We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but staff need training” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location but staff need training”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here one night as part of a Tour USA trip organised by American Sky so can't comment directly on value as I don't know how much the room cost. We arrived there mid evening after having driven over 350 miles from Death Valley and then explored the Park. Very tired, wanted a shower, food and a few drinks. The welcome from the receptionist was almost a joke, I expected someone with a hidden camera to leap ot and announce Candid Camera or the like. Everything delivered in a monotone robotic voice, boy was she bored. Get past that and it wasn't too bad, fit for purpose as they say. Rooms were obviously old but roomy and clean, everything worked and we had a reasonable meal followed by a few drinks served by the very opposite of the receptionist, he was helpful and informative. Well done that man! Parking was free, no free wi-fi in fact no wi-fi in the room at all, only available in the lobby for a price which wasn't worth it. No compimentary breakfast but I wasn't expecting one so I won't deduct any points. Slept well and moved on, did the job for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    376
    436
    172
    83
See reviews for
318
517
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The lobby seems some what old and a filled with a lot different accessories. Wifi is possible in the lobby - you have to make an account and pay about $10.
The room looked surprisingly neat compared to the impression you get in the lobby. Bathroom was a bit old, but it was clean and I had a wonderfull bed. Always nice after a long day at Yosemite.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Cool place near Yosemite, obviously past it's heydays but very quirky never the less, large rooms, 2 pools, activity room all set in super cool location, bar man with moustache extremely friendly and really made our stay memorable. Food ok, no wifi, but who cares!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Awful! Basic room, which we expected, but we are convinced the sheets on the bed had not been changed and the towels looked dirty, old and worn. Staff were ok, but not welcoming. Our biggest issue was with the main restaurant. The food was virtually inedible and the waiter really couldn't be bothered with us. We were reluctant to leave a tip, but observed the etiquette to leave the minimum 10%. In the morning our front tyre had been let down. Can't prove who did it, but we know it was deliberate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. We paid $656 for 4 nights which we thought was very reasonable. We weren't prepared to pay the extra money to stay in the park. Room was clean and comfortable but a bit dated and the lack of a lift would certainly be a problem to some when carrying luggage up the stairs. We ate breakfast at Yosemite each day but had dinner in one of the two restaurants each night. I preferred the diner/bar eatery which was the cheaper of the two. Again staff friendly and
helpful in both places. Unfortunately Yosemite closed yesterday due to issues within the Government so our last day wasn't as good as it could have been. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

For the high price of the room I expected more. Three lights were out, the hairdryer didn't work and the battery cover for the remote had gone and been taped up haphazardly. The restaurant seemed like a fast food joint and was just adequate. Due to the small number of hotels within close proximity to Yosemite, I expect the guests are on one off stays and hence the hotel is not too bothered about the quality provided for the money. Therefore, I would urge guests to look at other options before booking here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not the dearest we paid but second dearest at $187 a night for 7 nights for the room only. We had a fridge so we bought food in for our breakfasts and lunches. The shop here was expensive. The shop in Yosemite Valley in the NP was cheaper! however I would advise you stock up well before the western park entrance as there is nothing for an hour driving west from El Portal. We did a hike in Kings Canyon and only left there at !7.00 so could not stock up on food until we arrived and forgot about it en route. Having said that I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Yosemite. It is only 20 minutes to the National park from here and 35 to the visitor centre in the valley. The senior manageress was very helpful and checked us in swiftly. The room was very clean and comfortable with a TV, fridge and a nice bathroom.
The restaurant was ok too and we found enough variety for 6 night's meals. On whole nicely cooked and presented.most meals include the soup- only average- but a lovely salad bar. Service did vary from waiting on person to waiting on person. One or two brought the main course before we had finished our starter. This happened quite frequently throughout California. The only other slight niggles were $9 expected to use the wi fi, no chance it should be free like elsewhere. Also the A/C was noisy and we had to turn it off most nights to get to sleep. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.