We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shutdown - not a problem @ Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Portal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn
11132 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 El Portal B&B and Inns
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shutdown - not a problem @ Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived on the first day of the Government shutdown and were concerned about what we'd be able to do. We had no need to worry as Ron & Liz had plenty of ideas of things to do & places to go which we're still accessible. The roads are open through Yosemite so we still saw El Capitan, Half Dome & Tunnel View. We also drove along Tioga Pass to Lee Vining & got more stunning views of Mono Lake & June Lake Loop & Mammoth Lake Loop. We also managed to find a grove of Sequoia trees which hadn't been closed!

After a full day we got back to the beautiful house where we had a cup of tea & Liz's freshly made cookies whilst sat on the balcony watching the hummingbirds on the feeders that Liz puts out for them. We discussed what we'd done during the day & exchanged stories with the other guests together with Ron & Liz.

This is an exceptional B&B with beautiful rooms with all the facilities you could want. Liz's freshly home cooked breakfast sets you up for the day and each days menu is different.

Thank you Ron & Liz for a wonderful time & we hardly noticed that there was a Government shutdown! We can' t wait for our next visit which will be as soon as possible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    21
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
323
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just spent 2 fabulous nights at this beautiful B&B. From the moment Liz opened the door, she and Ron made us feel truly welcomed. Knowing that we could not see the Valley Floor of Yosemite, they mapped out an amazing alternative for us. You can still drive through Yosemite and the beauty is beyond gorgeous. We have lots of beautiful pictures. The Blue Butterfly is a beautiful and very comfortable home. Once you enter the door, you know that you are staying ON the Merced River. Our room was big, bright, very clean and spacious. The scenery from our deck was incredible! The breakfasts are delicious and more than enough food for a long day of sightseeing. Meeting the other guests was very enjoyable and fun. We spent hours on the deck in the evening getting to know each other. Liz found out the we were celebrating my birthday and she had a heartwarming celebration on our last night. We will most definitely go back again. The warmth and kindness of Ron and Liz really make you feel like you are at home. Thanks so much Liz and Ron.

Room Tip: The Sunflower Room on the third floor is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We enjoyed very much our stay at the Blue Butterfly B&B. the house and our room are fantastic, all very comfortable, spacious, modern but with an antic feel. The breakfast was delicious and it was good to start the day on the fresh air of he balcony that overlooks the river and the mountains. Ron and Liza were the perfect hosts as they made us feel very welcome as we arrived and they really helped us in make the most of our little time in the big park so,our visit was very efficiently planned. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and prom what we saw driving around, we were very very happy with our choice also because the location is perfect, it takes less than 5 minutes to get to park entrance and the roads in that area are not fast so that was very important, we thought!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our stay at the Yosemite Blue Butterfly was simply superb! Our hosts Ron and Liz made you feel like their home was your home. It was a truly beautiful house set in magnificent surroundings. To our delight Liz made us a pot of English tea on arrival and homemade cookies which were delicious – we sat on the veranda which overlooked the river and after 5 minutes we felt completely relaxed with humming birds fluttering around – it was Idyllic!
Our room was huge and spotless with a fabulous balcony all the way around and we spent our first evening with a pizza and bottle of wine soaking up the atmosphere.
The breakfasts which Liz prepared were delicious and set you up for a good day hiking.
Ron and Liz were full of knowledgeable information about hikes and trecks in the area and gave us lots of information for our hike to Fallen Falls which was amazing!! The scenery was mind-blowing! Nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to make our stay perfect!!
I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this to anyone as it is just simply the best accommodation in Yosemite!! Thank you Ron and Liz for our wonderful time with you. Alf and Julie (York, UK)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed with Liz and Ron on 11th / 12th september. I knew it would be good but didn't expect it to be as good as it was. Perfect hosts, breakfast was not your usuall start to the day. Fantastic home cooking with a twist. I have never had food presented so lovingly, what a cook! Liz had amazing knowledge of the area. Such a personal touch. Rooms beautifully clean and spacious well decorated, with gorgeous thows. The balcony was where we met other guests and chatted, which was lovely. How lucky they are to have an idyllic setting. If you like home from home, meeting people and peaceful setting this is for you. There is a bar and restaurant next to the b&b. Food in here was pricey and mediocre. I was even served coffee in a takeaway cup after my meal. So 2 or 3 out of 5 for that. Think we had been spoilt

Room Tip: Upper floors have balconies. Ground floors dont, but there is a communal balcony overlooking the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay and felt very welcomed by Liz & Ron. This retired teacher and auto mechanic are living out their golden years on the Merced River while hosting Yosemite visitors and clearly enjoying it! Hidden behind the Yosemite View Lodge, this is a diamond in the rough! Their deck is great for viewing the stars and listening to the river at night and enjoying breakfast in the morning while dozens of hummingbirds flock to the feeders. On a morning when we headed out for an early morning hike, Liz arranged a "hiker's breakfast" of cereal, fruit, and granola bars so we had a good start to the day. As locals, they also have the best tourist advice. We went way east of the park to Lee Vining to visit some sites and a great restaurant at the Mobile station that we would have never found on our own. Also, since there's no cell service in the area, wifi included at the B&B helped us stay in touch when we chose. Overall, a great location and we would definitely stay here again! Thanks Liz & Ron!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights early September and only wished we'd had longer to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the Inn itself. We stayed in the Californian Poppy room and although it was one of the cheaper rooms it was so well appointed and comfortable it was like staying at a friends house.
Breakfast is a communal affair out on the beautiful deck and we got to chat with fellow guests from Germany, New York and Australia while enjoying delicious home cooked food.
The adjacent hotel has a decent pizza place and also a restaurant with pretty good food if you don't want to travel far in the evenings.
Ron and Liz are excellent hosts and have a wealth of knowledge about Yosemite and the surrounding area. We had some lovely chats with them over proper English tea and home made cookies when we returned from the park in the evening.
If you want something completely different from run of the mill hotels the Blue Butterfly Inn is the place to be!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn

Address: 11132 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn is a new, family owned and operated Bed and Breakfast - the closest to Yosemite Valley. The inn is on the banks of the Merced River, in sight of the cliffs at the entry to Yosemite National Park, on the Highway 140 entrance. All rooms have en-suite facilities with hair dryers, and Wireless Internet access on guests' computers. A full,cooked breakfast is included. Owners have lived in the yosemite area for 40 years and are happy to help guests plan their days in the park and their itinerary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Hotel El Portal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn to your Saves list