We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dust, dust, dust, dump.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Flat Campground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Indian Flat Campground to your Saves list
Indian Flat Campground
1.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   9988 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dust, dust, dust, dump.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the good stuff. There's a nice pool on the neighbouring property that campground customers can use. This place is also just 30 minutes from Yosemite Valley. That's where the good stuff ends.
This place is dusty and dingy. The toilets and showers are old and scungy. A fellow camper advised us to use the outdoor showers because at least you know they'd been cleaned...by rainfall.
There's no cell phone reception here. The pay phone was out of order. No surprise. Don't even dream about wifi!
Our RV was put on a site 15 feet from the shower block. We could hear the conversations as people were taking their showers. Our picnic table was 6 feet from the shower block. Let's just say there was a passing parade as we ate our dinner. We politely asked if there might be another spot to park our RV. Our request was met with complete indifference.
The only reason you would stay here is if you want to be really close to Yosemite Valley.
Our experience when checking in sums up our stay at this place. As we pulled up at reception, the reception attendant had just started taking out the trash. Instead of turning back a few feet and checking us in, she walked right on past us and straight to the dumpster. That says it all. This place treats its rubbish better than its guests.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    10
    10
    14
See reviews for
19
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I will say this cabin has a lot of potential because the outside is so cute. The inside is one of those places where you wear flip flips to shower and feel grossed out sleeping on the bed. Everything feels old and dirty and needs to be remodeled. The first thing I noticed was the musty old smell when you walk in. There was food left in the sink strainer and the toilet paper holder was broken and the paper kept falling on the floor. We saved some money by using the kitchen instead of eating out but BRING YOUR OWN PLATES & paper towels & especially a new sponge. There was a nasty used sponge in the sink for your use. The pots and pans and dishes all need to be replaced. There is a newspaper holding up one leg of the table to balance it. There was a stain on the sheet which looked like blood. The only good thing was it was near the White Water Rafting but so is the hotel right next door which I'm sure is much nicer. We regret staying here and couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: You are right next to the bathrooms & showers, so you got to see everyone as they entered to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

For RV camping near Yosemite Valley, Indian Flat Campground is quite good. It has full water + electricity + sewer hookups. It's also about a 5-10 minute drive outside the park entrance, and I didn't see any RV camping on 140 that was closer, so if you're coming or going on that route it's very convenient.

One major complaint I have about this campground, though, is the showers. There's a single shower unit in each of the men's and women's bathrooms, and two additional units on the other end of the bathroom building. These are the ones you want to use. You do NOT want to use the makeshift outside shower units behind the bathroom building. All you get are three walls, a door, two hooks, the shower head and controls, and a concrete floor. There is literally NOTHING else - no roof, no mats, no benches or shelves. There isn't even a drain in the floor - the water runs out a small gap between the wall and the floor. And if you're showering in the evening, make sure that you're done before the sun goes down because there is no illumination provided other than the sun. I have attached some photos of this shower area so you can see how bad it is.

If you have an RV, just take your shower in your unit. Fortunately, this is pretty doable thanks to the electricity/water hookups.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good place to camp near Yosemite, had two nights here, short drive back into the park, orite diner next door, good food, beer, hotel witch you can use their pool and jacuzzi, Definitely would go back,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We needed a tent site as near as possible to the entrance of Yosemite and chose this one sight unseen. Won't be returning. We found tiny tent lots on hard packed dirt, neighbors 10 feet away on both sides, and constant dust swirling in the air. There were two mens' toilets for the entire packed campsite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I like Indian Flat RV Park when I've stayed in a tent, though it can be very noisy and management doesn't enforce the noise rules. But the last time I stayed there, I stayed in a Tent Cabin and came home with Bed Bugs!!!! I had noticed that I was getting these strange bites when I sat on the mattresses of the Tent Cabin, but didn't think much about it. By the time I got home, after staying there a week, the area where your skin touches the surface when you sit, was covered with welted bites, in threes (classic bed bugs)! I had to treat my entire home and garage! It took weeks!!! Weeks of washing, using Diatomaceous Earth. etc. I will never stay in one of their tent cabins or any of their cabins again!!! BEWARE OF BED BUGS!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Indian Flats is in a great location for those who want to visit Yosemite National Park. It is the closest RV park to the west entrance and a short 30 minutes from Yosemite Valley. You can take the local YARTS bus system to the valley from the lodge next door for a small fee then take the free shuttles inside the park. We camped in a motorhome and since the busses were available, their was no need to tow a car. However, Indian Flats is an old, run down park and the people who run it could care less. They truly act as if they know that you are stuck with them due to their great location. If you have an option of towing a vehicle then I suggest camping at one of the nicer parks before the city of El Portal. Unless, you are one of the lucky ones that can reserve a dry camp site inside the National Park. Besides full hook-ups, you literally get nothing else for your $60.00 per night. There is no play park, no fires allowed on the RV sites, restrooms are not fit for humans, and the only pool available is next door at the lodge. Of course the only way to get there is to hike across a small creek at the back of the park. As for the employees, they would not even allow me to make an 800 number phone call from their office phone as cell service is not available in El Portal. They had no knowledge of anything useful in Yosemite. I was lucky enough to receive information from a housekeeper who has lived in the area for 20 years.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Indian Flat Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Flat Campground

Address: 9988 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Indian Flat Campground 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Indian Flat Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Flat Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.