We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Rude Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwood Pier Cafe

Greenwood Pier Cafe
5928 Highway One, P.O. Box 336, Elk, CA 95432
707-877-3400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 restaurants in Elk
Cuisines: Californian
Restaurant details
Oakland, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredibly Rude Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have never been treated so poorly and disrespectfully at a restaurant in my life. I was told that the restaurant had only been open for five days, which leads me to believe that it has undergone new ownership and would explain why the prior reviews are so positive yet our experience was so negative. The older man who served us and I believe is the restaurant's general manager was so rude and condescending that my boyfriend and I left in the middle of the meal. From the moment we sat down he was abrasive and demeaning. Finally, I asked him a question about a beautiful, historic-looking building on the Inn's property and instead of answering, he repeated my question back to me, mocking the way I asked it. At this point we had enough of his elitist, condescending attitude and left before we received our main dish. I have never made a complaint about service or sent food back in my life, let alone left a restaurant during a meal. However, we were in shock by the way we were treated and did not need to pay to be treated like we were idiots.

I should note that the younger server was very kind and accommodating. It is unfortunate that this older man ruined the entire experience with his attitude. After we left we went next door to Bridget Dolan's Pub to finish our meal. We had a great experience and the woman who worked there was wonderful. I would highly recommend going there over the new Greenwood Pier Cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    12
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food - Limited Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Greenwood Pier Cafe was very quaint and located on the main road through Elk. The menu was very limited with only a few selections. The day my wife and I stopped in for an early dinner (around 5:30), the cafe was already out of two menu items and they were also out of lettuce. The items they did have in stock were very well prepared and very tasty. Service we attentive and very friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“okay meal; nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Greenwood Pier Cafe has a scenic location on Highway 1 overlooking the Pacific Ocean, but the food is just average. Much tastier options available at other restaurants closer to Mendocino. My rib eye steak had less flavor than I expect. Essentially a husband-and-wife operation, with the husband cooking the food and the wife working the dining room. "Traveling the world one meal at a time..."

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great views, cool music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was a wonderful way to top off our weekend with a Sunday brunch on the way home. The food was very tasty and well presented. We ate outside and the owners were very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were steered here by the innkeeper at the Sandpiper House Inn (don't stay there). We later found out that the Sandpiper and Greenwood Pier are owned by the same person. We could tell the food was fresh, but it was so bland. The peach crisp we ordered for dessert was a gummy gloppy mess. There was more oatmeal topping than peaches and it clearly wasn't baked long enough.

The menu is very limited: there was one appetizer, two soups, two salads, and five entrees offered. With such a limited menu, everything offered should have been excellent. It wasn't.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwood Pier Cafe also viewed

 
Little River, Mendocino County
 

Been to Greenwood Pier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwood Pier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.