needs were met--there was some confusion in the beginning which they jumped to put right. We enjoyed beach walks and sunsets and the convince of being able to walk to the downtown area with its funky shops and very good food. While it is true the rooms are a bit dated, they are clean, with plenty of space to spread out.

I would stay there again and recommend the accommodation to friends.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Ocean ask for the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, great location, great town, rooms are dated, but very clean, new managers are friendly and helpful, our only complaint is they do not offer a discount for long term stays, which seems strange as there was a lot of lower floor rooms empty, it would make sense to give long term rates for non view rooms at least.

Some construction going on but managers were very upfront about it

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have a view, but will cost you $15 a night more, we spent all day on the beach, so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Wow, we just spent a fabulous weekend at the Moonlight Beach Motel relaxing with friends we had not seen in a long time! Our rooms were right off the patio, which provided a great view and a cozy spot to gather and catch up. The views were beautiful especially the sunsets, and George was the best host ever - super friendly and accommodating - he made us feel like we were the only people there. We will definitely return and recommend the place to family and friends.
Penny & Tony

Room Tip: While the second and third floors afford a really great view, the lower rooms near the patio also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Penny C

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. It gives me the opportunity to agree with you that the first floor rooms still have the charm and are good when you have two or three rooms with families and friends to all use the patio area. Yes 101 - 105 are behind the office, but they are still good rooms with access to the patio and garden area. "he made us feel like we were the only people there" Thanks for that, yes it was the weekend and there is a bit extra time in the day, but I want to thank all our guests that have had to put up with some yearly maintenance that we have been doing during the week the last two weeks.

cheers ... deb and geo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas Nevada USA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Never before have I been so pleased with a place that I have taken the time to write a review. The warm friendly greeting upon arrival from George and Deb was like getting together with old friends. Our spacious third floor room was a home away from home with it's cozy kitchen and separate bath. The sunsets from the balcony (with a glass of wine) were unparalleled. The location and the price for all of this??? Surprisingly affordable! If you are ever in Encinitas or the San Diego area we highly recommend the Moonlight Beach Motel. You will not be disappointed. We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightBeachMotel, Manager at Moonlight Beach Motel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Theunstopables, Thank you for taking the time to review the Moonlight Brach Motel on Trip Advisor. I was surprised to see you have been traveling with TA since 2004 and visited 37 cities and we were your first review ... Thank You ! Were glad your visit was a good one, and we look forward to your return ! Yes, it seems like a lot of our guests are like "getting together with old friends" and we have met so many wonderful people and made many new friends in our short time as managers. This is what the MBM has always been about in it's 36 years and we are just happy to carry on the tradition that has made it so popular.

cheers, deb & geo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonlight Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Beach Motel

Address: 233 2nd Street, Encinitas, CA 92024
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Beach Motel, located two blocks from Moonlight Beach in scenic Encinitas, California, is one of the few true "beach motels" left in Southern California … Referred to as the "American Rivera”, Encinitas has the charm of the past but all the amenities today’s travelers are looking for. There are so many wonderful restaurants, Whole Foods Market and boutiques within walking distance of the motel that you may want to leave your car behind … Locals refer more family and friends to this motel than any other hotel or motel in Encinitas. Its quaint 1970’s charm brings guests back year after year. Some things were just not meant to be changed … All of the rooms have kitchenettes. Whether a romantic getaway, a quiet retreat, or family vacation, make reservations early, we book rooms three months in advance, so you get a room that is best suited for your needs. We try and honor all requests for certain rooms and floors when making reservations, but we cannot guarantee ANY room or number. We will do the best to accommodate your requests … This is a “NO PETS” and "NON SMOKING PROPERTY" In all of the Rooms - Front & Back balconies, walk ways and the patio barbeque area … The office and patio barbeque area closes at 9:00 pm … Quiet hours are from 9:00 pm to 9:00 am in consideration of all the guests … We have the “Good Neighbor Hotel Policy” and do not allow gatherings or parties in the Motel after 9:00 pm. If we receive noise complaints you could be asked to leave and responsible for the room charges of neighboring guest. We look forward to you experiencing The Moonlight Beach Motel, in Encinitas California. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Moonlight Beach Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlight Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.