We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonus stay in superb location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices from these 5 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bonus stay in superb location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived hot and tired in the height of the season to be told there was no record of our booking (made via the National Park Authority) and the hotel was full! After much discussion, we were offered a room 2.5 miles further (west) down the road at "Savages Outpost". Thinking we were getting fobbed off, imagine our surprise when we found ourselves in the luxury apartment here - enormous 4-poster bed, hot tub, double shower, beautiful kitchen, private riverside patio and well-furnished lounge! We didn't want to leave!

I've no idea what the regular price of this place is, but it's just fantastic luxury!

Back home, after a bit of investigation, it appeared that it was the hotel's not the Park Authority's mistake; but their compensation wasn't bad!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    400
    453
    182
    86
See reviews for
334
542
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gwent South Wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We didn't spend much time in this hotel as we were in the national park most of the time but it was pleasant enough. Bar and restaurant on site which was ok. Close to the entrance of Yosemite NP. About 15 min drive. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not too far from the Yosemite park, and not too expensive compared to the park's accomodation.
Confortable. Nice swimming pool and spa.
A small shop where you can buy snacks.
Didn't like: Need to pay for internet...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Cedar Lodge and I must say I was pleasantly surprised for the most part. Yosemite was essentially sold out (and crazy priced as always!) but I still didn't want to be too far from the valley so I thought I would give Cedar Lodge a try. It is 1 of only 2 motels in the El Portal area. I had previously enjoyed stays at the other (much more costly) hotel a few miles nearer to the park entrance.

The front desk and general store area are very nice and everyone we dealt with at the hotel was very efficient and courteous. There were only 3 smallish pillows on the big king size bed so they were accomodating to bring us 3 more with hardly any waiting. The room was comfy and nice sized although we never used the jacuzzi tub at all. Because of the open tub layout it was nice (and appropriate) that the toilet be in its own enclosed room. There was a nice new flat screen tv with HBO but not a lot of other channel selections.

We didn't go to the bar/grill or the restaurant at all but they appeared nice and clean from a distance. Overall given that this room was half the cost of the other nearby lodging I was very pleased and will recommend this to friends and family when they visit Yosemite in the future.

The biggest problem was ZERO cellular service for any carrier. They have limited wireless access as well but neither of these is the reason you go to Yosemite anyway. The only other complaint was some noisy neighbors who were coming and going all night and knocking on doors and slamming doors.

Check around for pricing as I found several options and saved even more with the outlet I chose.

Room Tip: The king spa suites are nice but the bathroom arrangement is a bit awkward. If you really want to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Save money if your passing through Yosemite and stay here - it is much cheaper than staying in Yosemite Park.

The rooms, whilst a little dated in decor were really comfortable and the bed was huge! The spa bath was lovely and a great night sleep was had!
The food on offer was okay and good value, we didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment but dinner was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is a few miles down the road from Yosemite National Park, but during the off-season it doesn't really matter. The location is nice and the rooms are fine. Nothing fancy, but quite adequate. The rooms do seem a little dark and dated, but wasn't planning to spend much time there. The worst part about the off-season is that there are workers staying there during the week who start their day rather early. The lobby has a small store with some groceries. WiFi is only available in the lobby (extra charge). There are some nice gazebos across the road near the Merced River that would be good place to relax. Indoor and outdoor pools if you really need them. There isn't much else nearby but 1 restaurant and a bar (with food). Prefer the bar because it was more cozy and open more in the off-season (and definitely not crowded either).

Room Tip: Upper floor is probably better to have a balcony. Highly recommend reservations if staying during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived at our hotel only to find out they did not have our reservation. After some checking they verified we had prepaid for 4 nights and gave us a room. The room was in terrible repair. The bathroom drain dripped onto the floor. The room door leading to outside had no door sweep so there was a 1/2' - 3/4' gap under the door so yes there were bugs in the room. The shower was hot, then cold, then hot again. The room was not real clean but ok.
The only good part of the stay was the small confience store next to the lobby so we could buy water for our hikes and the breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of food.
We complained about the room but not price adjustment or repairs were made.
Would not stay there again!

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.