We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to visit YOSEMITE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
El Portal
1 review
“Good place to visit YOSEMITE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent 2 days and it was a very good time. We like the room with balcony over the river, the fireplace pleasant in Automn, the SPA, a full kitchen with refrigerator and stove, we can prepare our own breakfast with food we can buy at the hotel shop. Free parking, bur not free Internet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    819
    580
    210
    98
See reviews for
655
857
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Yosemite view lodge was in a great location. Right at the west entrance. The accommodation was basic and clean. The bathroom was lovely and large and the beds were comfortable and decent. It was great having kitchen facilities as we made our own lunches to take with us and dinner one night. The restaurant on site is not the greatest. There is also an onside shop with a small selection of grocery type items and lots of souvenirs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The location was perfect for what we had planned. We paid $120- plus tax in November and that was probably fair for the place, I can not image paying double in the summer as we hear some folks do. The pillows were very small and old. The water in the tub came out rusty, we were on the ground level but could not enjoy the patio over looking the river due to numerous folks outside . We opened our door for just a minute and the smoked filled the room. The coffee pot was very dirty and did not work well. There is a small little kitchen that was handy to have. Ridiculous in this day and age to have to pay extra for internet. My cell had no coverage(Straight talk-they use ATT towers) in the hotel but I did in the park (?) my husbands blackberry worked fine in the hotel.

Room Tip: First floor allowed for very easy packing and unpacking of car, the trunk was right next to the door...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South east UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Motel style location about half a mile from the entrance to the National park. Its a very pretty location especially if you get a chalet that backs on to the river that flows at the back of the lodge. Room was a little tired looking but comfortable and equiped with microwave and fridge. We stayed a few days after the Park was reopened following the US Budget problems and government shutdown so perhaps they had staff problems which would explain the slightly 'Basil Fawlty' approach of the restaurant manager. Also the bar staff, all one of him, was so overworked he had clearly lost the plot and just given up, so don't expect to be served anytime quick in the adjoining bar. I have marked service as poor largely due to the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that backs onto the river as has balcony with nice view and would likely be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Having had such positive experiences with hotel staff in the States we were stunned to find such a rude, unhelpful staff member at Yosemite Lodge. We deliberately booked the more expensive suite with our two families, overlooking the river, but didn't have enough cutlery, glassware, crockery or even tea towels for our two night stay.
When we explained that the 7 of us (in an 8 person suite) couldn't even eat together with the limited utensils available we were reluctantly provided with more, on the understanding that we would be charged for anything that was missing when we left! Each extra glass was pulled out unwashed from a cardboard box and we were reminded yet again that we would have to pay for them if they were broken or went missing! We are two families with 3 children under 9 and really not intent on stealing the very basic utensils that we were finally provided with! To say that we were insulted is an understatement.
Having said that the location was fantastic and the children loved their time in the river and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our spacious double queen bed room was mostly clean (a couple of ants), had fireplace and a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The faucets were heavily leaking, but a closed bathroom door solved the problem. The nearby breakfast restaurant offered a very good buffet at 11 USD per person.

Nicely located at a creek.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon, and were upgraded to a creek view room (lots of cancellations at the time made it possible due to fire on one side then government shut down looming on the other I think)
As everyone says the only real negative factor of his place is that the decor hasn't been updated in quite a while and I would add the walls are thin. Our sleep was a little interrupted: if you are a larger couple, perhaps rethink vigorous night-time activities given old beds and thin walls. Thanks :) Try get a top floor. We were bottom floor and could also hear the walking above us.

Other than that, the staff are all friendly, it had a usable fridge & kitchenette, it was clean, laundry available. Big bath tub.
Location is great. Because it was SO quiet when we went, we drove into the park each day so I can't comment on shuttles.

Room Tip: Creek view is lovely and really relaxing to sit on the balcony of in the afternoon. Try get a top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.