We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodations near Yosemite IMO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Portal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn
Save
You added Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn to your Saves list
11132 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 El Portal B&B and Inns
Martinez, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best accommodations near Yosemite IMO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fantastic accommodations, warm hospitality, great food, super close to park entrance, friendly cats, what more could you ask for?

Visiting Yosemite in winter was already a treat, but Liz and Ron made it even better. No way you can get personalized home-style service like that at a chain motel --not even close. We spent so much time chatting with them over breakfast, we were almost late to our ski lesson --great people! They even made tea and cookies for us after we got back. Try getting that kind of treatment from Yosemite View or Cedar Lodge (good luck).

The place is kept immaculately clean (puts my own home to shame) and each room is decorated according to a theme. Some of the furniture that looks antique really *is* antique (Art Deco, Arts & Crafts, Victorian, etc.). Warning: adults only and no pets --part of the cost of protecting the fine furnishings and overall cleanliness, no doubt. As some have already mentioned, the place is literally tucked in between buildings belonging to the Yosemite View Lodge, but does overlook the Merced River (of which you have a very nice view from the upper balconies and lower floor dining/sitting rooms). The location is a result of there being zero build-able land left in El Portal --Blue Butterfly is the *only* B&B currently operating there.

Blue Butterfly might be a few more bucks than the big chains, but it's well worth it IMO.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but if you want a river view or balcony, you should stick to the larger upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemiteblue, Owner at Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We truly enjoyed the sense of humor of this couple...the guest in the photo insisted on 'spoiling' Purringer,... carefully tied a bib around his neck and fed him with a fork! Purringer loved it, of course. (I just hope Purringer doesn't expect me to do this, too!)
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    25
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
355
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san jose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The inn is so spectacular, set along the gushing river. The stained glass and antiques are spectacular. The setting is next to Yosemite but without the crowds. Liz is an incredible cook and Ron has been climbing the hardest climbs at Yosemite for decades, still leading pitches in his seventies. As a search and rescue volunteer he has stories about the park that can regale you for hours.
Our room was palatial with a balcony overlooking the river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Second time staying with Liz & Ron and it's just as wonderful. Fantastic location, fantastic hosts...a wonderful time. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Ours had a balcony perfect for enjoying the river or the stars at night. Ron and Liz know every detail of the park and are extremely helpful. Time to plan our next trip!

Room Tip: If you've never been to Yosemite, you have no idea what you are missing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent two nights here and would definitely recommend it. The B&B is tucked away in the middle of a motel complex but is actually in a beautiful location right on the river with amazing views from the back of the house. The hosts/owners, are a very friendly, knowledgable couple who are very welcoming and full of interesting conversation. Our room was very clean and comfortable as was the en suite bathroom. The home-made breakfasts each morning were absolutely fantastic. It is a very short drive (maybe 10 minutes) from here to the gate where you pay admission to Yosemite.
The previous negative review is hilarious - this is a b&b, of course the owners live there, that is the whole idea!

Room Tip: We had a downstaris room, right next to the kitchen. This meant it got a bit noisy in the morning t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Blue Butterfly Inn near the entrance of Yosemite National Park just a few weeks ago. The owners, Liz and Ron are delightful people who have decorated their lovely home with fine antiques and beautiful accessories. You will be greeted by a stunning stained glass door, which the owner Liz designed herself. Our room was hugh and very sunny with an absolutely gorgeous view of the river. Wonderful breakfasts , great conversations and hospitality will be the start of your day at the Inn. The location is perfect as the entrance to the park is just minutes away. If we go back to Yosemite, we will stay at the Blue Butterfly again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The previous reviewer should read the small print, Liz & Ron hid nothing and it was a very nice B&B. Great hosts, delightful fellow guests and nice clean, spacious rooms. I think they are amazing battling the developers and still hanging on in there despite everything. Lovely breakfasts and knowledgeable folk about the area, which was very helpful. Even got us advice about the pass and got us over before the first snowfall of the season shut it. Certainly did not feel awkward at all and so good to be so near the entrance of Yosemite. A lucky find....... ps the motel is more expensive!!!!

Room Tip: Back of house I'm guessing would be quieter. We slept like logs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spend two nights for our Honeymoon in Yosemite Blue Butterfly in September 2.012. We really enjoy there. Our room (The Lotus) was amazing, very big, clean and with a balcony. This balcony has a good views. It was beautiful see the sunrise and sunset in our balcony, we also heared bears so we could enjoy the nature in a secure way. For us, was beautiful. We also enjoy the breakfast that Liz did. In the afternoon, we spoke with them when we finished our day and with other guests. Ron had a lot of interesting histories, so spend a little time listening to him.
Thank you for all Ron & Liz. Hope to see you next time in Spain! ;O)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn

Address: 11132 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn is a new, family owned and operated Bed and Breakfast - the closest to Yosemite Valley. The inn is on the banks of the Merced River, in sight of the cliffs at the entry to Yosemite National Park, on the Highway 140 entrance. All rooms have en-suite facilities with hair dryers, and Wireless Internet access on guests' computers. A full,cooked breakfast is included. Owners have lived in the yosemite area for 40 years and are happy to help guests plan their days in the park and their itinerary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Hotel El Portal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.