We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay; no major problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 East Imperial Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in El Segundo
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay; no major problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overall, a comfortable week at this hotel. Here on business. Here's a brief list of "highs" and "lows":

HIGHS
- Location: close to airport and good restaurants in El Segundo.
- Free airport shuttle; even running at 4 am!
- Free hot breakfast, better than most Embassy Suites.
- big hotel, lots of rooms
- Restaurant on site, including a bar.
- Free booze from 5:30 - 7:30 pm (aka Manager's Reception)
- Friendly staff, esp Jesus at the front desk (changed my room upon request)
- Good housekeeping, clean towels/sheets.
- Big Jacuzzi for relaxing sore muscles.
- Minimal airplane noise (my room was on east side of hotel)

LOWS
- High humidity in all rooms, nothing gets dry.
- No free Internet. Cost: $9.95/day
- Frosted windows on south side of hotel; unable to open or peer out.
- $23.00 fee for nightly parking. One of the highest in El Segundo.

I hope this helps you!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, stay on the northern side, or front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay. You point out many of the great aspects of our hotel and I hope on your next visit with us you’ll be able to add the suites to your list of positives. We are ahead of schedule on our renovations project which will be complete within a few days. This was a major undertaking and we are excited to share the finished product with our guests.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    307
    152
    72
    38
See reviews for
322
150
68
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, cleanliness of room and hotel was great, professionalism and friendliness of staff was wonderful.
Was able to conduct informal meetings without interference and staff was very respectful as to our privacy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
It is wonderful to read your comments and I am happy you enjoyed your time with us. We have a wonderful sales team on site that can assist with all your meeting needs. Please contact us if you need a more formal setting on your next trip.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This Embassy Suites is in a great locations realtive to LAX Airport. For a while, it was becoming dated, but recent renovations have done a fabulous job of updating the look and feel in the rooms. There are a few tips for travellers to this hotel though. First off, Parking. there is an underground garage that you need to pay a nightly fee to use. If you are disciplined, you can park on the street in front of the hotel, but be sure you are aware of the street sweeping days since they start writing tickets ($40) right at 8 am. For room choices, be aware that the front of the hotel faces the airport so it might be noisy, but from personal experience, it is not too bad. The back of the hotel is more quiet but the windows in these rooms are frosted over and are also alarmed so you can't open them without the noise. Reason is that the hotel backs to a residential area and the residents don't want to see into the hotel (or have guests looking into their houses either). If you have a preference, put the request in when you book. The restaurant and bar inthis hotel serve reasonably decent food, so there is not an urgent need to go out unless you really want to eat someplace more fancy, or at a cheap fast food place.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Front of hotel faces the airport (windows can be opened, but noisy), back faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. You make some great points about the locations of the rooms and the residential areas around the hotel. Putting in requests is a great way to let us know about your preferences and we will always do our best to meet them. If you have any questions regarding the hotel or room locations be sure to call the hotel directly.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I love the Hilton brand of hotels so was happy to be assigned here for work related travel. when I arrived, the check in process was very quick and the staff pleasant. The hotel was VERY noisy with large groups of kids staying there. the room was outdated and a bit musty smelling though large enough. The best part of my brief stay there was the restaurant--the food was amazing, the wine wonderful and the staff provided excellent service. The morning 'free' breakfast was fine except it was sooooo crowded and noisy that I couldn't enjoy it--the staff didn't seem to be prepared to bus the tables for such a large amount of people. Probably wouldn't stay there again though. Not the best Hilton property, especially for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback and I am sorry that your stay was not memorable. Indeed our breakfast area is popular and the lines can be overwhelming but our team is well trained to handle groups of any size. For the weekend guests we recommend to visit the breakfast area early as the lines seem to form late.

I am excited to see that our 1440 Bistro team was able to exceed your expectations. They work hard to provide a great experience for our guests and I am sure they will be happy to see your compliments.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a really good choice for a family as the room has double beds and a sofa bed so it can sleep 4-6 and the breakfast is wonderful, made to order and fresh. The hotel is recommended on the Los Angeles travel tip sheet on prasadandassociates.com The best thing about this hotel is that it is so close to the airport (get rest immediately after a long flight), it is close to the beaches and it is very close to a wonderful Whole Foods market and some other good places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am excited to see you enjoyed your visit and wanted to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our location is a great for both the quick layover at LAX as well as those wanting to travel around Los Angeles. Glad that you had a good trip and we hope to see you again soon.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochranville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for a business trip at nearby El Segundo facility. Hotel is amazing in appearance, definitely lots of character. BUT beware, it is undergoing a full room renovation and there is construction happening during the day and you can hear the debris being thrown away out back as well as smell the paint. BUT, the hotel, IMHO, has done a nice job at keeping it to a minimum and to segment it around the hotel. They told me of the construction and put my room at the far end on the top floor. Make sure to ask for a newer room. I was on top floor (5th) and construction was then on the 3rd floor. Renovations are really great...comfortable, pleasing decor. Onsite breakfast in the morning is nice but a little slow on the specific omelet ordering...most days, skipped that and hit the buffet. Onsite restaurant was good (ordered via room service) and parking is onsite (expensive at $24 per day but underneath the hotel. You can park on street for free.

Room Tip: Check on construction progress for your stay and ask for newer room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. I am happy to share that our renovations are going very well and are almost complete. We have been excited to hear the response from our guests on the new look and are counting down the days to completion.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked a room as a hotwire deal for the night before my medicine board exam early October 2012. Upon arrival to the hotel I was shocked to learn that there was construction and it was impossible to get a room away from construction noise because construction was "everywhere" at the same time, per check-in staff. Moreover, construction would continue 24hrs a day, so I was told not to expect quiet at night. There was no indication of construction on the hotwire site. Hoping to make the best of the situation, I went into the room, thinking perhaps I could stay in the bedroom and study with headphones on and sleep with earplugs. 5 minutes later, however, loud knocking ensued and nearly shook the room. I got on the phone with Hotwire, and after wasting nearly an hour, was rebooked to the Hilton through another hotwire deal (wouldn't rebook me directly, and insisted I pay the cost difference).
Agree with other reviewers about strange lack of windows and bedroom "glass doors" made of frosted glass and impossible to open. Felt like some sort of prison.

Embassy, you should be paying people to stay in your hotel through your construction, not the other way around. Or just have the dignity to shut down!

Room Tip: Avoid entire hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience and that you were unaware of our renovations. My understanding of the third party sites such as hotwire.com and hotels.com is that they have the same information on their sites as we have on ours. We do our best to forewarn our guests of the renovations on our website so they can make informed decisions about staying with us during this process.

Please know that while the renovation crews are on site from 8AM until 7PM daily, all heavy renovation noise is restricted to 9AM – 6PM. We have found these times to be the best as many of our guests are out of the hotel during the day working or taking in the sites and do not notice the renovation noise. We will continue to work with our guests to ensure they are comfortable during their stays with us and are excited to show off the new look of the suites.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South

Address: 1440 East Imperial Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in El Segundo
#6 Business Hotel in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite LAX Airport Hotel offers 349 newly renovated two-room suites, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, free evening reception*, and free shuttle service to/from Los Angeles International Airport as well as amenities including an indoor pool, fitness center, and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites El Segundo
El Segundo Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.