We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, friendly, happy place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Convenient, friendly, happy place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Only 5 minutes from the Gate to Yosemite! There is nothing any closer. It was much better and larger than we expected. The room and bathroom were spacious, with an adequately equipped kitchenette and a patio (balconies on upper floors). When we needed a utensil, it was at our door in minutes. There is also a well stocked convenience grocery store, nice gift shop and two restaurants (really great pizza place and an overpriced "dining room"), indoor and outdoor pools and an arcade on the property. Although their website doesn't even mention it, there are elevators - at least in our building (Maple). It may be a bit outdated, but it was comfortable with good service. But I wish I had reserved a room overlooking the river. It's worth it!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river if you can. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    874
    678
    247
    135
See reviews for
756
992
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Glos. England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Agree with majority - rooms have that tired look. The location is why we were here and only needed the hotel for food and bed. Praise for the restuarant - good range of food and good pricing considering the location. Wifi bit hit and miss

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

we stayed at the hotel for two nights in early September. The location is wonderful and there is a good restaurant, pizza café and small shop on the site. The rooms have good views but are in need of updating and the carpets were filthy which may not be a problem for the average traveller but we had a young baby ( I year ) and he got absolutely black crawling around. The rooms were comfortable but the furniture was dark and looked elderly and the air conditioning was really loud

There is a good wifi connection and the staff were helpful at sorting out our travel queries although they did try to sell us a guided trip around the park for 110 $ which we did for free using the park shuttle service. We thought this was bad practice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my second trip to Yosemite and I booked this hotel well in advance to make sure we got a reservation. I wasn't disappointed.

The hotel is not the most up to date and could do with some basic maintenance, but there was nothing really wrong with anything and minor glitches were sorted out by the helpful staff. We had a river view room, with a little balcony. The weather was great and we had come prepared to self cater, so it was lovely to cook a basic meal and sit out there watching the stars come out and watching squirrels, ducks and other little creatures gong about their business on the riverbank.

From my previous visit, I remembered that there was a long wait to get served in the restaurant, so although the cooking facilities in the room are limited I think this is a good option.

The best thing about the hotel is the location - just a few miles from the Arch Rock entrance. Yosemite National Park is truly awesome in the real sense of the word, and Yosemite View Lodge is a good base for exploring. It is overpriced though - we paid more here than any other hotel during a month long trip to the USA, including a five star hotel in Las Vegas!

Room Tip: River view is worth the extra if you want to spend time out on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

You cannot fault this hotel on its location. So close to the park and rooms overlooking a river. Unfortunately this hotel is clearly resting on its laurels knowing that people will stay there, regardless of the state of the hotel, owing to the fantastic location. The rooms are dark and everything could do with updating. You have to pay for internet usage when every other hotel we stayed in provides this for free. Staff upon check in/check out were uninterested and unfriendly. The outdoor pools were full of dead bugs and all the 'spas' were broken. Food places were expensive and choice limited. The shop sold pretty much everything you could need for a short stay. Overall it didnt add anything to our trip, it was merely somewhere to sleep and keep our bags during the day. Such a shame as this place could be awesome if they just updated it a bit.

Room Tip: Go for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights in the older part of the site, as part of a touring holiday booked through Audley Travel. There was a wonderful view from our patio looking over the river. The rooms themselves were spacious enough and clean, but lacking in maintenance e.g. unable to have a bath as plug did not fit, rings on hob faulty and room in need of decoration. The restaurant meals were good especially the breakfasts, however beware they charge you $6 if you share a meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I would agree with a previous reviewer that it was both the most expensive and the worst hotel that we stayed in during a three week trip to the USA, however the location is great.

We arrived in the afternoon, check in was easy, our first floor river view room didn't have a lift so we had to carry our bags up the stairs. We went out to the park immediately and when we retuned discovered the rooms were extremely hot as the hotel had not left the air conditioning on. I suppose they are trying to be green and not waste energy but the room was uncomfortable and it was the only hotel where we had this problem.

The room itself though dated was clean, the bathroom had seen better days, and the lighting was extremely dim, even with all the lights on it was hard to see to read in the room. There was a charge for internet access.

The launderette was useful, although the washing did need two lots of drying, it was a good opportunity to clean some clothes.

We had dinner in the restaurant, the service was fine but the food was very average, there was a fresh salad bar which was quite nice. Breakfast was a buffet which wasn't great I think by the time we arrived about 9am a lot of the food had been keeping warm for some time.

Room Tip: ask for river view rooms they are much quieter and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.