We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Visit to L.A.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Imperial Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, & Go Offer
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in El Segundo
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Last Visit to L.A.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for four days. It's close to LAX and convenient to get to and leave from LAX. Rooms nice and plenty of parking. Food in the restaurant not so good, however there are numerous places of all types to eat within a mile of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the runway at LAX.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am glad your four days with us were enjoyable. We recently finished our renovations and are excited to show off our brand new suites. Your room tip for a room away from LAX is great for those who are sensitive to the noise. Those facing the airport are great for the plane spotters and those wanting a great view of the area.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    214
    109
    52
    22
See reviews for
226
94
52
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I spent one night here in February 2013, and thought this was an excellent hotel. I enjoyed the benefits of being in an Embassy Suites: a great manager's reception and a good breakfast with made-to-order omlettes. For dinner, I had a half-priced appetizer in the bar, which was very good.

I will say that I was exhausted from 4 rough days on the road for business when I checked into the hotel. I was too tired to go out for dinner elsewhere, and went to sleep very early. There was noticible noise from the airport and the freeway in my north facing room which would bother some people, so unless you are a good sleeper like me (or exhausted like I was) - you may want to request a south facing room. Other than that, I thought this was an excellent hotel!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. The cooked-to-order breakfast and the manager’s reception are great benefits of the Embassy Suites brand and our team members in those areas are stars. The 1440 Bistro is also a great addition to our El Segundo location and a great way to avoid having to go out into traffic for dinner.

Again thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel has a layout that you can stay here for days like I did and never see any sunlight, ever. All the guest suites face inward to an enclosed 5 story atrium so there is NO natural daylight there. The back of the guest suites also have no windows, just something that appears to be a piece of translucent glass. Because the guest rooms face inward to the hallways, one invariably leaves the curtains closed unless you want everybody walking in the hallway to see what you're doing. I've never been to a hotel where I didn't have a single window where I could see outside. What architect thought this was a good idea?!? It's like living in a cave.

The other problem is the amount of noise. Because the restaurant and bar is also in the enclosed atrium, the noise reverberates throughout the structure so the guest room is very noisy until the bar closes.

On the upside, the included breakfast was better than average and the shuttle van to the airport made getting to and from LAX easy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experiences. The Embassy Suites brand is known for the internal courtyard layout with the garden and water features. While the enclosed layout can trap some of the noise it is much safer for those traveling alone or with children.

With the hotel being located in a residential area we are required to block out the windows for the privacy of not only the homeowners but also of the guests. When making your reservations please be sure to ask for a suite on the north, east or west side as only our south facing rooms have the privacy windows.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Impressive lobby that gave you the sense that you weren't in a hotel. Very helpful staff. Large clean rooms. Check in and out process was simple and fast. Breakfast bar wasn't as good as I thought it would be. They did have an option to order a special. The Bar was very open and comfortable. Food was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I know you have a lot of options in the area and with the newly renovated suites I am confident we will be your number one choice. The breakfast department is currently trying some new items in hopes of improving the overall experience. I hope you will let us know what you think on your next visit in.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Despite the noise from LAX and renovation of the hotel, we managed to have a quite pleasant stay here. The ladies at the evening manager's reception definitely made our stay much pleasant. We stayed twice here, last year in November 2012 and this time in February 2013. We got the newly renovated room, and it was definitely much nicer decor inside. Parking was quite on the expensive side at $25/night, but we booked a parking deal which only increased our nightly rate by $10 but including the parking. If you are booking directly on Embassy Suites website, click on more rates to find this deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent visit with us. I am excited to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that Maria and Nijola in our reception were able to make a great impression. You make a great point as the Parking Perks rate is a great value if you are parking a car. Check out our website as there are always great packages available.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This Embassy Suite is an open attrium hotel with all rooms facing out to open space. Each suite has a glass wall with door. An event was scheduled here on a week night with loud music and loud people until 12:00 am. The whole place shook and reverberated. I am left with the impression that the hotel cares more about the money for the event than for the comfort of its guests. When I called to complain they apologized but the event did not end .
The location is good and the breakfast is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for providing some feedback on your recent visit with us. I am sorry that the noise levels from the event kept you from fully enjoying your stay. We will use feedback such as this for additional training to ensure our overnight guests are not disrupted by our events. I hope you think of us the next time you are in the area so we can show you that we are a quality hotel and that we care about the comfort of our guests.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I had an early flight and this hotel was close to the airport. I liked the Spanish architecture. Free breakfast starts at 7 so if you have an early flight you are out of luck. The room is a suite with plenty of space.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I am so glad that you chose our hotel for your quick layover in Los Angeles. Our shuttle service between LAX and the hotel makes it convenient for travelers just looking to catch a few hours of sleep as well as those here for extended stays.

We'll see you next time!

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites El Segundo
El Segundo Embassy Suites
Address: 1440 Imperial Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in El Segundo
#6 Family Hotel in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.