We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hotel good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Central Coast NSW
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“basic hotel good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

great location to Yosemite National Park. Hotel itself very basic. Room size good, had river view room which was nice. Old interior, fridge didn't work, rooms were clean just old and outdated. Had pizza at restaurant was nice but overcrowded. Desk staff weren't helpful and ripped us off with wifi costs. Will visit Yosemite National Park again but will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    770
    515
    188
    87
See reviews for
597
787
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel may seem dated to some,but the location is fantastic.We were upgraded to a river view room when we arrived,and what an upgrade it was.We were given a ground floor room which was pretty large and had a small kitchen area which included hob and microwave.But the best thing about the room was when you opened the door to the patio.Running directly alongside our room was the River Merced in all its glory.And it wasn't just a gentle stream,it was a white water torrent.Amazing.If you are staying at this hotel you must try and get a ground floor river view room.The restaurant was very nice with good food and very friendly staff.The only let down was the bar which was a bit small and pokey,but we just purchased drinks form the hotel shop and sat on our patio with a cold lager and a beautiful river to admire.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The good: SO CLOSE to the entrance to Yosemite. Enjoyed getting out of the park at the end of the day. Room was good size, nice bath, kitchenette with cook top, microwave, fridge, sink, dishes and utensils. Had a corner balcony. Pizza was okay and restaurant was good but expensive. Had many pools and hot tubs (spas) on the premises. Had a very small store to buy food and drinks. River was spectacular (In June).

The not so good: Had tiny grease eating ants crawling all over the kitchenette, so DON'T leave any dirty dishes in the sink overnight or you will be infested like we were. Asked them to spray but they didn't. Saw them killing them in the lobby too. Guess I was lucky to have utensils but my cookware consisted of two old scratched pots with lids that didn't fit. They don't clean under the beds because I found 2 empty wine bottles under there. This place has a total of 3 outdoor pools and one indoor which were fine. My problem was with the hot tubs (spas). They have 5 outdoor and only 1 had jets that worked and one was not heated. The indoor spa did not have working jets either. After hiking for 12 hours I wanted some jets, but the one that worked only held 3 people and 2 were already in there drunk and chain smoking. Good luck with wifi in the lobby - too many people in there. Had to pay $5 to use the computer to print out my boarding pass. They won't print one out for you.

So, shop at Target like we did and bring fruit, items for toasting, cereal, pop, beer, makings for sandwiches, chips and snacks. (ant spray would be a plus) Eat your main meal in the park for a better selection and you will be just fine. Maybe they will fix the jets and that will be a plus. Enjoy the amenities and remember that while this is expensive, if you come prepared you will have a great time. It's really just a place to soak your tired muscles after lots of hiking and a place to sleep. Your choices are very limited in this area and after all that, I would still stay here again because of the location.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more privacy and there are elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Earlier this year, when I first started looking at lodging for our Yosemite trip, I checked out "Yosemite Lodge at the Falls" in the park but found that their website stated that none of the rooms have air conditioning and the only available rooms were around $260 a night. Since my husband likes A/C and I don't like paying over $200 a night if I can help it, that scotched the place. I am glad it did because when we visited between June 2 - June 7, 2013 the temps some days were in the 90's and humid and A/C was essential.

So I decided to book at the Yosemite View Lodge in El Portal, despite the negative reviews, at $189 a night. We requested a 3rd floor room to avoid noise from other guests. We got there too early for check-in but I asked if any renovated rooms were available. I was told that our "Mountain View - Two Queen" room was in the Maple building which was not recently renovated but for $220 a night we could get a room on the riverview side. I thanked them but declined.

We had room 3329 which was close to the elevator and entrance steps to the building so was a very convenient location. The exterior steps and elevator floor could stand to be cleaned. We were quite satsified with the room upon entry, it was fairly large, clean looking and did not have any off smells. It was a bit warm so we turned on the A/C. The style of bathroom and kitchen tile and wallpaper looked like it was last redecorated in the early 1990's. Later on we realized that there were old stains on the carpet. I never walk around with bare feet in hotel rooms anyway and I guess it is to be expected that there will be stains when you have a kitchen in your room.

The bath room was large, clean and with no hint of mildew and no mold. There was plenty of counter space. The towels were adequate. Since we had a double queen room there were four sets (bath, hand, washcloth). Dial brand complimentary toiletries were provided. Tissues and wastebaskets were provided in the bathroom and bedroom.

