We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than I Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Better Than I Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here the first weekend in November and was pleasantly surprised. Just a mile or so from the western gate off CA-140. Very convenient to what appears to be a less popular entrance to the park...or maybe we just picked a lucky weekend. Multiple three story buildings in this fairly large complex, many with balcony's overlooking the Merced River. Nothing else around for miles either way, but they have a restaurant / bar / pizza place and a small convenience shop on-site which is helpful. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and a large bathroom...nothing fantastic but not bad at all. Only a few channels on the TV, which are a little out of date, but we didn't really come to watch TV anyway. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would probably stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: The building in the back of the property have balcony's overlooking the Merced River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    815
    565
    206
    94
See reviews for
640
849
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here as part of a road trip. The location is great, really close to the national park, but this place could actually be fantastic given some tlc, Fittings and furnishings were outdated and some on their last legs, which was a shame. This is essentially a motel, but it has such a prime position, it must surely be worthy of further investment. Our experience was added to by a visit from some tree climbing racoons on our balcony, which I'm sure would have joined me in the shower if I hadn't remembered to shut the patio door! We got take out pizza from the on site restaurant for dinner, which was reasonable value considering the fact you are a 'captive audience' and tasty too. Reception staff made check in/out simple.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Disclaimer: My husband and I had a groupon deal for a 2-night stay before the end of the year, so I can't comment on the actual value of the room (not sure how much it normally would be for a Friday/Saturday night).

I can say that we enjoyed our stay. We were in a king room with a balcony that overlooked the river. The view was lovely. The room was clean. There was a little kitchen area with dishes and a microwave (very helpful if you don't want to spend a fortune on food). We loved the gas fireplace! Very warm and comfortable bed as well, which was great after a long day of hiking. There was a spa tub, but we didn't use it. We did use the dual shower heads though... THAT was great! The onsite dining establishment was average in both quality and price. We spent about $40 for dinner (not including tip).

The best part was that it's only about a 5-minute drive to the park.

Room Tip: I have a feeling the river-view rooms are the nicest in both view and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

with groupon this was a good deal, esp since we hadn't planned a trip to Yosemite this late in the season. we had a very nice room with a patio overlooking the meager water flowing in the merced river.

don't know how the room stayed so warm but it was 39F in the mornings outside and almost too warm inside w/no heater or fire in the fireplace. unfortunately, we were not able to open the window, it was jammed.

the bed was plenty firm, pillows were funky but really good to sleep on. tub was ginormous, didn't do a spa thing in it, ran out of time in the evenings. tv reception was not good on all channels.

i submitted a review for the The River Restaurant located on premise, under different ownership than the lodge.

the staff at the front desk were not at all friendly or outgoing. they almost acted as if they were visitors and didn't really belong there.

we enjoyed our stay. but groaned over the drive into the park each day. we have already booked our springtime trip next year to stay IN the park. the yosemite view lodge is only $2 less than the yosemite lodge at the falls - and you don't have the drive each day.


the restaurant on the property (River Restaurant and Lounge) had a breakfast buffet, and since there was no crowd when we were there, the food in the trays had sat a couple hours by the time we arrived and was not warm at all. the slices of toast had sat under the warming lights so long, they turned into crackers.

if all had been warm/hot it would have been SO good. if you're a bacon-lover, you'd love the bacon. besides plain scrambled eggs, there was a scrambled egg with mushrooms, cheese, peppers, onion = scrumptous. sausages were good. the hotcakes and everything else looked great but i didn't taste any of it. the awesome eggs scramble and bacon was plenty.

there was also fresh fruit, oatmeal, french toast, warm syrup...all kinds of different things to choose from.

cruz' homemade salsa was EXcellent. as was the service.

Arnie, our server was the best - friendly, attentive and simply terrific.

Room Tip: the river view rooms are worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had booked a room for February 2014, but because of a change in plans, had to cancel. Sam was very good at helping us find solutions to our plans. He emailed me promptly several times with good information. Even though we didn't stay here, I feel that any hotel that provides friendly and helpful service after you have cancelled, deserves a nod!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one day after the government shut down for 3 nights.
The location is excellent if you can not book a room inside Yosemite national park.
I stayed at this hotel a few times, the first time was about 17 years ago; at that time it was relatively new and was considered a nice hotel at a nice location. The Hotel since than was not upgraded accept the TV which is now a flat type. The price for a mountain side room which is the less expensive side is over $200 / night for a regular and very standard hotel type room. Needless to say it is quite expensive for an old type / style room. The hotel has one restaurant, quite good and one pizza place in the season time.
In the lobby there is a nice souvenir shop together with a small grocery shop
If you are not too tiered after a long day of hiking, there is an indoor pool.
On the more down side which really does not makes any sense is the WiFi system which is available but not free. When I was complaining about this, the reply was, we are not a big chain and can not afford a free WiFi. I believe that any hotel that charges over $200 for a standard motel type room they should provide free WiFi service like almost any $80 - $100/ night Motel / hotel. For the above reasons and even the for the excellent location I would not give the Yosemite View Lodge more than 3 stars and this is being generous. Next visit to Yosemite I will make efforts to reserve a room inside the park.

Room Tip: Make efforts to book ahead a time inside Yosemite park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is in a very convenient location very close to the entrance to Yosemite. We stayed in a river view room. Autumn is a perfect time to go. Approaching the lodge, one sees a nice facility in a beautiful location. The front desk staff was attentive and helpful unlike other reviewers had mentioned. We where lucky as the day we travelled to Yosemite the National Parks Closure ended and we where able to visit the park and see everything it had to offer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.