We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok - some good & rude staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Just ok - some good & rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Bedroom reasonable size, comfortable beds. Table with two chairs in the room. Good size bathroom. Our room was clean. No Internet access unless you pay for it. Restaurant on site was average. Diner on site was ok and served standard diner food. My wife was Ill one morning and I asked the restaurant manager if I could take her a little breakfast so she could eat, as the rest of the family was going sightseeing for the day and she would stay at the hotel and rest. I was made to feel I was lying and clearly advised rules are rules and that you must in all instances be in the restaurant to receive the complementary breakfast. I understand that there are rules, so much for being honest and attempting to receive a little understanding. The next night I thought my son was getting Ill and we needed to speak with a doctor or get details of a medical clinic. I asked to get some details from a young male person at the front desk. He had nil compassion and boy did he let me know it. He was rude to the point sighing and demonstrating a complete lack of interest in my concern for my son. I was in no way rude to thi person. Please folks get some training for these people they are hurting your business.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    409
    470
    191
    87
See reviews for
343
562
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall happy with the accommodation, but to charge extra for WIFI and only available in the lobby is behind the times, where it should be a free service like many other hotels. I have stayed there twice now and would be happy to return again.

Room Tip: Room at the front ground floor is best, then you can park your car right outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting Yosemite. I have to say the location is brilliant, the hotel has a calm lake just over the road. This is great to go swimming in as the current is very week, the hotel also has two swimming pools. However the air conditioning was very noisy and it may wake you up during the night. The rooms are big but not in top condition and very dated. Overall this hotel is ideal for people who are looking for somewhere to rest there heads and a quick drive into Yosemite. If i ever stayed at Yosemite again i would consider staying here again:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a grim place. From surly unhelpful front of house staff to poorly equipped drab and nasty rooms through to the world's worst breakfast we loved every minute. And oh my gosh the generosity of asking $9 for wifi that you could only get in the foyer. There was not a single redeeming feature about this place. Every detail was horrible from TVs with broken loudspeakers, out of date poorly equipped rooms - we asked for a coffee maker or kettle and was told that we would have to go to reception to get hot water.

Breakfast was the worst in any hotel we have stayed in during the last two months of travelling around the US - toast that had lain around on the Bain Marie for an hour, the threatening sign on the milk 'for cereal only' and if you wanted milk in your perked to death coffee? Extra of course. And why no two tier price structure, if you didn't want the cooked why the need to pay the same for a continental breakfast. Thank goodness we found the market on our way to the park where decent coffee came with a smile, a small price tag and a help yourself choice of bagels. Oh, and the bar, which was all that was open when we were there, very limited choice ad poorly cooked. Grim grim grim!

Room Tip: Choose a room someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room and the bathroom were in need of decoration, coffee facilities consisted of untidy coffee machine and plastic cups that were never replaced, no bathroom mat and the towels with the holes. I will not even start on the charging for WiFi.
But the most unpleasant experience was in the diner. While I agree there is not such a thing as a free breakfast but if you are prepared to pay for a buffet breakfast ( not great either), there should not be additional costs. However when we already were sitting at the table we were advised that we will have to pay £2 each on the top of £12 if we want milk or juices. I believe it is very mean.
So we never went there again, had lovely (and much cheaper) breakfasts at the small grocery shop on the way to the park ( they have the freshest salads and sandwiches) and pleasant dinners at Yosemite View hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Well located for Yosemite especially as we did not want to stay in the Park because of reports of Hantivirus. Hotel was just about ok. Air conditioning was incredibly noisy and seemed ancient. As it was very hot we needed to use it but could not sleep with it on. Generally the hotel was a bit run down. It seemed pretty well fully booked perhaps because of the location. I would not want to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Cedar Lodge as it was close to Yosemite. We visited the park on the first day they had rain since May! The locals were happy but we were not so thrilled! Great indoor pool that the kids loved. Nice beds, clean, basic rooms. Noisy A/C and no tea/coffee in the rooms. Friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast but evening meals were disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.