We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 East Mariposa Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, and Go Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in El Segundo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Top notch hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Its hard to find anything wrong about this hotel. Its big... lots of rooms. Staff at front desk are professional and very nice. Beautiful lobby area. Rooms are a nice size and have everything you need: Fridge, microwave, hair dryer, good sized flat panel TV with tons of channels, super comfortable beds, etc. Even though its near LAX, its just far enough away that its kind of quiet and the streets are not busy around the hotel. What makes this hotel a better choice that all the other hotel located closer to LAX, is parking. Parking at this hotel is plentiful and FREE. Those other hotels have valet parking or a nightly parking charge of up to $30/night. Not only is parking free here but you can park near anywhere around the hotel to minimize the walk to your room. No long journeys from a parking garage to a elevator and up 10 floors to your room! Pool area looked very nice and the gym had brand new treadmills, an elliptical, a universal weights and a set of bar bells. Location of hotel is just down the street from some food options including a grocery store. Thats another advantage that the hotels closer to LAX don't have. The only complaint I can think of is that the gym is not 24 hours... for some reason they close it at 10pm. Overall... an excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Gym is located on 1st floor, far west side of hotel. If you plan to use it, ask for a room nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    301
    59
    32
    12
See reviews for
246
307
99
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in late Nov 2012 on a layover between KUL and SFO. At Tom Bradley, we had to ask Information to call the shuttle because the hotel does not make scheduled pick-ups (trips TO the airport, however, leave every half hour from 0430). The bus took 30 mins to arrive, despite the hotel being less than 10 mins drive away. As I could see only 2 buses parked at the hotel, I can imagine how pickup can be a problem if there are several requests at the same time, because my delay was due to a guest being picked up from Long Beach! Several other hotel chains made a few pick ups in the time it took for the Hilton Garden Inn bus to come to us. On the bright side, we were the only guests while the other chains had significantly more passengers and airline crew jostling for a place on the bus.
Room was comfy, clean and quiet despite ours being right next to the Metro track. Hundreds of paid and free channels on the LCD tv, which helped while away the jet lag.
The 24 hour business centre with free internet and printing helped with our airline check in and boarding passes. There is also free wifi in the room.
There are restaurants about 800 metres away - a Sizzlers, El Pollo Loco and Subway among others. We ate dinner at a Kebab shop which had halal meat options.
On our date of departure, we had the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant which was good value at $11.99 for adults, half price for kids. Check-out was swift, and the shuttle departed punctually on the half-hour.
Quite a good hotel, will stay here if having to transit at LAX in future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was a fairly standard Hilton Garden Inn. It was conveniently situated, being just 5 minutes from Los Angeles airport and the car hire locations. The reception area was very nice and large, with an adjacent restaurant which served good food. The beds were very comfortable, and free parking was available. On the negative side, the hotel was busy 24hrs a day (to be expected being so close to the airport); our room was a little on the dark side; and, outside of the reception/restaurant, I felt the hotel was a little tired in places. All in all, I would rate this hotel as average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The good: great staff (unbelievable really), best breakfast from almost any hotel that we have evey stayed at, clean rooms. Make sure you book breakfast with the room.
The bad: parking (there's only so much room), the mythical adjusting comfort beds (just like unicorns, some people swear that they exist), and no safes. The beds have dials on them which are supposed to change the comfort setting. After plopping down on a rock covered with a blanket (a.k.a the bed), it was clear that neither was in good working order and could not be fixed. Additionally, it is rare not to find in-room safes these days but there were none here. No real beef with this place because is is great in so many ways, just a couple of suggestions that would make them stand out even more. Definately recommended.

Room Tip: second and third floor floor rooms add a sense of security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights - needed to see family in the area as well as Disneyland/Universal. They could not check-us in to the connecting rooms that we had requested passed 3 pm (check-in time), so we just took what was available. The rooms were nice, standard for these group of hotels. The front desk offered us free sodas/snacks from the shop due to our inconvenience. We had the breakfast plan, and would recommend that to people who enjoy good breakfast. Cook-to-order eggs, waffles, fruits were great. On one evening we drove from Universal around 5:30 pm, it took us 1.5 hours to get back! So, won't recommend this place if you plan to visit downtown and return during rush-hours. Otherwise, this was a fantastic stay and served our purpose. The price, free parking and service is hard to beat in LA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

FREE parking, excellent staff from housekeeping to front desk to restaurant, extremely clean rooms, beautiful rooms and landscaping, amply parking, conveniently located, incredibly comfortable beds. The only downfall to this hotel is the lack of insulation between rooms. We stayed in a cheaper hotel in Anaheim during this trip in a horrible room but only heard our neighbors slightly. Our room at the Hilton Garden Inn we were awoken during the night by our neighbors on both nights speaking at a normal conversational level. We loved the hotel and the location so we would still recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love HGI's cuz they are small enough to be homey but still provide most of the amenities I particularly like at a consistently high level of quality and usually at a relatively modest price: comfy beds, nice baths, towels and amenities, frig, microwave, free in-room wifi, good selection of cable TV channels, pool, hot tub and fitness center, on site restaurant and great hot breakfasts. This location is pricier than most --I assume due to high demand by longer-stay biz customers thx to it's location next to a metro stop, free airport shuttle, free parking, heated outdoor pool and outstanding hot jacuzzi plus a full range of cable channels--literally hundreds to choose from--in an area where even 4 star hotels generally fall short on customer satisfaction. By far the best thing about HGI-LAX/ES is its truly outstanding staff. Literally everyone I came in contact with from the shuttle driver, to front desk, to maintenance to wait and kitchen staff to housekeeping were exceptionally welcoming and genuinely warm, friendly and helpful. They also have one of the best hot tubs with HOT water and STRONG jets--so welcome after a long flite or hard day at work or sightseeing. The pool was lovely and clean and warm enough to enjoy even with the cooler than normal evening temps. The cobb salad I had for lunch, tho more expensive than most casual eateries, was huge and fresh and the usual HGI combo buffet+made-to-order eggs for breakfast was also quite good tho again, several dollars more than what I usually pay for the same breakfast in their Florida locations (could've had it free with my Gold status but prefer to earn pts instead). The biggest/ONLY real con is the fact that there are no restaurants or shops within easy walking distance so I would recommend a car for longer stays as their restaurant menu is limited. It was perfect for me use my HH points for a free nite to rest after long flite from China so didn't mind spending more to eat there as it all counts for more points to use toward future stays. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: there is some noise via adjoining and hall doors so pick an end room if this might bother you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo

Address: 2100 East Mariposa Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in El Segundo
#1 Family Hotel in El Segundo
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Segundo
#2 Romantic Hotel in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lax/El Segundo Hotel El Segundo
Hilton Garden Inn El Segundo
Hilton El Segundo
El Segundo Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.