We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We wanted to stay in the park, but only booked 6 months in advance. Next best was Yosemite View Lodge which is located just outside the park. The lodge is a little dated, but how much time do you spend in your room when you are this close to Yosemite? The rooms are clean & large, the restaurant serves decent food at a price comparable to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a "river-view room". Our patio was on the Merced River, provided great "whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    875
    680
    247
    135
See reviews for
757
993
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Anywhere near or in the park is going to be large & busy. This is a huge hotel complex, about 6 x 3 story blocks, so don't expect anything refined. But the room was very nice, small kitchenette in the room including a fridge, with a lovely large bathroom.
The position of the hotel was great as it was just out side the N.P, & the drive into Yosemite Valley along the river was beautiful. We found the staff very pleasant & helpful.
Two swimming pools that we could see (one indoor, one outside), but, just one proper restaurant. There was a pizza restaurant if you only want that sort of thing. So, imagine all those people wanting to eat at the hotel - extremely busy - but our waiter was very pleasant & did his best in the difficult situation. The food was good when it arrived. Breakfast was buffet style plenty of choice, & the express checkout was good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

If your expecting 5 star luxury this isn't for you, but if you want incredible location comfortable rooms with great views and facility's then it's perfect, the rooms are large and clean and there's a restaurant and shop with food and gifts. My only major criticism is how rude and unhelpful staff are!! We arrived an hour early and thought it was worth asking if we could check in, the look I got was like I'd grew three heads, and when I asked if there was somewhere just to leave cases a quite abrupt response of no was the reply. The location alone is worth booking for though and just keep out the rude staffs way

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

From reading some of the reviews once booked I wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised, the rooms were much bigger and nicer thatn I was expecting and ours was certainly clean enough, we had restricted mountain view but you only had to go outside to get great views all around. We had a meal in the restaurant one night then a pizza the next and both were excellant. The closet accomodation outside of the park so didn't take long by bus, would definately recommend to a friend if they were going.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived at the lodge late at night & left early in the morning so I can only give a limited review. Our room was a river view king in the new building. We were on the first floor but still had a flight of stairs to get there. Our room was large, clean & nicely appointed. The room had a kitchenette with a small frig, stove, microwave, coffee maker & dishes. The kitchen & bathroom counters were granite. The bathroom was spacious with a large spa tub & a window above the toilet. The bed was comfortable & had an electric fireplace facing it. We had a small balcony with a table & two chairs with wonderful views of the river. We slept with the door open all night to hear its magnificent sound. I really loved the room but we were on our way to the Ahwahnee hotel for 2 nights. The downfall of this hotel is not being inside the park so it cuts into your hiking time. Also, I really didn't care for the small encounter I had with some of the staff when checking in. I feel its very rude not to acknowledge a person.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

When a river runs alongside your room, you are lulled to sleep by the sounds of rushing water. The rooms were large and comfortable, but. Need serious updating. I felt like I was living in an 80's time warp. The jacuzzi tub that was in our broom made it difficult o get in and out of the shower. The restaurant was very good, but the service was horribly slow, especially when you have 3 tour buses in at once. The front desk staff is a little bit surly. But the store on site comes well stocked-bring your own produce. For the amount of business that they Have,the least they could do is freshen the rooms.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our room was comfortable -- good bed, hot shower, etc., and the on-site restaurant served a delicious dinner and breakfast. But, what made this hotel extra nice was the roaring Merced River right beside the balcony of our room. We even left our window open all night, so we could enjoy the incredible sound. It was like we were doing some deluxe camping or something. We loved it. If you go, be SURE to request a room beside the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.