We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The River Made All the Difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Athens, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The River Made All the Difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our room was comfortable -- good bed, hot shower, etc., and the on-site restaurant served a delicious dinner and breakfast. But, what made this hotel extra nice was the roaring Merced River right beside the balcony of our room. We even left our window open all night, so we could enjoy the incredible sound. It was like we were doing some deluxe camping or something. We loved it. If you go, be SURE to request a room beside the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    860
    664
    237
    131
See reviews for
741
977
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta,NJ
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This motel is only a few minutes from the Park entrance and worth the extra money to stay there.
Over 300 rooms in many separate buildings. Rooms are very nice ,if somewhat dated.
Pleasant scenery and well landscaped property, Many amenities including pools and an arcade for kids.
Very good restaurant and Pizza parlor on site. Enjoyed both dinner and breakfast there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

So, after reading the reviews, I was prepared for a pretty gross experience here. So I was pleasantly surprised that this wasn't nearly the worst hotel that I've stayed in. Sure, it could have been cleaner, could have offered wireless in the rooms (only available in lobby), and the food could have been better. but the rooms were decent size, had a fridge and weren't too noisy. But really, the location is great for getting into the park - very convenient!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When we were planning our trip to Yosemite, I thought it would be nice to splurge a little bit on the hotel and plunked down $250/night for a room with a "river view". Our "river view" was blocked by a picnic table and bench that seemed to have people at it every time we went out on the balcony.

When we first checked in our room had two large hornets in it, which made us wonder how many more there might be in there. When I rushed over to the open the screen door to let them out it fell off its track and couldn't be put back in due to some bent metal. In our 2nd room the A/C was broken (room was at least 80 degrees) and the bathroom had hair and grime all over the bathtub. We had to clean the bathtub ourselves before we felt it was ok to shower! The décor in the rooms was very 1960s - that is not nice at all. It did have a kitchenette which was nice.

The staff was not very helpful and only offered us $20/night as recompense for our poor experiences. I didn't want $20, I wanted a clean room where everything worked!

El Portal is made up almost entirely of this massive hotel. Yes, it is huge. There are probably 500+ rooms and tons of people so don't expect a romantic getaway. There are no restaurants within 30 minutes other than the over priced and not-very-tasty ones at the hotel itself. It made me feel like I was at an all-inclusive resort where everything was not included! No wifi in the rooms, $9/day to use it in the lobby. What year is this?

I would avoid this place at all costs. Stay in Mariposa, Oakhurst or Lee Vining. Terrible experience. The whole place felt like they were trying to put as little money into the hotel as possible while charging the highest possible rate they could get away with. I wish I had read the reviews on here before paying $250/night.

Room Tip: The best room at this hotel is the one that isn't at this hotel! DON'T STAY HERE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room resembles a 1960's style motel room, in fact they don't seem to have changed anything since then! The room was not very clean. Old stlyle hotel air conditioner which is noisy & blows in your face at night. There is a little kitchenette which was in desperate need of cleaning and updating. We had a double queen river view room. The view from the balcony was incredible the rushing Merced River was just spectacular in its beauty and raw wildness.
Bed was old and uncomfortable. ( it had a nice gas fireplace)

Room Tip: River view room if you must stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

All the hotels were booked in the park, so this was the closest one outside the park. The people who work at the front desk are very friendly & helpful, but the hotel has much to be desired. We had reserved 3 nights on 1 site & 2 nights on another, so they were very nice to put the 2 reservations together, so we wouldn't have to move rooms. They were also nice enough to give us the cheaper room (not that $189 before taxes is cheap). They do have a small convenience store attached to the lobby. The room however resembles a 1960's style motel room, in fact they don't seem to have changed anything since then! The room was musty and not very clean. Old stlyle hotel air conditioner which is noisy & blows in your face at night. Also very humid (it took socks & underwear 2 days to dry). There is a little kitchenette with 1 small pot with a cover that didn't fit, 1 frying pan, 1 medium size plastic bowl, no serving utensils... The shower had a dark green curtain which blocked out the light. The anti skid surface was worn out, and it took some effort for them to find a rubber bath mat. The closet had no hangers, but they did bring some when we asked. There is a restaurant which doesn't belong to the hotel which has a buffet breakfast with no skim milk, tasteless eggs & oatmeal, & orange juice which they charge extra for which tastes like orange flavored water. We had better meals in the park. They were just in the process of installing WIFI, (we are now in 2013!), but so far only in the lobby area. If I go back to Yosemite, I will reserve early in the park!

Room Tip: If you want a good room you will have to pay much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here after driving from San Francisco through Yosemite and on our way to Sequoia, for just one night. They'd upgraded us to a river view room, ground floor with balcony. Yes the room was a bit old-fashioned, but was in good order and typical for a lot of American hotels. Sat on the balcony, eating our tea watching the Ahmanee river. Glad we'd bought our food with us though, as there were no gluten free options available at the hotel at all - good job I'd planned ahead.

Amenities looked good, though we didn't use them, no free wi-fi, not being installed until next month, so were out of contact from our two sons back in England. if you forgot about the price premium paid for staying so close to Yosemite, then everything was fine. But it does cost a lot of money compared to all our other hotels on our holiday, and the food was quite pricey too.

I'm pleased we stayed here as we did have a good stopover, but if I did it again, I'd have driven further out of Yosemite to somewhere cheaper

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.