We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Good as Expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1910 E Mariposa Ave., El Segundo, CA 90245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in El Segundo
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not as Good as Expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The rate I got on Priceline was wonderful, but.... I've stayed in Extended Stay hotels before; this property has issues. The Wi-Fi drops on a regular basis on weekends, the housekeeping is far from the best, the bathroom exhaust fan is inadequate, there is an odor coming from the A/C that requires the fan to run constantly. When I turn it off, the room is both stuffy and smelly. The good is access to public transportation: the bus from the airport stops in front, and the Green Line metro is a 10-minute walk down Mariposa. A good grocery store is on the same block, there are places to dine across the street, more places to dine and a pharmacy 5 minutes away by foot. I only give it 2 stars because the housekeeping staff does not dust inside the lamps-lots of dust there, and there is mold in the bathroom; probably due to the bad exhaust fan. The mold is under the tub's soap holder.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Salmanal - Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at our hotel. The staff and I are always looking for ways to improve as a team and the property as a whole; reviews like yours helps us to do so.

I apologize for the issues you experienced while visiting with us. With your review in mind, I have met with the maintenance and housekeeping staff to review proper procedures for cleaning and fixing as well as toured the room you stayed in with them. Our goal is to ensure that a situation like yours does not happen to another guest during their future stay.

It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future or at any of our other brand locations. We would love to show your our redoubled efforts so you can enjoy our location which is central to a grocery store, the Green Line and multiple dining options, once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
7
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Primarily intended for long term stays, e.g., short term housing. Place was dirty and old. Because of the kitchen, it smelled. I didn't feel safe. No shampoo and had to wait 20 minutes until the front desk was available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review for our hotel. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling. Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I booked a room for relatives visiting from another country. The location and accomodations were excellent. Near LAX, tours available for pick-up. The premises were newly remodeled clean, quiet and safe. There's a 24 hr grocery next door for added convenience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We take pride in the cleanliness of our property and quiet neighborhood. The 24 hour Ralph’s grocery story has been a great asset to us at Extended Stay America El Segundo. Come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently one night while on a trip to the races. Rooms were like studio apartments. My only complaint is the air con ran all night and directly at our faces in bed. Tried to find where to close the vent, however was unable. Parking spaces too close together. If i had to stay more than one night, i would have stayed somewhere with room service.

Room Tip: The farther away from the pool, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I hope the issue with the air unit won’t keep you from visiting us again. We take pride in attempting to do our very best to make you as comfortable as possible. Come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo

Address: 1910 E Mariposa Ave., El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites El Segundo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport - El Segundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;