We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, very close to Yosemite entrance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Portal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn
Save
You added Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn to your Saves list
11132 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 El Portal B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, very close to Yosemite entrance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were visiting Yosemite in June and it's difficult to find a good place to stay. A lot of the time if we are going to a national park, I'll try to stay at a lodge if they have one. Unfortunately everything gets booked up way ahead of time in Yosemite and I couldn't find anything other than in Wawona. Wawona is a good hour drive to get into the Yosemite Valley and I do a lot of photography and like to be on site for sunrise and sunset. The extra hour would have made things a lot more difficult. Luckily we found the Blue Butterfly B&B, and they are VERY close to the Yosemite gate, so it's very convenient. We were going to be staying 4 nights, but none of the rooms were available 4 consecutive nights. Ron & Liz suggested we stay in one room 2 nights and then switch to another for the next 2. We were a little worried about having to move our luggage (lots of bags since we were on a 2 week trip, and also my photography equipment case). They were kind enough to move the bags to the other room for us so we did not have to stick around until the other guests checked out at 11am and I could get into the valley for my sunrise shots. Liz and Ron are great hosts, and we had some great discussions with them while we were there. Their place is in the middle of a large complex of a commercial hotel, but it's really not hard to find. Plan your time effectively, because there is only 1 restaurant (attached to the hotel), and a pizza/wing/salad place next door. If you spend a lot of time in the valley you might be getting back late. I was a bit nervous about my staying out too late and getting to dinner late because of some of the other reviews on here. I can say that Liz & Ron were very gracious about this and we had absolutely no problems. I inquired about getting a front door key if I wanted to do some star photography at night in the valley, and they said it would be no problem. I did not end up taking them up on the offer, but it was there. People who have a problem with being in by a certain hour, or who want to party late should probably stay elsewhere. The people staying there, were serious adults who enjoyed their time together, and understood the need for their B&B guidelines. If we visite Yosemite again, we will definitely be staying at the Blue Butterfly Inn B&B!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    25
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
355
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Yosemite National Park is one of the world's most beautiful places. However, it's remote and it's often difficult to find great places to stay in and around wilderness areas. The Blue Butterfly Inn is such a place and lived up to its outstanding reputation in every way. Owners Ron and Liz Skelton were, as advertised, wonderful hosts, who love to engage their guests from around the world in lively conversation; our room was clean and comfortable; and the large deck, which overlooks the Merced River, also has a magnificent view of Parkline Slab (a huge granite rock formation located at the entrance to Yosemite) might be one of the best places on planet earth to enjoy a hearty breakfast or glass of wine at sunset. The River Restaurant, which is adjacent to the Blue Butterfly, has great food (the prime rib is excellent) and offers similar views of the river and Parkline Slab.

Room Tip: We stayed in the least expensive room because we spent all of our non-sleeping time at the inn enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It is difficult to praise this b&b highly enough. Liz and Ron were fantastic hosts, always had time for all guests, and more than happy to share advice and stories about Yosemite and the surrounding area.
As you can see from the other reviews the location is excellent and breakfasts lovely. If you are visiting Yosemite I would highly recommend the Blue Butterfly Inn, I certainly hope to be back in the near future.

Liz and Ron, thanks for making our visit to Yosemite extra special, you were right about the Tuolumne Meadows..beautiful area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Yes this place is located inside a hotel development but it backs on to the Merced River, so don't worry about the location and what's going on out front. Parking is not a problem btw. Breakfasts were excellent and varied each day. Hummingbirds cluster around the feeders on the deck.

The owners Ron and Liz are REALLY nice people and have loads of advice on the local area. Also a huge benefit is the Inn's close proximity to the entrance to the park. Its a huge hike up from Mariposa and even Cedar Lodge which is the next lodging site downhill is a schlep, especially in the dark when you'd had a big day out in the park. Take my word for it you will want to spend as much of your time in the park as possible, not driving to and from it.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely use the Blue Butterfly if we visit Yosemite again

Room Tip: Upstairs to the rear is probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ideally located in a beautiful setting overlooking the Merced River, this B&B is a truly outstanding value. Liz and Ron are great hosts who made the stay feel like being with old friends. Liz prepared wonderful breakfasts, an experience enhanced by the many hummingbirds attracted to the deck's sugar feeders. Ron, an avid rock climber, gave us great insights into this challenging sport. We highly recommend staying here for the stimulating conversations with the hosts and fellow travelers, a great location near Yosemite entrance, and exceptionally clean rooms. After enjoying a glass of wine (not provided by the B&B) and admiring the scenery, it is a short walk to a good restaurant for dinner. We could not have been more pleased with our stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just spent 3 nights at the Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn, El Portal, CA. My husband and I highly recommend this B & B. Our room was gorgeous on the 3rd floor, the Artist's Studio, with lovely views of the Merced River. The room was spotless. The owners, Liz and Ron, are great hosts--very personable and friendly. They will give you information and maps so that you can make the most of your visit. Breakfast was always a treat. One morning we left early for a tour, well before breakfast was served. Liz had the coffee pot ready to go and had a light breakfast set out for us. She made fresh cookies and tea that we would enjoy in the late afternoon and evening. We would sit and talk with the owners and other guests on their deck overlooking the Merced River. With a location a few minutes' drive from the park, it is very convenient. We love this B & B!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

By far the best thing about the blue butterfly is the friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Liz and Ron are lovely and so helpful with tips on trails to do in the park and where to eat. Our room was beautiful and the views down the river from the deck were amazing. Breakfast was really nice and a welcome relief from the otherwise slightly ropey food in Yosemite. the location was perfect - just a 5 minute drive to the park and around 20 minutes to the main trails. The road in was really easy to drive too - much less windy and faster than other routes in.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn

Address: 11132 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn is a new, family owned and operated Bed and Breakfast - the closest to Yosemite Valley. The inn is on the banks of the Merced River, in sight of the cliffs at the entry to Yosemite National Park, on the Highway 140 entrance. All rooms have en-suite facilities with hair dryers, and Wireless Internet access on guests' computers. A full,cooked breakfast is included. Owners have lived in the yosemite area for 40 years and are happy to help guests plan their days in the park and their itinerary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Hotel El Portal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.