We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value near LAX” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1985 East Grand Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245-5015   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Honors Points
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in El Segundo
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good value near LAX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here one night before going to Europe. It's a little hard to find but the front desk was pleasant and the room was fine if a bit dated. They have park and fly packages that are very reasonable. When we arrived, it took the usual 25 minutes to connect with the shuttle to the hotel but once there we were on way home quickly. I usually dread going anywhere out of LAX but this place made it a little easier. I'll be back.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany_Andrade, Director of Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Triciammh,

Thank you so much for choosing us before traveling to Europe! We are so glad that you had a good experience with us. We will be sure to let the front desk know how pleasant they were. We appreciate your feedback regarding our rooms. We will be undergoing great changes in the next few months as we commence our renovation plans. We are so excited to make ourselves look 'new' again. Until then, you can always expect the BEST service in the LAX area, hands down.

Thanks again, we appreciate you!

Tiffany Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    296
    139
    74
    42
See reviews for
162
180
83
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

In reading the other reviews, the reader is likely to get confused. Is this a good place to stay near LAX or not? Well, it IS good, it you understand what you're getting and what you're not. What you're getting: superb value (MUCH better park and fly rates than the Century Blvd hotels), good property (well maintained, but older), good location (near LAX but not in heavily taxed LA proper), good staff (cookie when you arrive, happy to help, but harried and a bit understaffed - I waited a long time to leave a wake up call). What you're not getting: a luxury experience (this is not the Marriott, it's an older property and you'll have a 1-7 flight walk of stairs to retrieve your car depending on if you take the elevator on the opposite side of the parking structure located on the opposite side of the street from the hotel). I would not recommend this hotel for romance or business. There are no restaurants, nor views, nearby. But for families who need park and fly on vacation, or solo travelers on a budge, it's perfect. 3.5 stars/good (a category Trip Advisor doesn't have).

Room Tip: This is a quiet business part of town (the hotel shares the parking structure with Mattel). All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany_Andrade, Director of Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear tmgarrett,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate knowing where we need improvement and where we are excelling. We foresee great changes in the near future as we enter our renovation phase in a few months. We are so excited to share our 'new look' soon enough! Until then, you can always expect kind, genuine hospitality from our staff, to ensure a consistent and pleasant experience.

Thanks again!

Tiffany Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a recent family trip to LA. While we were upgraded to a "suite", the second room did not have a working AC unit (it just blew room temp air) or a TV (there was a table with connections for one, but no TV). Pros: Inexpensive Centrally located to many areas in LA and LAX Free parking Outside of city in quieter neighborhood Friendly hotel staff Cookies! Cons: Room smelled mildewy and old Second room did not have a TV or working AC unit Restaurant staff ignored us (except for bill), we had to stop them to order. Not sure why our table received this service, but it was consistent. Thin walls; very noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany_Andrade, Director of Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Shawn M.,

We are terribly sorry for your recent experience with us! We can assure you that the sub-par level of service that you received in our restaurant is not typical. We greatly apologize for the issues you experienced with our Air Conditioner and Television. I will see to it that I get to the bottom of the service issue so that we may correct it for the future.

We will be undergoing renovations later this year. We are extremely excited to share our 'new look' in the near future! We would love the chance to make it right and turn your experience around. Please contact me, should your travels bring you to the area, so that I may deliver the service that you deserve.

We truly value you and hope to regain your faith in the near future.

Hospitably yours,

Tiffany Andrade
TAndrade@DoubleTreeLAX.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We always start our California vacations in El Segundo and we always try to stay here. Is conveniently close to the airport, in a quiet business like neighborhood. However, is very close to El Segundo, with is beautiful beach. We love to stroll down the beach and downtown El Segundo because the town has a unique atmosphere and the beach is quiet and beautiful. The staff at the hotel has always been extremely friendly with us, even though they seem to be more like a business minded hotel they are very friendly with kids (and teenagers), The staff are the best, genuinely friendly and helpful. The pool is nice, and the gym is ok too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany_Andrade, Director of Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear claudiast,

Thank you for always choosing us whenever you're in the El Segundo area! We greatly value our loyal members and will do all that we can to continue providing consistently friendly and genuine services!

We will be relocating our gym and improving our pool facility during our upcoming renovation this year! We will be better than ever!

We look forward to your next stay! Thanks again!

Tiffany Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el segundo, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel (and last) and the management has let the service and quality diminish greatly. The staff was very slow to respond to any requests and, when questioned for assistance, had very poor attitudes. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany_Andrade, Director of Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Deanna,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area you’ll reconsider and visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Tiffany Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was really impressed by this hotel. The service was excellent and the staff were super friendly and efficient. We loved the chocolate cookies that they welcomed us with at the front desk. The room was spacious and the sheets were clean. Best value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany_Andrade, Director of Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Esther M.,

We are so glad that you had an amazing time at our hotel. We greatly appreciate the 5-star rating in acknowledgment of our great services. You can always expect a memorable experience as we strive to deliver the value that you deserve!

We truly hope to have the pleasure of your next stay very soon, so that we can 'wow' you once again!

Best wishes,

Tiffay Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel property was nice and accessible with ample free parking either onsite or overflow to the adjacent parking building shared with Mattel. The room was very clean and pleasant. Front desk staff were very courteous and friendly. Hotel cleaning and restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. In addition the cookies were warm and excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany_Andrade, Director of Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Carlos G.,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our entire staff takes pride in delivering outstanding services to all of our guests whether they are in housekeeping, front desk or restaurant. We will go out of our way to make your stay memorable.

We appreciate the time you took to write us a review and even more for choosing us!

Thanks again,

Tiffany Andrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo

Address: 1985 East Grand Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel El Segundo
Doubletree El Segundo
El Segundo Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel LAX - El Segundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.