We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, but par for LAX” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge LAX South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge LAX South to your Saves list
Travelodge LAX South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1804 East Sycamore Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in El Segundo
Reedley, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad, but par for LAX”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

The most recent trip was our second or third stay there. The room met minimal standards of cleanliness and functionality. The noise wasn't too bad (a pleasant surprise). The staff was surly and the continental breakfast was a joke. I've stayed in four other hotels in the area (same price range, national brands), and they're even worse and no cheaper. The nice thing about this one is that the neighborhood seems a bit safer than the areas north or east of the airport, and it's easier to get to restaurants in Manhattan Beach, which are a lot more pleasant than Denny's et al.

  • Liked — Location south of the airport
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    98
    127
    86
    85
See reviews for
98
109
84
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

My husband and I agreed that this was probably the worst hotel we'd ever stayed in. I did a 3 month tour in the deep south staying in motels, and none came close to being this bad. I can't believe a corporation would put their name on this place. The lights didn't work, there were no extra pillows or blankets to be had, and the rest was just a run down dump. Breakfast pretty awful. What is imitation pancake syrup, anyway? Will never stay at a Travelodge again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — It was ratty
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

Can't believe I paid $90 for 1 night at this hotel. right off the bat, the night person a the front desk was very rude. I could tell he didn't like his job very much. The room also smelled like mildew and toilet wouldn't stop running so you could hear it all night. It looks like they recently remodeled the place but you can tell they did it as cheaply as possible. When I tried to change rooms the guy at the front desk was once again very rude and told me it was full. You also automatically get charged an extra $5.00 fee for the in-room safe, phone and internet; whether you use it or not! Overall a bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

This is really a 1 star but I didn't rate it 'terrible' because nothing bad happened there and we were there for a 9 hour overnight stopover. It's not a nice motel. Quite awful in fact. The bed was tiny, the decor terrible. There was a dubious substance on the wall next to the bed head (I won't elaborate further on that point). Weirdly though, the room setup wasn't too bad - there was actually a separate sitting area from the bedroom. But you would never, ever stay there other than on an overnight stopover at LAX as it's depressingly awful, but it did us for the night for approximately $50 on Priceline. They did provide pastries in the 'breakfast room' in the morning, plus toast and juice. Also, the shuttle bus had stopped for the night and we didn't have a phone to call on as we were from overseas so we paid $18US to get a cab ($17US from the airport minimum cab fare - and it's practically next door), which was annoying. They did shuttle us back the next morning though. But next time I would book somewhere else- I'm sure there are other better budget ones in the area. That's Priceline for you though - the luck of the draw.

  • Liked — Distance to the airport
  • Disliked — Everything else, pretty much.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

The worst experience with the front desk. Very UNFRIENDLY. I can't believe these people work at the front desk where they are supposed to help and give excellent customer service. Room condition was below expected. Don't waste your money staying in this hotel.
When asked about internet connection, they said they know more about internet that we do. What kind of answer was that?
I was in a last minute to book a hotel and regretted that I did not read customer reviews. READ REVIEWS.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2007

This hotel is absolutely filthy and smells like stale sweat. It's also in a seedy area, which made it a bit scary. Checked in, then checked right back out, once I saw the room.

  • Liked — proximity to LAX
  • Disliked — filthy rooms and lobby; rude staff
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

Upon arrival at LAX Travelodge South I attempted to check in to my reserved room with Hotwire. I traveled with a good male friend who was a deacon in my church I pastored. I couldn't believe that when I entered the number two in my reservation on Hotwire that it only entitled me to only ONE bed! When I protested, the hotel manager on duty got angry and loud. I called Hotwire cust. service and they were NO help at all! Never, NEVER do business with Hotwire as they do not reveal the name of the motel before purchase is made so you cannot check the reviews of the motel. I ended up driving to Target late at night to get an air mattress to sleep on the floor FOR AN entire WEEK!. NEVER, Never book more than one night until you check out the room, you can always book the remainder after you've checked out the motel. When I walked up the decrepid stairs and walked the wornout hallway I was again surprised at the SMALLNESS of the room. There was barely any room to lay my tiny twin air mattress on the floor!! To make a long story short the small refrigerator didn't work, there were silverfish on the floor, there was banging going on all hours of the night with the other doors slamming...it was like a prison cell for the five nights I stayed. I know I should have not been so frugal and trusted Hotwire to ensure my good room, yet they had rated it two stars and I thought I would be getting a nicer motel chain. Travelodge attempted to charge me 5.00 per night to park my car even though I parked across the street at the vacant Bank of America parking lot! You live and learn, I learned the hard way, for five nights...you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge LAX South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge LAX South

Address: 1804 East Sycamore Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge LAX South 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge LAX South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lax South Hotel El Segundo
Lax South Travelodge
Travelodge El Segundo
El Segundo Travel Lodge
El Segundo Travelodge
Travel Lodge El Segundo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge LAX South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.