We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business stay, leisure stay could frustrating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 East Imperial Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in El Segundo
melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great business stay, leisure stay could frustrating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Complimentary breakfast is great if you go before the line gets long about 6:30 weekdays. East Coast travellers -- the cold breakfast is out by 5:15 if you want to satisy your hunger before the 6am opening of the hot line. Ask for a room on the back side as you will hear the planes from the airport and cars from the freeway if you are a light sleeper. The walls are a bit thin so if you have a noisy neighbor be prepared to sleep with your head under your pillow. Parking in the garage is steep ($23/day) but is free on the street or in the business lot next door (closest entrance to the hotel in the business lot is chained off overnight but the far side entrance remans open). If you stay over the weekend, the events in the atrium can get noisy and you may have the running foot traffic of kids who ride the elevators for fun and run from one end of the hotel to the other. Weekend breakfast lines can be very slow and long after 8am.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor on weekend stays to avoid nosie from events down on teh gorund floor in the atri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you took the time to share your review. Our daily breakfast runs from 6AM – 9AM on weekdays and 7AM – 10:30AM on weekends and holidays. The complimentary breakfast is one of the many highlights of the Embassy Suites so you can imagine that it gets busy. Get there early as most guests will sleep in until the last minute.

We highly recommend that you follow all posted signs in regards to parking. The lot beside the hotel is owned and operated by The Boeing Company and is for use by Boeing employees only.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    300
    146
    72
    38
See reviews for
316
146
68
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night after a wonderful stay at another Embassy Suites. This one didn't quite match up. First, we must've called the North hotel because we were told to get on the wrong shuttle. After over an hour we finally made it to the right hotel. The room was a good size but a little older than the last one we stayed at. We wished there had been free internet and a coffee table, at least. The walls were a thin because we could hear our neighbors and those in the hall. Free breakfast was good, of course, and so was the manager reception at night.

Our favorite part was the restaurant and nostrils where we got a wonderful dinner! It was delicious.

For one night, this hotel did the trick. We just were expecting more based off the experience from the last Embassy Suites we stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us. While each Embassy Suites is unique we want to ensure the service and the experiences are always positive no matter which city you are in. We are confident that after our suite renovations are complete we will be setting the bar for other Embassy Suites instead of the other way around. We are excited for the changes we are going through this year and hope to see you again so we can share them with you.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

A perfect hotel to start your LA vacaiton. We flew in late Friday night and it was an easy shuttle ride over to the hotel. Check in took just a few minutes. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The breakfast is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your quick layover. While the location is great for the quick layover at LAX we are also in a great location for the family vacation in Los Angeles. With quick access to the 105 Freeway, getting to and from the many tourist locations of Los Angeles is a breeze.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

It is a pretty hotel. My room was a rectangle beginning with a living room, followed by a bar, a bathroom, then a private bedroom. The problem was I didn't know what side to put my children to sleep. I didn't want them in the living room on the off chance that they would open the door for someone. I didn't want them in the bedroom where they would have to interrupt the adults in the living room in order to use the bathroom at night. They ended up in the bedroom. My husband and his bad back ended up on the sleeper couch.

If we had gone as a couple instead of a family, it would have been a great room.

The pool is indoor and very small, but never crowded.

The breakfast is a zoo.

The restaurant inside the hotel is pretty decent, worth a visit, at least for drinks.

Parking can be a pain.

I would stay here again if I were traveling as a couple only, or without my husband and only with the kids.

The staff has always been friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us in El Segundo. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit. No doubt our breakfast is the busiest area of the hotel day in and day out. We have signs posted in the suites that outline the best and worst times to visit the breakfast area to help with the flow. As long as you stay away from the last hour of the designated times you should be fine.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The check-in staff were great, and the room was very comfortable. This is all you need when you have a one-night layover at LAX. But as a hotel, there were two things that were disappointing - the breakfast resembled a crowded football match, with long lines, no staff, insufficient food, and tables that were never cleared. And this was early! The other thing was the shuttle bus, which sometimes ran every half hour but didn't run consistently throughout the day. In fact, if you want to use it in the afternoons, check carefully that you don't have a 2-hour wait or that it runs at all. I would have thought all airport hotels would offer regular shuttles, even if some were less popular than others. I don't stay at an airport hotel to get a taxi to the terminal. Overall, it was fine, a good price, and served well by its staff. Just check those shuttle times, and get to breakfast as early as you can!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
As an airport hotel our shuttle service is one of the most important aspects of our business and to hear you had issues getting to the airport is disappointing and I apologize for the inconvenience. Our shuttles are dedicated specifically for our hotel and run 24 hours to and from the airport. From the hotel to the airport we run on a set schedule of every 30 minutes from 4AM until 1PM, and then once per hour for the rest of the day. Shuttles from the airport can be arranged at anytime by simply calling the hotel once you have your luggage.

We want all aspect of your stay to be enjoyable and getting our guests to and from the airport safely and on time is very important to us.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here one night in January and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel staff was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very spacious with a bedroom seperate from the living room area (as is typical with Embassy Suites). The rooms were a little dark but very clean. We had a room on the top floor that looked out over the breakfast/bar area. I will say the noise travels and will likely keep you up if you sleep on the pull out in the living room. At breakfast, it can get very loud, so request a room on the other end of the property not overlooking the breakfast/bar area.
Parking is a bit expensive, but a lot of guests (including us) parked on the street for free! Parking can be tough to find but we were lucky. This is the best option to save ~$24 per night.
The breakfast area was busy but the food (cooked to order) was wonderful! And the grounds are very well kept with waterfalls, pools, ducks, fish, trees, etc.
Overall, we loved our stay here and have and would continue to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side by the breakfast/bar area are loud if you're sleeping on the pullout. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Los Angeles. We realize each guests’ needs are different so please do not hesitate to speak to the front desk in regards to suite location upon checking into the hotel. With three separate courtyards we are confident we will have a suite that is perfect for you and your family.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

An excellent hotel choice for the LAX area. Large 2 room suites in a hotel with a rain forest setting. One of the ponds has chinese koi fish and very large turtles. Very Cool! The cook to order included breakfast is the best. A fair price for the internet, but $24.00 per night to park in the garage, ouch! Overall a very good experience. I'll be coming back next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesLAXES, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your travels to the LAX area and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

The ambiance of the hotel is something we take great pride in. As you can imagine it takes a lot of hard work and time to maintain such a large variety of indoor plants, trees, flowers, turtles, fish and a duck. However it is all worth it as our guests both old and young get to enjoy something very unique to the area and to a hotel.

We hope to see you again soon and hope to provide an equally if not better stay next time.

Jim Ohl
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites LAX South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South

Address: 1440 East Imperial Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in El Segundo
#6 Business Hotel in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite LAX Airport Hotel offers 349 newly renovated two-room suites, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, free evening reception*, and free shuttle service to/from Los Angeles International Airport as well as amenities including an indoor pool, fitness center, and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites El Segundo
El Segundo Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.