We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic with gorgeous views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rustic with gorgeous views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having read the reviews of the Lodge before booking, I have to say I was a little concerned. I needn't have been. Our room was huge - king size bed, giant bath that could have fit at least 4 people in it, spacious shower. Everything was clean. Shampoo and soap were provided. The water pressure was incredible in the shower, and the bath hardly took any time to fill. The bed was comfortable, and the walls between rooms weren't too thin. Coffee pot, coffee and fridge were provided, with styrofoam and plastic cups. And the best part is, you open your door and the view is just incredible.

A couple of odd things about the room - first of all, there were clocks - hanging on the wall, alarm or otherwise. Secondly, there was no bathmat, which made getting in and out of the shower and bath dangerous. We used a handtowel, but it wasn't really suitable. The light in the toilet was very dim, and the fan sounded like a helicopter taking off. The jets in our bath didn't work - we tried every switch, button and knob we could find, and nothing worked. We rang reception, but the woman who answered had no idea how to use it. She did offer to send someone up, but as we were naked, we declined. If we had been staying longer, we would have pursued the matter, but as we only stayed two nights, we left it and just had a bath without them.

Breakfast the first day was a-la-carte, which surprised me as I expected a buffet. I tried to order the cinnamon roll French toast, but they no longer have cinnamon rolls, so I chose pancakes, which were huge. The second morning was a buffet, which had a good selection of items. I don't know how they decide whether or not it will be a buffet or a-la-carte, both days we ate there were weekdays.

Dinner was good, the bar/grill had a good atmosphere and a decent range of food options. I had fish and chips and a children's cheeseburger and both were tasty. The bartender is friendly and makes a great margarita (only $6!)

There is an indoor and outdoor pool, and an arcade for kids (or adults). The gift shop is a bit naff but does have a small array of food. The people manning the reception desk are a bit unfriendly and generally disinterested, but the location is good and everything else was adequate. Internet is $10 and can only be used in the lobby. I'm not averse to paying for internet in such a remote location, but to only be able to use it in the lobby is a little frustrating.

No raccoons in the parking lot, and no bed bugs in sight!

Note: Despite the room being fully paid for, a hold of $208 was put on our credit card for "room incidentals". Given there is no mini bar or anything, really, in the room one could want to take, I found this to be excessive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    412
    474
    192
    87
See reviews for
347
566
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during a stay to Yosemite. This hotel is about 12 miles outside of the park but it excellent value for money and the drive never gets boring.

Rooms are spacious and adequate in a motel fashion. They were also acceptably clean. There is a bar and restaurant onsite, along with pool and spa. There is also another hotel 7 miles up the road which has better eateries if you wish to travel.

Overall considering the cost I was very surprised in the quality of this accomodation and would recommend as a very good value options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place ticks the boxes for people who want to visit Yosemite. It is very basic but considering you are in a place where you'll be spending most of the time outdoors this hotel represents good value and is in a pretty good location.
The buffet breakfast has enough variety to give you a good start to the day and the indoor pool was warm for a relaxing swim after a big day of exploring. (We didn't try the outdoor pool but it looked equally as inviting. The meals in the diner were ok with a typical kids menu and there are other restaurants at the more upmarket hotels if you are looking for something more fancy.
There is Wifi available in the lobby area for a fee but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This would have been a perfect stay if the hotel had bothered to install wifi facilities. In a world where travellers have become ever so reliant on internet access, in the last few years I personally haven't come across a hotel that doesn't provide not only internet, but free internet service to its customers. Cedar Lodge has become the first. Our deprivation of internet access is exacerbated by the fact that there is no cellphone signal in Yosemite. Not only do you have to buy internet ($9 per 24 hours), you are also restricted to using it in the lobby area.

Also, do note that there is no hairdryer and no complimentary breakfast.

Having said that, this hotel has many positive attributes. A little pricey, but it's probably money well spent (except for the no wifi part). Our room was beautifully furnished, well lit, extremely spacious and most importantly, it was super clean. It does give off a homely vibe.

To sum it up, I guess this hotel struck me as one that tries to make your stay a pleasant one, but overlooks basic necessities like wifi and a hairdryer which could very well backfire their endeavour. In my case, it did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Yosemite. The rooms were a good size with a large jacuzzi bath, separate shower room and toilet. Plenty of free parking, bar and restaurant. The shop in reception is well stocked. A little more pricey than normal but it is in the middle of nowhere. The swimming pool looked nice and inviting on a hot day but we didn't get chance to use it as we were out all day.

It's about 20 miles from Yosemite, an easy drive or the Yarts bus stops right outside and you can buy tickets from reception. There is no mobile signal but the staff at reception allowed us to use their phone to book Yosemite grand tour tickets.

This is a great option if you don't want to stay in Yosemite Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed just one night at Cedar last summer, which was recommended by a friend as "acceptable lodge". The reception was not as friendly as supposed to be. They gave me a room in which two people inside were taking bath.
Close to Yosemite park, but overpriced especially during the peak season in summer. I could accept that, since every lodge in that area is expensive. No free WiFi. No breakfast. There is a small grocery store in the lobby, where I couldn't pick the food that look "right and normal". The room was old, but not as old as the bed linens by the looking. It's quiet and dark, so the only good memory is relax, and count the starts with my friends while having a drink in the paring lot.
I'm not sure if I will ever go back next time when I go to Yosemite.

Oh by the way, the food in the restaurent nearby, were really tragedy!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

While driving up to Yosemite National Park from LA, without prior reservations, we happened on Mariposa and stopped at the tourist information office to inquire about motel availability. They recommended Cedar Lodge at El Portal, CA, which turned out to be just delightful. Nice people, good, basic, comfortable room, located close to the entrance of the Park. Two restaurants on site, a Bar & Grill and a more formal one which was not open while we were there, but the Grill was fine. They have coffee tea and instant oatmeal available at breakfast, and although no internet or cell service (none throughout the park), it was a good find. The heated pool and Jacuzzi were heaven after a day of sightseeing in the park!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.