We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty sushi! - best restaurant on this trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar

Mikuni Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar
8525 Bond Rd, Unit A, Elk Grove, CA 95624
(916) 714-2112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 230 Restaurants in Elk Grove
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Hell, Michigan
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
487 helpful votes 487 helpful votes
“tasty sushi! - best restaurant on this trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Surprisingly very busy on a Thursday evening close to 8 PM but we were seated in less than 5 minutes. Our server was quick and efficient with our drink orders and I must say that the green tea was excellent. Not sure what tea they used but the flavor was better than other green tea I’ve had at other restaurants. Our sushi was good and the presentation on the plates was excellent. The flavor was fresh and overall we were very pleased.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Noisy and Uncomfortable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The food at Mikuni is fairly good, between a three and four. However, my friend and my have been pushed into the front half of the restaurant around the cooking portion, with the back not opened until the front is closer to full. When people come in, the cooks yell and bang pots and pans for a while. The overall effect of noise is that it is almost impossible for two people to chat. We have seen attendance low since the Elk Grove version opened, and don't understand why it continues to survive. Some people must live noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My dining experience was wonderful. We sat at the bar for lunch. The food was very fresh and that makes all the difference to me. I live in Lodi, so that's a 20 minute drive to Elk Grove, which is nothing considering I drive to Napa and San Francisco to find restaurants that serve fresh ingredients. Poor little Lodi desperately needs a restaurant that interest this foodie. Mikunis has two thumbs up from me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great splurge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Can't get better sushi or presentation, but bring your wallet and your paycheck. Their presentations are un-rivaled, and the food is always fresh especially important if you are eating raw.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“voted 1 of the best in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Easy of the freeway, highway 99 in Marketplace shopping center. Service is fast friendly and the servers know about the food they are selling. Place is very large and is always busy, if you dont want to wait they have takeout as well. there is a huge selection of fresh fish and so many rolls there is sure to be something for everyone to like, plenty of cooked dishes for non sushi fans as well. Grap the customer loyalty card and get emails on events.. they always have something going on, ie big screen tv's will show the superbowl on 2/3 + great food = fun way to watch the game....bottom line if you love sushi this place is a must on your eating out list

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikuni Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mikuni Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikuni Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.