We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge Restaurant

Yosemite View Lodge Restaurant
11136 California 140, El Portal, CA 95318
(209) 379-2681
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in El Portal
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bergerac, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We didn't have much choice, without travelling some distance, but we were pleasantly surprised. It's a very good restaurant, and reasonably priced, despite its captive clientele. The service was good, and pleasant, and the food was very good, including the soup.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    57
    45
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Breakfast yay - dinner nay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I truly enyojed the breakfast buffet which contains some nice warm dishes and a lot of fresh fruit.

So... We thought we would do dinner as well since the breakfast was nice.
Ordered the Prime Rib. Not so "prime".

For dinner take the extra drive to Yosemite Lodge Mountain Room Restaurant and order yourself a Filet Mingon. That's a steak!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a great meal and view of Yosemite Falls, where we had just hiked to the top of. My steak was done perfectly and the salads were great.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best part of the Lodge at the Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The food and service were both excellent, and it was slightly less expensive than the Ahwahnee dining room. Alot better than the frankly depressing food court, that's for sure.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Again only game in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wife had trout that, while farm raised, was quite good. I had ribs that came out of a pre-packed frozen pack. Salad bar was fresh, but consisted of iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, some kind of pasta salad and a variety of food-service pack dressings. Adequate, but like everything in a seasonal destination, pretty limited effort to satisfy the customer. It could have been just the beginning of the season, but .....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite View Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yosemite View Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.