We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for the Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Teesside
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very convenient for the Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my second trip to Yosemite and I booked this hotel well in advance to make sure we got a reservation. I wasn't disappointed.

The hotel is not the most up to date and could do with some basic maintenance, but there was nothing really wrong with anything and minor glitches were sorted out by the helpful staff. We had a river view room, with a little balcony. The weather was great and we had come prepared to self cater, so it was lovely to cook a basic meal and sit out there watching the stars come out and watching squirrels, ducks and other little creatures gong about their business on the riverbank.

From my previous visit, I remembered that there was a long wait to get served in the restaurant, so although the cooking facilities in the room are limited I think this is a good option.

The best thing about the hotel is the location - just a few miles from the Arch Rock entrance. Yosemite National Park is truly awesome in the real sense of the word, and Yosemite View Lodge is a good base for exploring. It is overpriced though - we paid more here than any other hotel during a month long trip to the USA, including a five star hotel in Las Vegas!

Room Tip: River view is worth the extra if you want to spend time out on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    813
    599
    213
    108
See reviews for
702
881
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

You cannot fault this hotel on its location. So close to the park and rooms overlooking a river. Unfortunately this hotel is clearly resting on its laurels knowing that people will stay there, regardless of the state of the hotel, owing to the fantastic location. The rooms are dark and everything could do with updating. You have to pay for internet usage when every other hotel we stayed in provides this for free. Staff upon check in/check out were uninterested and unfriendly. The outdoor pools were full of dead bugs and all the 'spas' were broken. Food places were expensive and choice limited. The shop sold pretty much everything you could need for a short stay. Overall it didnt add anything to our trip, it was merely somewhere to sleep and keep our bags during the day. Such a shame as this place could be awesome if they just updated it a bit.

Room Tip: Go for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights in the older part of the site, as part of a touring holiday booked through Audley Travel. There was a wonderful view from our patio looking over the river. The rooms themselves were spacious enough and clean, but lacking in maintenance e.g. unable to have a bath as plug did not fit, rings on hob faulty and room in need of decoration. The restaurant meals were good especially the breakfasts, however beware they charge you $6 if you share a meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I would agree with a previous reviewer that it was both the most expensive and the worst hotel that we stayed in during a three week trip to the USA, however the location is great.

We arrived in the afternoon, check in was easy, our first floor river view room didn't have a lift so we had to carry our bags up the stairs. We went out to the park immediately and when we retuned discovered the rooms were extremely hot as the hotel had not left the air conditioning on. I suppose they are trying to be green and not waste energy but the room was uncomfortable and it was the only hotel where we had this problem.

The room itself though dated was clean, the bathroom had seen better days, and the lighting was extremely dim, even with all the lights on it was hard to see to read in the room. There was a charge for internet access.

The launderette was useful, although the washing did need two lots of drying, it was a good opportunity to clean some clothes.

We had dinner in the restaurant, the service was fine but the food was very average, there was a fresh salad bar which was quite nice. Breakfast was a buffet which wasn't great I think by the time we arrived about 9am a lot of the food had been keeping warm for some time.

Room Tip: ask for river view rooms they are much quieter and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Well, you can't beat the location. just outside the west entrance. That is the best I can say about this place.

I overheard employees saying that they get lots of complaints; no doubt. They said the new owners don't care about the place. Well if they care less about the place than the previous owners, this place will get even scarier, as the previous owners clearly hadn't done anything with it in years.

They also mentioned that only 1 of the 7 Jacuzzi tubs worked.

Cleanliness is the main complaint. The carpet near the sink area had obvious stains to the point that you wanted to keep you shoes on so that you didn't catch anything. The toaster had food stains on the exterior. There were numerous ants crawling everywhere on the sink area daily; I killed about 30 just standing there one morning.

The lamp had the knob missing. I was able to grip the protruding knob with a can opener to get the light turned on. I left it on the first day, thinking that the cleaning crew would notice that they couldn't turn it off and fix it; they just unplugged it!

The cushions on the dirty pullout sofa sunk down so low that our legs sat on the hard rim at the front edge.

The temperature knob inside the refrigerator was missing and set to the coldest temperature. Cream cheese we put in there froze solid by morning. Beer was also frozen.

This may be the dirtiest, poorly maintained hotel I have ever stayed in, but you can't beat the location.

The crab cakes in the bar are very good and are a bargain.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms mean looking at the road and the berm on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Pros: fantastic views, great location, very spacious, lots of room inside, plenty of spaces for cars, great views outside. Compared to prices you can pay elsewhere this was reasonably priced and pretty good value. Good layout.

Cons: dust everywhere in the room, filthy carpet near the kitchen area, wore socks and slippers and shoes as didn't want to walk about in bare feet. Dirty stain on the top bed sheet. Main bed sheets were clean though. Bathroom was clean but it was the finishing touches...such as the dust and fly ridden window sill, the blind was covered in dust. Wish we had requested a room on the upper floor so we could have seen the river view better as we had trees in the way. Having said all of this from looking at photos our room was certainly the nicest so we were quite lucky. Waited almost 40 mins to check out at 6am in the morning-the receptionist was on the phone for god knows how long to a customer and had another couple wanting to check out before us - made us late for a pre booked trip as didn't expect to wait so long to check out.

For the owners: replace the carpets with wooden or tiled floors for hygiene, scrub every room head to toe, we do notice the details in the room (dust and dead flies in windows). Train your receptionists to prioritise multiple tasks at hand. He should have put the lady on the phone on hold for the sake of a few minutes.

Would stay again as overall was reasonably priced and good location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The setting of this hotel alongside the River Mercer was superb, as was its location near to the entrance of the spectacular Yosemite National Park. The rooms were okay, spacious enough but with furniture a bit tired, and that included the bathroom and fittings. Some parts of the hotel would have benefited from a good clean, including the stairs and the room windows, even if just to get rid of the cobwebs! It was irritating to be required to pay for the wi-fi access; shouldn't this be free in all hotels by now? The pool was very pleasant and the hot tub really was hot! The hotel restaurant was fine; avoid the curry; very bland and samey, but I can recommend the fish, and sitting outside to eat was lovely.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is great, with beautiful views and scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.