We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice location right next to the Merced river very close to Yosemite Naitonal park. We had a room on the first floor with a balcony facing the Merced river, awesome view!

Large room with a kitchen, balcony and a very large bathroom with a Jacuzzi. Though the room we stayd in was large and well equipped it was simply to dated and worn in relation to the cost of lodging. Ancient CRT TV.

Nice pool adjacent to the building we stayd in. Pretty good pizza place on hotel grounds. Good parking.

Check in and check out worked fine. All in all this is a good choice for lodging for someone who wants toi stay close to the park,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    832
    613
    216
    110
See reviews for
719
899
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in Redbud Building in a room with a view of the Merced River with our very calm mannered 100 pound lab and it was picture perfect. The King Room came with a private balcony facing the river and was equipped with a small kitchenette and full sized couch. There was plenty of room for our "little" family and we had no complaints.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here last minute, with no reservations so we can't be too picky about the lodging. However, the restaurant was awful with a capital A. Eat pizza at their pizza parlor, bring your own food, or stop at the gas station for better fare. The room was a double with a loft so the space would have been great for about 6 people. We just needed the bed, so I have no complaints about the room. Not quite clean, definitely needed some updating. Felt like I needed to keep my shoes on in the bathroom because the floor needed some serious elbow grease to get it clean. Comfy bed, but the bedspread had dried blood on the underside so we took that off right away, which then makes you start questioning the cleanliness of the sheets. Either way, for $175 it is definitely NOT a deal, but it IS close to the park, so you're getting a relatively dirty room with a great location. The restaurant smelled disgusting like it hadn't been cleaned in months. The wine had a film floating on the top of the wine in the glass. The waitress never came back and asked, even with all the food still on our plates and wine still in the glasses, whether everything was okay. We left sick to our stomachs from the odor, and an hour and fresh air later, hungry. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't stay here on a budget. Or if you are hungry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fantastic location near the entrance of Yosemite (southern point, valley floor). A shuttle to the park is available for a fee. The room was adequate. The best part was the balcony. Be sure to request a room on the river for a lovely view of the Merced. Two beds, small kitchenette, oversized bathtub with double showerheads. It was clean with plenty of fresh towels. Easy check in, nice staff. There's a small gift shop as well as a restaurant and a pizzeria. There is also a computer in the lobby. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for the best price and to request a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Carroll
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

When I booked the lodge online I got a mountain view, 2
Double beds. Well, the so called "mountain view" was more like a highway view. We weren't happy with that and asked to switch rooms. The man at the front desk acted like we were bothering him. He said there were no available rooms overlooking the river, then changed his story and said that they do have rooms with a view of the Merced river. He said we could switch rooms for $30, which we did. I was surprised when we got to the room. It was terribly outdated and wasn't very clean. the bathroom had an ant in the towel. There was hair all over the shower. On a lighter note,the beds and pillows were comfortable and air conditioning worked nicely. There was also a nice little refrigerator and kitchenette, which came in handy during our stay. They also give you a fireplace, which we didn't use because it was the middle of summer. There was a ceiling fan that we used at night. The rooms and bathroom were spacious with a jacuzzi bathtub with two shower heads on each side. Our room was right by the outdoor pool which looked very refreshing and had a nice view of the mountains. The room was on the lower level overlooking the river. There was a balcony that you could go out on and watch the river. It wasn't very private, the balconies of each room were separated by a barred fence,
which looked like you were in a jail. The view was breathtaking though, especially at night and in the morning when it isn't too hot out. There were a few places to eat nearby. A pizza place and a restaurant. Both were very pricy and the pizza was just okay. When we left, the ice machine was out of ice. You couldn't get closer to Yosemite without actually being in the park. They definitely take advantage of the location. Don't get me wrong, this place has potential, but definitely needs a lot of love.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point Sailor
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Filthy dirty floors. Had to put towels down on floors to keep our feet clean. Front desk noted they do not mop but only spray and wipe floors...whatever, the carpet was dirty too. Everything was outdated...have not seen a TV like that for 10 years. I slept in sleeping bag on top of sheets.
Upon check out we found they overcharged on our reservation by about $80 or so. They did knock 10% off bill for tolerating a filthy room, after they fixed the error in room rate.

Only positives were they allow dogs for a fee ($) and its proximity to Yosemite NP.

They are in serious need of some competition to improve service to their clients and the care of their employees. I just hope this review helps you to avoid this place.

We called about 20 minutes after leaving to have them hold a camera battery and charger that was left in outlet by coffee pot, and they could not find it. I am sure it was for sale on the maid's Ebay account or Craig's list by the next day and they must split profits with the young man at the front desk because all he wanted to know was what kind of camera it worked with.

I will return to Yosemite but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for our excursions to Yosemite and it was a wonderful experience. Our hotel room was fairly well sized with a kitchenette, table, bathroom, two beds, and more. Two restaurants are on-location, however, neither are owned by the hotel. The Merced River is literally right behind some of the hotel buildings including the Dogwood and Sequoia. We stayed in Manzanita. They have an arcade too. It looks small from the outside but there is a whole other room filled with games, games, games. They have four pools, two have two spas (hot tubs) two have one. One is indoor, it is the one located in Maple. Also, hilariously, a bed and breakfast is stuck in the Yosemite View Property. It is very samll. I think it is funny that Yosemite View is letting them operate on their property. All of the pools are never crowded, so choose one and your done. If your hoping to have easy access to Mariposa Grove/ Wawona, Yosemite Valley, or Hetch Hetchy (The three western sides of the park) then come here to stay. It is also perfect for kids (like me!)

Room Tip: On the upper floor of Manzanita, two children were riding their scooters up and down the hallway. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.