We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place close to park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Covington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent place close to park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just returned form Yosemite about 10 days ago. We stayed at Cedar Lodge 3 nights. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and well-kept. The decor is certainly dated, but you're not there for the room anyway. The reviews are correct that there is no cell service and Internet is only available in the lobby of the reservations/gift shop buidling of the property, which property is comprised of numerous motel style buildings. They do have very basic cable TV. We saw the pools but did not use it. There is a bar, but we didn't use it either.

This is not a property for night owls. We arrived late at night after a long travel day from the mid-west and had to ring the bell of the locked reservations building for service. The clerk did serve us but we soon found out that everything closes early here. Even the "dinner" diner onsite stops serving food at 8:30 p.m. There are a few groceries available in the reservations building's sundries/gift shop but most require cooking/utensils or dishes etc and none are available. There is a microwave in that lobby, but none in the rooms and no kitchenettes. I suppose if you really need those late at night, the clerk MIGHT sell you something if you ring the doorbell, but I'm sure they prefer folks to think the the shop is closed by 11:00 pm when they lock the lobby doors.

If you need groceries and have your own way to prepare them (RV?) there is a full service grocery at the Park entrance at the Village inside Yosemite about 1/2 hour away in the park, or several groceries down the mountain back in Mariposa in the other direction. Otherwise, the restaurant at a related property to the lodge (Yosemite View Lodge) up the road and just outside the park entrance is open later and they DO have really good pizza, as other reviews have said. I was skeptical of it, but it truly is good quality za. They also have a full dinner menu and
I believe are open til a out 10 pm.

Breakfast at Cedar Lodge restaurant was yummy and hearty both days we ate. The staff there was pleasant. It is not cheap, but it is a hotel after all. I was thankful for truly fresh fruit on the menu. There are vending machines on property, but they were empty when we were there. I know it was the end of "off-season", but if your shop is closed, at least stock the vending machines, knowing provisions are at least a half hour in either direction if someone is stuck all out.

The nights are dark and sky is starry. The river across the road is beautiful and the mountainsscapes all around remind you where you are. We did not mind not having wi-if with the beauty all around us.

We paid $89 a night vs $129 being charged at Yosemite View Lodge. I liked the savings, but if you NEED access to closer and later food, consider the Yosemite View instead.

ALl in all, this property was fine for what we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    393
    450
    178
    84
See reviews for
329
535
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked Cedar Lodge as it was considerably cheeper than staying in the Park. A short 10 minutes to the park entrance. Place had a nice atmosphere. Rooms were basic but comfortable. Free parking outside your room. Each room had a balcony. Retaurant was basic but food was good and resonably priced. Breakfast was included and was very good. When visiting the park, make sure you drive up to Glacier point in time for sunset, beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was a 15 minute drive to Yosemite NP. It was fairly pricey but has a pool, large, clean and comfortable rooms. The room had a balcony, tea and coffee making facilities, free car parking & had a nice on site bar/ restaurant which was reasonable.

Staff were helpful & the premises are well maintained. There is also a river over the road which has several walks & the hotel is safe for singles, family & couples alike. There also appeared to be a games room and indoor pool which families appeared to be making use of.

Would highly recommmend staying here, overall the cost was out weighed was worth what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were originally going to stay in the Cedar Lodge, a few reviews on this site mentioned the river houses, so we explored Yosemite Resort Houses site and found a great alternative to the lodge.

They have four houses. Two sleep 12. One house sleeps four, and the other sleeps six. We stayed in the Gatekeepers house (sleeps six). Low season price was $130 per night (cheaper than two rooms in the lodge) It's one bath, one bedroom with a loft. The bedroom has a queen. The loft has two queens, and can be accessed by a loft ladder, or a external door.

It was clean, also has maid service, full kitchen, dinning table, living room, deck, bbq grill, and nice views. Location is three miles from main lodge (you can still use lodge amenities), and about 20 mins from park.

P.S. Two of the houses on a steep hill. Be prepared to lug the suitcases.

Room Tip: The Yosemite Lodge website does not have good photos. Search for the properties to find better phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel relies on it's close proximity to the entrance to Yosemite NP and really needs to lift it's standards.

The rooms only offer the basics. The beds were uncomfortable, No cell phone reception, Expensive Internet that is only available in reception.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

The restaurant has a limited menu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Week stayed in river house in last month, yosemite, is wonderful place.the ce dar hotel is distant maybe 16 miles of the park, and the river house 2 miles before.this place there aren't snow, in the winther but many animals we can see. The access to the park is very easy , in 30 minute.The river house is complete toe 12 people,2 bwb, no fireplace, but there was bbc place, no internet, no laundry, but we ask toe the manager that open other house and we used the laundry.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived hot and tired in the height of the season to be told there was no record of our booking (made via the National Park Authority) and the hotel was full! After much discussion, we were offered a room 2.5 miles further (west) down the road at "Savages Outpost". Thinking we were getting fobbed off, imagine our surprise when we found ourselves in the luxury apartment here - enormous 4-poster bed, hot tub, double shower, beautiful kitchen, private riverside patio and well-furnished lounge! We didn't want to leave!

I've no idea what the regular price of this place is, but it's just fantastic luxury!

Back home, after a bit of investigation, it appeared that it was the hotel's not the Park Authority's mistake; but their compensation wasn't bad!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.