The kitchen is part of the main room. The counter top was white tile and clean, no mold. There was a coffee maker, toaster, minifrig, microwave, two burner electric range top, range hood, and bar size sink. In addition to the plates, glasses, eating/cooking utensils, pots/skillets, they provided, dish washing soap, a scrubbie for washing (not new), a dish rack, and a nice kitchen towel. I made a simple breakfast each day of scrambled eggs and toast to start us off and the little kitchen area was perfect for this. There is no disposal so don't put food down the sink. We brought paper plates and utensils to eliminate the need for washing a lot of dishes. The hood did a pretty good job of dispensing cooking smells.

Across the room there was a small table and two chairs which was perfect for two people to eat. On a large low cabinet sat a good size flat screen TV. The mattress was very springy. I have a bad back and had been so concerned about what I had read about the mattresses that I had brought a Thermarest camping pad just in case there was no support. I was pleasantly surprised that the mattress gave my back good support and I had no back pain in the mornings. The blanket, sheets and mattress pad were old and could stand to be replaced.

As mentioned in other reviews I had read, this building was right next to the highway so cars going by are easily heard if one does not have the air conditioner on. However, since it was so hot we always had the A/C on which was quite noisy. But we were so tired each night we were able to fall asleep.

Needed to be fixed: There were a few items that we reported on different days and they were fixed by the time we returned at the end of the day. Refrigerator tray broken. One of the two burners did not heat up on the stove. Tub/shower control could not be turned tight enough to keep it from dripping.

Internet access: There is a sign posted in the lobby that there is free WiFi in the lobby while they are are installing WiFi in the rooms. There are also desktop computers that can be rented ($5 for 60 mins up to $40 for 700 mins). The minutes may be used over multiple sessions. One note: As mentioned, the hotel is in the process of installing Wifi in the rooms and there there was a large ceiling access panel in our bathroom. Unknown to us, they accessed the panel during the day and apparently did not close it securely because when we came back that night and had the vent on the bathroom, the door fell open and could have caused us serious damage. I recommend if you have an access port in your room you verify that it it secure.

If we come back to Yosemite again, we would definitely stay here again. It is only 1 mile outside the park entrance and the drive into the valley is scenic. We also preferred it to the busy, crowded atmosphere in the valley.

While, Valley parking is at a premium, we found easy access to the park shuttle by parking in Lot A and taking the Visitor Center shuttle. Driving into Lot A, go around the circular drive til you reach the beige information tent, go right and drive around behind it. Park behind the green awning and restroom building. The parking lot shuttle picks up at the green awning and goes directly to the Visitor Center. The main park shuttle can be picked up from there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We wanted to stay in the park, but only booked 6 months in advance. Next best was Yosemite View Lodge which is located just outside the park. The lodge is a little dated, but how much time do you spend in your room when you are this close to Yosemite? The rooms are clean & large, the restaurant serves decent food at a price comparable to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a "river-view room". Our patio was on the Merced River, provided great "whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Anywhere near or in the park is going to be large & busy. This is a huge hotel complex, about 6 x 3 story blocks, so don't expect anything refined. But the room was very nice, small kitchenette in the room including a fridge, with a lovely large bathroom.
The position of the hotel was great as it was just out side the N.P, & the drive into Yosemite Valley along the river was beautiful. We found the staff very pleasant & helpful.
Two swimming pools that we could see (one indoor, one outside), but, just one proper restaurant. There was a pizza restaurant if you only want that sort of thing. So, imagine all those people wanting to eat at the hotel - extremely busy - but our waiter was very pleasant & did his best in the difficult situation. The food was good when it arrived. Breakfast was buffet style plenty of choice, & the express checkout was good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is listed as the closest accommodation to Yosemite outside of the park and it really is! Booked a standard room but, on check in, was delighted to be told that they had upgraded us to a river view room. 'River view' didn't really do it justice - the river rapids were directly outside the the back door of the room and we sat on the balcony for ages just watching them flow past. Room was large and comfortable with 2 queen beds, TV, kitchenette with hob, microwave, sink, coffee maker etc. Bathroom was brilliant with huge jacuzzi bath, 2 showers and 2 wash basins. There are 2 choices for eating - pizzeria and main restaurant - we opted for the latter. Although Reception said we didn't need to book, we had to wait for 30 mins for a table but this wasn't too much of a problem as we had drinks in the small bar. Food was a little disappointing - starters were good but both mains lacked flavour, even the shrimp curry. However, staff were very friendly and attentive - special mention to Gavin who demonstrated excellent customer service. We really enjoyed our stay here and wished that we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: River room view is well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel
Yosemite View Hotel
Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.