We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough for a hotel close to LAX” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Imperial Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, & Go Offer
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in El Segundo
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice enough for a hotel close to LAX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

stayed for a sales meeting and this one of the better stays. had an upper floor king room on the south side, so noise wasn't as bad as the other times i've stayed in lower rooms on the north side of the hotel that overlooks the airport. actually very comfortable. however the window was frosted over and you weren't allowed to open it, so that was a bit weird. couldn't see whether it was sunny or raining. and the rest of the hotel doesn't have many windows (lobby, restaurants) so it's a bit strange. the staff was very nice, and i didn't have any problems, the gift shop has some nice inexpensive items - not all touristy. the food was also very good. they are doing renovations, so i would make sure to ask for a room not near the renovation area - especially if you intend to sleep during daylight hours. Very close to LAX, so it's convenient if you have a stopover...the shuttle was there in 5 minutes from my call, and we were at the hotel in 5 minutes.

Room Tip: south side - opposite the airport and away from the area they are renovating. if on the north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I’m glad that your meetings went well and that your stay was enjoyable. I am excited to announce that we are only days away from being done with the renovations in the hotel and the noise you mentioned is no longer an issue.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I hope to see you again soon.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    214
    109
    52
    22
See reviews for
226
94
52
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is very close to the airport and good value for an overnight stay. We stayed 2 nights. Not so convenient to other attractions in LA but the staff were very helpful when it came to organizing tours and car hire. The restaurant is very good and the included breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. That is great that the front desk team was able to assist with the tours and car rentals. Please do not hesitate to let them know about your time on the tours as this is how we determine who we recommend to others.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Valley, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is located so close to LAX you can see the airport. Then rooms are very nice although if you stay on the bottom floor very warm. We had maintenance in three times and still felt very warm. We had two fans blowing the whole time we were there. This is unusual and hasn't happened in the past. We have stayed in the same rooms in the past with no problem. In addition my husband thought he left his credit card while there and after calling to ask for them to check and let me know I received no telephone call with confirmation from either the general manger or the restaurant manager. Fortunately we found it but no thanks to the hotel management. We have stayed at this location many times for several nights and will do so again. I hope the level of our stay can return to five next time!

Room Tip: Maria and Nicole at the manager's reception are so welcoming we feel as if we are returning home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I am sorry for the issues with the temperature in your suite. You are right, this is not normal and I only wish our maintenance was able to fix the issue the first time. As a returning guest we want to make sure you feel at home and that each visit is better than the last. Feel free to look for me upon your next visit so I can ensure your stay is back to the level you expect.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had to catch a flight out of LAX early so we did the "Stay and Fly" deal. We stayed the night before our flight at this hotel. We left our car at the hotel for a week and we took the shuttle back and forth from the hotel to LAX. The hotel has a package price for keeping your car for the week. Any days over the week are charged at $10 per day additionally. I was disappointed that we did not get one of the renovated rooms. The rooms are large with separate living room and bedroom. Ours was very dated. Also, we were supposed to have two queen beds but the beds were full sized - not queen The hotel is across from the airport so plane noise was an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. The Park N Fly package is truly a great deal when looking to fly out of LAX and I am glad you were able to take advantage of it. I am sorry we were unable to place you in one of the newly renovated suites on this trip. Perhaps we can get you in to experience one of these new suites on your next visit.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with our 2 boys (12 and 15) for 3 nights mid Sep and 1 night in early Oct to break up the flight to and from NZ and the other states we were visiting in the US. We chose the LAX Sth rather than Nth hotel because of the sundeck - both have indoor pools and coming from winter, we wanted to be able to have some time in the sun. The courtyard leading from the indoor pool area was perfect with loungers, tables and chairs and a small grass area.
Gym next to the pool was well equipped and handy to our ground floor room.
When arriving at LAX there is a ph nmbr to call for the free shuttle pick up,. When leaving, the shuttle departs at regular times outside the lobby.
The rom we had was clean but a bit dated, looking forward to staying again when the current renovations are completed.
Check in and out was efficient and hassle free, Dime our shuttle driver was friendly and courteous, Nijole and Maria at the mgrs reception (free drinks and snacks for 2 hrs every day - brilliant) were fabulous, and the cooked breakfast every morning was outstanding with super friendly chefs!
Cannot wait to return, hopefully next year, and will be recommending this hotel to everyone here who intends travelling through LAX.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am excited to read your comments and happy that you enjoyed your time with us. The complimentary breakfast is great for anyone traveling with kids as you save a great deal of money and the managers’ reception is a great way to unwind after a long flight or trip around the city.

The renovations are going very well and we have started placing some of the new suites back onto market for use. They look great and we cannot wait to share them with each of our guests. We hope to see you again next year.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for one night stopover in LA to break up a long flight. It was perfect for us, we did not want a super fancy room but needed the extra space as we have two young children. The rooms are a bit dated ( thus the refurb) but the location and great pool area and lovely common areas were a winner for us. Staff were very friendly, stopping a chatting to the children as they watched the fish, ducks and turtles in the central pond. Food at the restaurant was great and shuttle service very useful for LAX. The pool area is nicer and bigger than it looks in the photos and is a great way to refresh after a long flight.
We also enjoyed the breakfast and again found the staff very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent visit with us. I am happy to see our team was able to make a lasting impression on you and your family. The ducks, fish and turtles are great for kids and those that are kids at heart.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My family and I stayed there for for 6 nights. We arrived a day earlier by air at 630am and gave the hotel a call from the airport and explained our situation, which in reply matched the internet price, picked us up, gave us breakfast vouchers for that morning, and were in our room by 10am ( check in is a 3pm), How can anyone beat that for service. Yes, as many people have said the room are dated, however, they are clean and not worn out or damaged. (They currently renovating). The breakfast is fantastic and the managers drinks in the afternoon were fantastic too. ( both included in price of room). The staff were very friendly and and great knowledge of the local area, the tourist spots and were to shop. There is parking on the street and we never found a problem finding a spot. There is a bus stop across the road which stops at Manhattan Beach ( 30min trip, about $1) which a really great beach. Its a great location as its next to the freeway. Its 25mins to Citadel Outlets and 40 mins to Anaheim. And about 25-35mins to Universal Studios, 25 mins to Venice beach.
Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It sounds like you had a great time in Los Angeles. I am very happy to hear everything worked out for you and your family with the early arrival and that you had some fun around the city. We are in a prime location for those wanting to travel around the city to see the sites as well as for those just wanting to relax at one of the local beach towns.

I hope the rest of your trip went well and we hope to see you again soon.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites El Segundo
El Segundo Embassy Suites
Address: 1440 Imperial Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in El Segundo
#6 Family Hotel in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.