We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice outside the park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice choice outside the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile


2 minute walking to the river swimming in the nature. Indoor swiimmimg pool and jacuzzi after hiking. Restaurant good money value. 

Outside national park so about 20 minutes by car to the main hub at Yosemite Lodge, but less crowded with groups of day trip tourists coming in bus loads.

Air con seems to be left on by staff even we are out all day, or centrally monitored? Not environmentally friendly in this case.

Nice choice if you decide to stay outside the park for the budget, or if you cannot get a similar accommodation inside the park

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    481
    571
    219
    106
See reviews for
423
662
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a good stay in Cedar Lodge. The rooms were clean but a bit old fashioned. The location is very good, and the pools were a blessing. The restaurant is overpriced, just like the (small) store near the reception. The bar is cool, the bartenders are very nice and great to talk to. The fingerfood was good as wel.

What bothered me the most was the Wi-Fy. There isn't any, only at the reception and you have to pay 9 dollar a day for it. For the price I expect Wi-Fy. Nowadays it's a must, eventhough I don't need it, I can imagine others do.

A tip for the managers: maybe organise a barbecue or some game nights, I think the guests (which are mostly families staying for multiple days) will definitely appreciate that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is only 6 miles away from the Yosemite park entrance, being a very convenient location.
This hotel gets a large number of international guests, and they falsely assumed that I did not speak English, so they spoke in a condescending manner to me in asking for my license plate number.
This hotel has very nice outdoor and indoor pools, though we did not have time to use them. Our room was large, with 2 queen size beds and a surprisingly large bathroom, more than enough room for family of 4. Our family all liked all the carved bear statues decorating the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
431 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a large room with two queen beds that were very comfortable. The room was clean and the AC worked great. The bathroom was good size and also clean. As noted, 9 bucks for Internet only in the lobby though I was told wi fi throughout the facility was coming soon. We stayed 2 nights and then left for another section of Yosemite and then returned for 2 nights. There are only 2 other places to stay in el portal so the nightly rate is steep but it is very convenient to Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Room was nice enough, large with good air conditioners. Showers were strange to operate and no instruction given on how to use them. The only person that gave friendly service was the maitre'd on the counterat the restaurant. Nobody else really seemed that happy to be there. There is only one restaurant and one bar that offers a few meals, but from what i could tell they operate out of the same kitchen. I recommend getting in early if you want to eat before 9:30pm - and eat at the restaurant, not the bar. The breakfast was good though and staff in the restaurant on breakfast duty were much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights while visiting Yosemite. It was close to the park entrance and had nice looking swimming pools. The room was a good size and came with a coffee maker and fridge. The room had some homey woodsy-rustic touches to it like the nicely detailed headboards and the moose lamps. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The only downsides to this place were the less than polite service at the front desk and the ridiculous price for the WiFi that you could only use in their lobby (our room was at the complete opposite side of the whole lodge complex). We would probably stay here again, but the service leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice rooms are roomy and clean beds and a hide a bed couch. Bathrooms are roomy and clean. Has outdoor and indoor pools. Our room had a fridge but no microwave. There was a resturant and bar on site but pricey. Grounds are well cared for. We stayed two nights while we were at Yosemite. One downside is there was no wifi in the rooms. A third party supplied it for $9.00 for 24 hours, but it had to be used in the lobby and it was slow and the lobby was crowed because of this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
13.8 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,559 reviews
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Ahwahnee
The Ahwahnee
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,852 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
5.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.