We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Westford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Walking distance to Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for our excursions to Yosemite and it was a wonderful experience. Our hotel room was fairly well sized with a kitchenette, table, bathroom, two beds, and more. Two restaurants are on-location, however, neither are owned by the hotel. The Merced River is literally right behind some of the hotel buildings including the Dogwood and Sequoia. We stayed in Manzanita. They have an arcade too. It looks small from the outside but there is a whole other room filled with games, games, games. They have four pools, two have two spas (hot tubs) two have one. One is indoor, it is the one located in Maple. Also, hilariously, a bed and breakfast is stuck in the Yosemite View Property. It is very samll. I think it is funny that Yosemite View is letting them operate on their property. All of the pools are never crowded, so choose one and your done. If your hoping to have easy access to Mariposa Grove/ Wawona, Yosemite Valley, or Hetch Hetchy (The three western sides of the park) then come here to stay. It is also perfect for kids (like me!)

Room Tip: On the upper floor of Manzanita, two children were riding their scooters up and down the hallway. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    814
    600
    213
    108
See reviews for
702
883
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not sure about those who give negative reviews on the room quality. It isn't the Ritz or a nice Hilton or Marriott. Guess what? You are NOT going to find ANYTHING like that in this area and definitely not within the park. The Ahwanee (however you spell it) in the park, we stopped in and it is the most convenient of course, but they do not have a/c, and it is extremely expensive. We ate there and the food was high priced (not ridiculous) but despite supposedly having an award winning chef, it was average at best. The other hotel in El Portal where the View is located (we saw when we left to drive to San Fran) is much further away and did not look as good.

We found the View Lodge to be pretty good. There is the one (and I understand the only one) area gas station less than a mile down the road, the View has it's own little grocery store, and the pizza restaurant was decent, and the other restaurant was good too. The breakfast buffet was reasonably priced (well if you stay at Hilton or Marriott, this was less expensive although not as good). There was no one making Omlets but I felt it was a nice buffet with good quality and variety. We ate dinner there one night and everyone had a good meal. You may be at a captive property but those suggesting it therefore scrimps on quality we found to not be true. It is definitely the place to stay.

Now, the fact that it is near the entry to the park may be misleading. It still will take you a good 45 minutes to get to the Valley, and longer if you are going up Tioga pass. But it still is the closest non park hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We decided to leave for our Yosemite trip a day earlier and staying overnight in El Portal so that we could get into the park and start doing park activities as early as possible the next day when our week in the park began. The Yosemite View Lodge has 4 pools, plenty of hot tubs, 2 restaurants and is a great location for getting in to the national park. It was around 100F outside and having so many pool options was great in terms of nothing being overcrowded.

The rooms were kind of standard motel rooms, but I guess they all have decks/patios and great views of something scenic. The A/C blasted out cold air and it would have been useful to have the kitchenette if we'd been staying over a couple of days. The restaurant was decent and the only complaint was that the shelves of the store were pretty barren as we were trying to buy a few things before getting into the park.

I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our room was incredibly outdated, the bedspread had stains and the bathroom wasn't very clean. This hotel clearly takes advantage of its location, and doesn't feel it has to offer much else. We ate at the restaurant on site the one night we were there, mainly because we drove around and didn't see any other options. We had speculated that the food would be average at best, and pricey, and we were right. It was hard to find a working ice machine. They would only provide us with one room key. That's a first for us. Don't stay here unless you are desperate. This hotel clearly needs some local competition.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

they put us in a room that we did not request, changed rooms, charged $20 more for the next room...i realize this is the only place around, BUT, how about some updates? left a few cups in sink from coffee, never cleaned . I had to ask for towels. Not all appliances worked & the cheapest, nastiest blanket...Really? the place was full - should be able to keep it nice & current...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband, two kids and I visited Yosemite View in late June for a night on our way out of the Park and back to the Bay Area for our flight home. It is a motel, but the rooms are spacious, the view of the river from the balcony was amazing and the kids really enjoyed the pools. The only annoyance was that they would only give us one key. We only stayed one night, so it was not such a big deal, but it would have been especially annoying if we had stayed several days. My sister lived in El Portal for years, so we have stayed here many times during various family events. For food, go to the pizza place. Even locals eat there. Compared to what is available for the same price in Yosemite Valley for a comparable price, Yosemite View is a great value. We are already planning a return trip. Sightseeing all day in the park, then returning to Yosemite View to relax by the river, the pool, have pizza for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. A mountain view room also means a highway view room. If you have small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a fab alternative location if you can't get a room in the village. That is what happened to us (we were hoping to book at the Yosemite Lodge, where all the summer-actions are).

it's located within 30min drive into the village. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Well, they gave us the best piece of advice, which is to drive into the village instead of taking the shuttle (our original plan). There are two decent eateries within the compound. Hotel is also located near a river, which would be a fun place to explore.

Room Tip: Give the hotel a call if you can't find a room that you need online. Get a room further away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.