We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple charm with an incredible view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Griffin House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Griffin House Inn
Save
You added The Griffin House Inn to your Saves list
5910 South Highway One, PO Box 190, Elk, CA 95432   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Elk B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simple charm with an incredible view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I was given a night stay to this charming spot for a Christmas gift. My fiance and I were on a northern california road trip and we made this one of our stops. It was such a special trip especially because of our stay at Griffin House. It was winter time on the Mendocino coast and a cold storm came in just as we were arriving. It was a lot of fun, we had the fire going and we stayed bundled up and cozy watching the waves crash against the jagged rocks below. The rooms are small, but perfect for a one or two night couples stay. The area is so beautiful. Breakfast brought to our doorstep the next morning was great. We sat out on the deck and the storm had passed. We were bathed in sunlight as we drank our coffee overlooking the rocky coast. I highly recommend this spot for the view alone.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a deck overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Griffin house in Elk California 3 times and each time totally enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The cottages are on the water they are quaint, clean and very comfortable. There is a pot belly stove stocked with wood to keep you warm on a cold night. About 9AM the staff will knock on your door and leave a tray of tasty coffee and 30 minutes later they will show up with a delicious breakfast. This is the place you need to go when all you want to do is relax and enjoy the beautiful ocean views and tranqulity. The restaraunt at the Griffin house is very nice with a great menu. Be sure to have breakfast or lunch at Queenies Roadhouse which is a short walk away.. Drive about 15 miles north to Mendocino and enjoy a stroll through town. 15 miles south is Point Arena which has an awesome lughthouse to tour and a restored 1930's theater that shows movies.

Room Tip: Ask for the Greenwood or Donahue cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed in the LiFoo cottage at Griffin House Inn last weekend after visiting Ft. Bragg's Sea Glass Beach -- a must! We were checked in at the inn's pub by a worker who said she was new to the place. She was friendly and did a fine job making us feel welcome and leading us to the cottage nearby.

Inside the cottage, there was a sitting room upon entering and a bedroom and spacious bath. When we opened the door, it was pretty cold inside as they, understandably, must turn off the heat when no one is staying in the cottage. It did warm up nicely though once we turned on the heater, letting it warm up while we had dinner in the pub. The wood fireplace was already built for us and ready to light, too.

The cottage floor seemed tilted as though it had settled unevenly through the years. Normally this isn't so apparent but it was very noticeable particularly in the bedroom. Lots of cracks in the thin walls could use some fill, new blinds that aren't bent would be helpful for privacy, and I wished they'd had heavier curtains on the windows in the bedroom to keep in the warmth overnight considering it is November. I turned on the water in the bathtub and it came out yellow at first, again probably due to no one being in the room in a while. Once it ran clear, the water was never warm enough, so it was a quick bath!

We enjoyed dinner in the pub including fish and chips and one of the pot pies, both of which were scrumptious with our beer. We also loved their stellar bread pudding.

The bed was extremely comfortable with lots of blankets and cozy pillows. There were robes though one was discolored on the outside and may need to be replaced.

The next morning coffee and breakfast were served to our rooms on time with a smile. The breakfast was just right -- french toast with sausage and fresh fruit. The air was so very fresh outside and you could see the ocean in between the other cottages. Beautiful flowers were all around and there was a tiny garden outside our cottage. So very charming.

I think we might stay here again in another cottage sometime, or explore more of the coast elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed here a while ago and I'm still thinking about it! It's very rustic and relaxed, so if you are expecting luxury, you will be disappointed. If you are looking for seclusion, quiet, and a million dollar view, then this is the place. I would suggest paying the extra money for a cabin with a direct ocean view. Overall this place is clean and quaint. The location is wonderfull--it was very fun to build a campfire while enjoying a glass of wine on Greenwood State beach, which is right next to the property. Bring drinks and snacks with you cause this place is far removed from any kind of amenities (convenience stores, etc.) That's the great thing about it! Can't wait to go back someday and listen to the seals barking!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have been going to the Griffin House Inn for more than 20 years, mostly because we love the quiet and beautiful location of Elk. The view from the spacious decks of the three ocean-view cottages at Griffin House is gorgeous, and you can hear the ocean clearly below. The cottages are old (there's a pot-bellied stove for heat), but in good repair and are kept immaculately clean. The new owners seem to be working constantly to upgrade the place, adding a bathtub to Greenwood, the middle cottage, as well as a pocket screen door to the deck. The grounds are lovely and well-tended. One reason we enjoy coming to Griffin House is the full hot breakfast that is delivered to your door in the morning. This trip's breakfasts were the best ever, with something different every day, the most outstanding being on our last day: bacon and scrambled eggs and freshly baked scones and three kinds of muffins along with fresh fruit, orange juice and coffee. We enjoy having dinner at Bridget Dolen's Pub, too, which is just down the driveway. The pizzas are delicious, and reasonably priced. There's no TV or radio, and no cell phone reception in the rooms. There is WiFi, however. Usually all you can hear is the ocean and birds. The staff is warm and helpful, but never intrusive. It's very swell!

Room Tip: There are only three ocean-front rooms, but they are worth the extra expense if you love the view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Our two-night stay in the Matson Cottage was perfect. Beautiful, cozy room. Comfortable bed. Impeccably clean. Full breakfast served on your front steps every moring. But all of that pales in comparison to the real reason you go to the Griffin House: as you walk to the back of the cottage, you face three windows and a glass door to the outside. Through the door is a private deck with two chairs, ottomans and tables. Your own slice of the Pacific Ocean, just beyond Greenwood Cove. Sunset. Waves. Peace. Go now.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an oceanfront cottage. It's the whole point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stopped at the Griffin Inn while traveling along Highway 1, and it proved to be a wonderful place to rest and relax. The staff was really nice, and welcome us with a bottle of wine. When making the reservations, they inquire about our food preferences, etc. The Inn is just a short walk from the top of a cliff next to the ocean, where we enjoyed a fantastic sunset. The room was really cozy, and the morning breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Griffin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin House Inn

Address: 5910 South Highway One, PO Box 190, Elk, CA 95432
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Griffin House Hotel Elk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Griffin House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.