We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carrasco's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carrasco's Restaurant
525 North Sepulveda Blvd, El Segundo, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 133 Restaurants in El Segundo
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We ate here 3 times while at the Hacienda. Dont be afraid to try the seafood dishes. The crab stuffed sole was surprisingly good. Show Airline ID for 20% discount.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Carrasco’s Restaurant near LAX: a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Before and after several recent cruises, my wife and I were fortunate to find Carrasco’s, an unpretentious restaurant near LAX, co-located with the Hacienda Hotel, priding itself on serving excellent breakfasts, lunches and dinners and delivering the same in spades.

The chef, whom I have not met, is clearly a devotee of preparing excellent food using only the freshest ingredients. For example, the chef’s exquisite salsa is easily the finest I have ever tasted and made fresh daily. We have been impressed and delighted with this restaurant on several occasions.

We were joined at the restaurant one morning last week by an impressive but most unlikely contingent of about fifty prosperous German businessmen, resplendent in custom designer leathers, touring the Southwest with female companions, astride gleaming new Harley-Davidson motorcycles. These, were no ordinary bikers! Needless to say, we were surprised that our “secret” was known as far away as the European continent!

Try this gem some morning as you are preparing to fly to some far-flung destination or just drop in and let them surprise your taste buds.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Hearty Breakfast; friendly long-tenured staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've eaten breakfast here several times and it's a great value. The staff never changes and that's good. One server is in his 37th year as of 2013. Ambiance is that of a hotel breakfast room. There is a basis dinner and lunch menu, but we have never partaken.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor quality, atmosphere does not match the menu.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the prime rib with fresh veggies, the fresh veggies appeared to a frozen mix variety from the freezer section. The waiter insists they are fresh. If that's true, it's a son the way they prepared them. Soggy, over cooked mush. The prime rib was chewy, and over salted. I was disappointed at the low quality of the food. The atmosphere of the restaurant is that of an outdated 70's diner. The menu doesn't match the decor. They are attempting to be a fine dining establishment, but lack the food quality, as well as the atmosphere. This is a good place for a burger or other fast food type of fare. Leave the steak for somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, Good service, Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I always eat here when I stay at the Hacienda Hotel. It is a pretty straightforward diner (for breakfast) but the service is a "step up". The food is always good and it's reasonably priced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrasco's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carrasco's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrasco's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.