We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This lodge is about five minutes from the entrance to Yosemite: the resulting value for money alone rates it a five. Having read previous reviews, we requested an updated room (still available the day we arrived in late April) and brought our own pillows. Yes, the towels are thin, but they do the job. Yes, the TV is old-style, but it worked perfectly well, and we didn't go to Yosemite to watch TV. The two queen bed room was very large, and the view of the Merced River from our balcony, where we ate breakfast and sat out after a day of hiking, was spectacular. The sound of the river at night was wonderful. We avoided the restaurant lines by eating breakfast and two dinners in our room, using the perfectly adequate kitchenette; there is a small, but well stocked general store a few minutes down the road. The first night we had pizza, which was quite good. Charges for wifi are annoying, though we would have paid $10 more per night for the room without a complaint. Instead, we found good AT&T coverage at several locations within the park, even high on the mountains, so we read our email and downloaded the newspaper during the day in glorious surroundings. We would happily go back to this lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    896
    696
    259
    138
See reviews for
779
1,018
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was shocked to see how much nicer it is in person than people are saying here. I think they're referring to the furnishings in the room, which are really old, dusty and need replacing, including the carpeting and fixtures. But the view from the balcony in each room cannot be beat. Bring back your food, eat on the balcony and enjoy the view. I thought the service was great. Check in and out was as simple as can be. There's a market next to the check-in desk where you can pick up a bite to eat or beer, etc. They also have a gift shop. Then the rooms are in various buildings throughout the property. I was the only one at the pool but the water was very cool (in April). The hot tub was kind of hot for me because it was about 80 degrees out. So I didn't end up going in either. There's an ice machine on the ground floor. The kitchen is pretty complete, so you can cook a whole meal is you want. The air is very loud in the room but it works.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff was friendly but they are behind on maintenance. Two lamps in our room were wobbly, we had to reattach bulb assembly, one failed to work anyway; Room phone did not work, required hotel operator assistance; mediocre mattress, poor pillows; many cigarette butts on the ground outside our door. Phone details: The hotel is out of cell range- needed room phone for long distance but dialing 9 per instructions all I got was a beep tone. Hotel operator connected me. On third call I complained, hotel desk did offer to come to the room to fix phone (why would that be necessary). As it was almost 11pm we declined.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor with river deck access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a great location. High price, outdated room with dirty carpet and worn furniture. Hard beds, terrible pillows, thin towels. Laundry room was a joke as none of the machines work. 10.00 per day charge for internet. With a little work this could be a really nice place. I would book earlier next time and stay in a nicer place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have a large patio. We stayed in Dogwood 1079 and it was a thoroughfare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Motel complex with several buildings, heated outdoor and indoor pool. Good location 10 min outside Yosemite, get to gates before 9.30 to skip car lines. Great pizza at hotel and nice restaurant for breakfast (pay extra) and dinner. Worked well with out kids 4+6 yrs. Rooms ok. Clean, but a bit dated.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lodge was good. Kind of busy,very close to the yosemite west entrance , tge river view is nice. The lobby was being renovated so it was messy. The receptionists were all young people, not friendly at all. Liked the restaurant tho it is under different management. The room was ok, the shower head was not working probably. The two advantages are proximity to park entrance and being pet friendly. Probably wouldn't go there again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location is unbeatable.
Room is as dirty/dingy as possible. $10 for WiFi after overpriced room. Pillow is as thick as a piece of white bread. Ants crawling around the room. They are redoing the lobby to create a store/gift shop. They seem to only be interested in ways to get more money out of you. Pit some money back into the room and the place would not be a dump.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.